Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Agent code sandboxes - verified

AI agent code sandboxes compared

We read the docs and pricing pages of 18 code-execution sandboxes for AI agents on October 18, 2026, plus 2 open-source runtimes you can host yourself, and kept 280 verbatim quotes. They come in three kinds: 11 hosted sandbox platforms, 4 cloud primitives and 3 model-provider built-in tools. Prices stay in each provider's own unit, so they are grouped by unit and never ranked across units.

  • 3 products state a Firecracker microVM per sandbox: E2B, Vercel Sandbox and CodeSandbox SDK.
  • 3 run with no outbound network by default: Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API), Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform Code Execution (formerly Vertex AI Agent Engine) and Azure Container Apps dynamic sessions.
  • GPU is stated by 4 products: Daytona, Modal Sandboxes, Runloop Devboxes and Northflank Sandboxes.

Want a verdict instead of a table? Read E2B vs Daytona vs Modal or how to choose a runtime boundary.

Hosted platforms
11
Cloud primitives
4
Built-in tools
3
Verified quotes
280

Three kinds of sandbox

A hosted platform, a primitive inside a cloud you already use, or a tool your model provider runs for you. They solve the same problem with different trade-offs, so each kind is listed on its own.

Hosted sandbox platforms

11

Products whose job is running agent code: you call an SDK or API, get an isolated machine, run commands, and pay for the resources it uses.

  • E2B

    E2B (FoundryLabs, Inc.)

    Isolation
    Firecracker microVM per sandbox
    Max session
    1 hour (Hobby), 24 hours (Pro), custom (Enterprise) of continuous runtime; pausing resets the window
    Status
    GAinferred
  • Daytona

    Daytona Platforms Inc.

    Isolation
    Container class: isolated container with dedicated namespaces
    Max session
    No fixed cap stated; auto-stop can be disabled so a sandbox runs indefinitely
    Status
    GAinferred
  • Modal Sandboxes

    Modal Labs

    Isolation
    gVisor runtime
    Max session
    Default 5 minutes, configurable up to 24 hours
    Status
    GAinferred
  • Isolation
    Firecracker microVM per sandbox
    Max session
    45 minutes (Hobby), 24 hours (Pro, Enterprise) per session; persistent sandboxes resume in new sessions
    Status
    GAinferred
  • Runloop Devboxes

    Runloop AI, Inc.

    Isolation
    Isolated ephemeral virtual machines
    Max session
    Default max lifetime 1 hour, configurable at creation
    Status
    GAinferred
  • Isolation
    microVM per workload with Kata Containers or gVisor
    Max session
    No forced time limits stated
    Status
    GAinferred
  • CodeSandbox SDK

    CodeSandbox (part of Together AI)

    Isolation
    Firecracker-powered virtual machines
    Max session
    Unlimited session length on all plans
    Status
    GAinferred
  • Isolation
    microVMs (Mark 3.0 infrastructure)
    Max session
    Not stated
    Status
    Sandboxes GA; next-gen Carbon infrastructure in private previewinferred
  • Morph Cloud

    Morph Labs

    Isolation
    VMs (instances are running VMs started from snapshots)
    Max session
    Not stated
    Status
    Not stated
  • Isolation
    Container
    Max session
    Default 600-second lifetime; keep_warm_seconds=-1 for manual termination
    Status
    GAinferred
  • Isolation
    Hardware-isolated
    Max session
    Not stated
    Status
    GAinferred

Cloud primitives

4

Sandbox or code-execution building blocks inside a larger cloud, billed and configured the way the rest of that cloud is.

Model-provider built-in tools

3

Code execution the model calls itself through the provider's API. You do not manage the machine; the model writes and runs the code.

Feature matrix

Every value links to the page it came from. Not stated means the checked pages did not give it; hover for the recorded note. Scroll the tables sideways on a small screen.

