Built-in tool - verified
Gemini API code execution
Gemini API code execution is a model-provider built-in tool from Google, read from its own pages on October 18, 2026. Its isolation technology is not stated in the pages checked. 1 price row, each in Gemini API code execution's own unit.
Vendor: Google. Docs: ai.google.dev. Compare every agent sandbox
- Price rows
- 1
- Vendor claims
- 0
- Not stated
- 11
- Verified quotes
- 4
Pricing
In the provider's own unit, verbatim. Nothing is converted; the directory compares a price only with others in the same unit.
| Price | Unit, as stated | Quote and source | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| No additional charge | billed as model input/output tokensDirectory block: No rate of its own | “There's no additional charge for enabling code execution from the Gemini API.” | - |
- Free tier or credits
- Not stated
Note: Not stated on this page.
Limits, lifecycle and isolation
- Max session duration
30 seconds maximum runtime
“The maximum runtime of the code environment is 30 seconds.”
ai.google.dev - Idle timeout and auto-pause
- Not stated
Note: Not stated.
- Persistence and snapshots
- Not stated
Note: Not stated.
- Isolation
- Not stated
Note: Not stated.
- CPU and memory limits
- Not stated
Note: Not stated.
- GPU
- Not stated
Note: Not stated.
- Egress controls
- Not stated
Note: Not stated.
- SDKs and languages
Python execution only
“Gemini is only able to execute code in Python.”
ai.google.dev - Regions
- Not stated
Note: Not stated.
- Open source
- Not stated
Note: Not applicable.
- Self-host or BYOC
- Not stated
Note: Not applicable.
- Status
- Not stated
Note: Not stated on checked page.
Other facts
Model may regenerate code up to 5 times on error
“This can happen up to 5 times.”
ai.google.dev
FAQ
How much does Gemini API code execution cost?
No additional charge billed as model input/output tokens. Prices are in the provider's own units as of October 18, 2026.
What isolation does Gemini API code execution use?
Not stated. Not stated.
How long can a session run on Gemini API code execution?
30 seconds maximum runtime. Idle behavior: Not stated. Not stated.
Does Gemini API code execution restrict outbound network access?
Not stated. Not stated.
Sources
Last verified from each provider's own docs, pricing pages and repositories; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Not a benchmark: prices are in the provider's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when agent infrastructure changes
One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling and what they mean for what you build.