No free tier - verified
Is GitHub Models free?
No. GitHub Models has no free tier, because the service is retired. Whether it trains on your data is not stated.
Read from docs.github.com. Compare every free LLM API
- Offer
- No free tier
- Card required
- Not stated
- Trains on data
- Not stated
- Verified
- 2026-10-18
The offer
- Offer class
No free tier
Service retired. The former free-usage docs URLs (prototyping/rate limits and billing) now redirect to the retirement notice.
- How to get it
- Not stated
- Card required
Not stated
Free limits
Values are copied exactly as the provider publishes them, units included. Not stated means the public docs give no value.
Per-model free limits: Not stated
Does it train on your data?
Not stated
Service retired
Not applicable: service retired; no current data terms page.
Restrictions
Retired
“As of July 30, 2026, GitHub Models has been fully retired. The playground, model catalog, inference API, and bring your own key (BYOK) are no longer available to any customer.”
docs.github.com
Upgrade path
FAQ
Is GitHub Models free?
No. GitHub Models has no free tier, because the service is retired. Whether it trains on your data is not stated.
Does GitHub Models train on your data?
Not stated. Not applicable: service retired; no current data terms page.
Sources
Last verified from GitHub Models's own pages below. Quotes are verbatim.
- https://docs.github.com/en/github-models
- https://docs.github.com/en/github-models/use-github-models/prototyping-with-ai-models (redirects to retirement notice)
- https://docs.github.com/en/billing/concepts/product-billing/github-models (redirects to retirement notice)
Newsletter
Know when a free tier changes
One email per week. New model releases, pricing and limit changes, and what they mean for what you build.