Runtime and lifecycle

Runtime and lifecycle: Isolation, Max session duration, Idle timeout and auto-pause, Persistence and snapshots for every sandbox, each value linked to its source
SandboxIsolationMax session durationIdle timeout and auto-pausePersistence and snapshots
Hosted sandbox platforms
E2BFirecracker microVM per sandbox
DaytonaNo fixed cap stated; auto-stop can be disabled so a sandbox runs indefinitelyAuto-stop default 15 minutes (triggers even if internal processes run)
Modal SandboxesDefault 5 minutes, configurable up to 24 hoursOptional idle_timeout parameterFilesystem snapshots to carry state beyond 24 hours
Vercel SandboxFirecracker microVM per sandbox45 minutes (Hobby), 24 hours (Pro, Enterprise) per session; persistent sandboxes resume in new sessionsDefault timeout 5 minutes, extendable
Runloop DevboxesIsolated ephemeral virtual machinesDefault max lifetime 1 hour, configurable at creationNo idle action by default; configurable shutdown or suspend on idle
Northflank SandboxesmicroVM per workload with Kata Containers or gVisorNo forced time limits statedNot statedPersistent volumes (4 GB to 64 TB), S3-compatible storage; ephemeral by default
CodeSandbox SDKFirecracker-powered virtual machinesUnlimited session length on all plansNot statedNot stated in checked pages (hibernation is triggered via the SDK).
Blaxel SandboxesmicroVMs (Mark 3.0 infrastructure)Not statedNo maximum runtime stated for sandboxes in checked pages (TTL/lifecycle policies are user-configured).
Morph CloudVMs (instances are running VMs started from snapshots)Not statedDevboxes auto-sleep (can be disabled)
Beam SandboxesContainerDefault 600-second lifetime; keep_warm_seconds=-1 for manual terminationNot statedLifetime TTL (keep_warm_seconds) stated; no separate idle timeout stated.Snapshot APIs; storage included up to 1 TB, snapshots included
Fly.io SpritesHardware-isolatedNot statedGoes warm immediately when idle (no compute charge), may later go cold
Cloud primitives
Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)Not statedNo maximum runtime stated in checked pages; instances stop on inactivity timeout, destroy(), or main-process exit.Instance stops when its inactivity timeout ends (code running inside does not count as activity)
Amazon Bedrock AgentCore Code InterpreterContainerized environmentDefault 15 minutes, extendable up to 8 hoursNot statedNot stated for Code Interpreter in checked pages (the 15-minute idle quota on the quotas page belongs to AgentCore Runtime).Not stated
Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform Code Execution (formerly Vertex AI Agent Engine)Not statedDescribed only as a secure, isolated sandbox; technology not stated.Not statedNot statedExecution state (memory) kept up to 14 days; TTL configurable
Azure Container Apps dynamic sessionsHyper-V isolationEach code execution limited to 220 secondsCooldown 300 to 3600 seconds (Timed lifecycle default)Ephemeral sessions
Model-provider built-in tools
OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers)Fully sandboxed virtual machineNot statedNot stated beyond the 20-minute idle expiry and per-20-minute billing.Container expires after 20 minutes unused; data discardedNo restore after expiry
Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API)Linux-based container, isolated from host and other containersContainers expire 30 days after creationCheckpointed after about 5 minutes of inactivity; restorable within 30 daysContainer reuse across requests by passing container ID
Gemini API code executionNot stated30 seconds maximum runtimeNot statedNot stated
Self-host and open source
E2B Runtime / E2B Embed (open source)One Firecracker microVM per sandbox with per-sandbox egress firewallNot statedNot statedSnapshot resume and pause
Daytona (archived open-source repository)Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Capabilities and deployment

Capabilities and deployment: GPU, Egress controls, SDKs and languages, Self-host or BYOC, Open source for every sandbox, each value linked to its source
SandboxGPUEgress controlsSDKs and languagesSelf-host or BYOCOpen source
Hosted sandbox platforms
E2BNot statedNo GPU sandbox offering stated on the pricing page or in the docs text checked (the only GPU mention in docs is that the Android emulator template has no GPU).Outbound internet on by default; on/off switch plus allow and deny listsPython and JavaScript/TypeScriptSDK repository e2b-dev/E2B: Apache License 2.0
DaytonaGPU sandboxes with exclusive GPU allocation (priced per GPU-hour)TypeScript, Python, Ruby, Go, JavaBring your own compute (runner nodes in custom regions)Core development moved to a private codebase in June 2026; old public repo unmaintained (see separate entry)
Modal SandboxesGPU Sandboxes supported on the gVisor runtime onlyPython, JavaScript, Go (code-sample tabs on the Sandboxes guide)Not statedNot stated
Vercel SandboxNot statedNo GPU offering stated in checked pages.User-defined network policies via the sandbox firewallNot statedSDK and CLI repository on GitHub (platform itself not stated as open source; repo license not checked)
Runloop DevboxesGPU access mentioned as a blueprint capability (no GPU rate on pricing page)Egress controlled with Network PoliciesPython and TypeScript SDKs (plus CLI)Deploy to VPC (Enterprise)Not statedNot stated in checked pages (SDK repos linked, licenses not checked).
Northflank SandboxesH100 and other GPUs, isolated inside microVMsNot statedNo egress control feature stated in checked pages (egress is priced).UI, CLI, APIs and GitOps (no sandbox SDK languages listed)BYOC in your VPC or managed infrastructureNot stated
CodeSandbox SDKNot statedNot statedJavaScript/TypeScript (@codesandbox/sdk)Dedicated cluster as Enterprise optionNot statedNot checked.
Blaxel SandboxesNot statedNo GPU sandbox offering stated in checked pages.Outbound allow-listing, dedicated egress IPs, credential-injecting proxyTypeScript and Python SDKs (plus CLI)Bring your own compute (Custom plan)Not stated
Morph CloudNot statedNot statedNot statedPython client usage appears in FAQ code, but no SDK language list was quoted.Not statedNot stated
Beam SandboxesNot statedGPU prices are listed for serverless and on-demand machines; GPU availability for sandboxes not stated in checked pages.Runtime egress policiesPython and TypeScriptBYOC on AWS, GCP and AzureNot stated
Fly.io SpritesNot statedConnectors make outbound calls without credentials entering the Sprite (not a network egress firewall)Not statedNot stated
Cloud primitives
Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)Not statedWorker decides whether sandbox code can reach the public Internet (enableInternet flag; outbound interception)Driven from a Cloudflare Worker (JavaScript/TypeScript); container can run any languageNot statedNot statedNot checked.
Amazon Bedrock AgentCore Code InterpreterNot statedConfigurable network modes; internet access supportedExecutes Python, JavaScript and TypeScriptNot statedNot applicable / not stated.Not statedNot applicable.
Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform Code Execution (formerly Vertex AI Agent Engine)Not statedNo network accessPython (inferred from pre-installed Python libraries; custom libraries not installable)Not statedNot stated
Azure Container Apps dynamic sessionsNot statedNot stated for dynamic sessions.Egress disabled by default; can be enabled per poolBuilt-in PythonLTS, NodeLTS, Shell; or custom containersNot statedNot applicable.Not statedNot applicable.
Model-provider built-in tools
OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers)Not statedNot statedPython execution only (tool called by the model)Not statedNot applicable.Not statedNot applicable.
Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API)Not statedNo internet accessBash and file operations; Python 3.11 pre-installedNot statedNot applicable.Not statedNot applicable.
Gemini API code executionNot statedNot statedPython execution onlyNot statedNot applicable.Not statedNot applicable.
Self-host and open source
E2B Runtime / E2B Embed (open source)Not statedPer-sandbox nftables egress firewall with domain allow and deny listsNot statedE2B Embed runs the whole stack on a single Linux host with KVMApache-2.0 (Go)
Daytona (archived open-source repository)Not statedNot statedNot statedPublic code remains free to use and fork, as is and without support

Pricing by unit

Each block holds one unit, as the provider states it. Rows are sorted by price inside a block only; a price in one block is never compared with a price in another, and nothing is converted.

CPU

Five different CPU units. A physical core is stated as 2 vCPU by Modal and Beam, an Active CPU hour excludes time waiting on I/O, and a CPU-hour is the provider's own wording. Each unit is its own block and none is converted into another.

CPU: 11 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per physical core-second
Beam Sandboxes$0.0000375per second per physical core (2 vCPU equivalent), Sandboxes
“$0.0000375/sec · per core”
beam.cloud
-
Modal Sandboxes$0.00003942per physical core per second (Sandbox rate; 1 physical core = 2 vCPU equivalent)
“0.00003942/ core / sec”
modal.com

Minimum 0.125 cores per container.

Per vCPU-second
E2B$0.000014per second, 1 vCPU (Hobby / Pro)
“1 · Hobby / Pro · $0.000014/s”
e2b.dev

Table lists 1, 2 (default), 4, 6, 8 vCPU rows scaling linearly; 2 vCPU is $0.000028/s.

Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)$0.000020per additional vCPU-second (after 375 vCPU-minutes/month)
“375 vCPU-minutes/month + $0.000020 per additional vCPU-second”
developers.cloudflare.com

CPU billed on active usage.

Per Active CPU hour
Vercel Sandbox$0.128per Active CPU hour (Pro/Enterprise, iad1)
“Sandbox Active CPU · 5 hours/month · $0.128/hour · $0.128/hour”
vercel.com

Hobby includes 5 hours/month. Rates vary by region; table rates are for iad1.

Per vCPU-hour
Northflank Sandboxes$0.01667per vCPU-hour
“$0.01667/ vCPU / hour”
northflank.com

Platform-wide Pricing page is the general Northflank compute price list; the sandboxes page repeats the $0.01667/vCPU-hour CPU rate.

Daytona$0.0504per vCPU-hour
“vCPU $0.0504/h”
daytona.io
-
Daytona$0.0858per vCPU-hour, Windows OS
“Windows $0.0858/vCPU/h”
daytona.io
-
Amazon Bedrock AgentCore Code Interpreter$0.0895per vCPU-hour (active consumption)
“Code Interpreter · CPU · $0.0895 per vCPU-hour; Memory · $0.00945 per GB-hour”
aws.amazon.com
-
Per CPU-hour
Fly.io Sprites$0.0385per CPU-hour (cumulative CPU usage)
“$0.0385 /CPU-hour”
fly.io
-
Runloop Devboxes$0.108per CPU-hour (devbox)
“Devbox CPU $0.108 / CPU-hr”
runloop.ai
-

Memory

GiB and GB are different units, and per second is not per hour, so each stays in its own block. Blaxel's memory rate includes CPU.

Memory: 11 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per GB RAM-second (CPU included)
Blaxel Sandboxes$0.0000115per GB RAM-second of active time (CPU included, scales with memory)
“$0.0000115 / GB RAM · second”
blaxel.ai
-
Per GiB-second
Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)$0.0000025per additional GiB-second memory (after 25 GiB-hours/month)
“25 GiB-hours/month included +$0.0000025 per additional GiB-second”
developers.cloudflare.com

Memory billed on provisioned instance size.

E2B$0.0000045per second, 1 GiB memory (Hobby / Pro)
“1 · Hobby / Pro · $0.0000045/s”
e2b.dev

Memory rows 1, 2, 4 (default), 8 GiB scale linearly.

Beam Sandboxes$0.0000064per second per GiB RAM, Sandboxes
“$0.0000064/sec · per GiB”
beam.cloud
-
Modal Sandboxes$0.00000667per GiB memory per second (Sandbox rate)
“0.00000667/ GiB / sec”
modal.com
-
Per GiB-hour
Daytona$0.0162per GiB memory-hour
“Memory GiB $0.0162/h”
daytona.io
-
Per GB-hour
Northflank Sandboxes$0.00833per GB-hour memory
“$0.00833/ GB / hour”
northflank.com

Platform-wide Pricing page is the general Northflank compute price list; the sandboxes page repeats the $0.01667/vCPU-hour CPU rate.

Amazon Bedrock AgentCore Code Interpreter$0.00945per GB-hour memory (active consumption)
“Code Interpreter · CPU · $0.0895 per vCPU-hour; Memory · $0.00945 per GB-hour”
aws.amazon.com
-
Vercel Sandbox$0.0212per provisioned memory GB-hour (Pro/Enterprise, iad1)
“Sandbox Provisioned Memory · 420 GB-hours/month · $0.0212/GB-hour · $0.0212/GB-hour”
vercel.com
-
Fly.io Sprites$0.021875per GB-hour memory (actual usage)
“$0.021875 /GB-hour”
fly.io
-
Runloop Devboxes$0.0252per GB-hour memory (devbox)
“Devbox Memory $0.0252 / GB-hr”
runloop.ai
-

Session and container time

How the model-provider tools and Azure's built-in sessions bill: per container session or per hour of a session or container, as each provider states it.

Session and container time: 6 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per 20-minute session per container
OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers)$0.03per 20-minute session per container, 1 GB
“1 GB $0.03, 4 GB $0.12, 16 GB $0.48, 64 GB $1.92 per 20-minute session per container.”
developers.openai.com
-
OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers)$0.12per 20-minute session per container, 4 GB
“1 GB $0.03, 4 GB $0.12, 16 GB $0.48, 64 GB $1.92 per 20-minute session per container.”
developers.openai.com
-
OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers)$0.48per 20-minute session per container, 16 GB
“1 GB $0.03, 4 GB $0.12, 16 GB $0.48, 64 GB $1.92 per 20-minute session per container.”
developers.openai.com
-
OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers)$1.92per 20-minute session per container, 64 GB
“1 GB $0.03, 4 GB $0.12, 16 GB $0.48, 64 GB $1.92 per 20-minute session per container.”
developers.openai.com
-
Per hour per container
Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API)$0.05per hour per container (beyond free hours)
“Additional usage beyond 1,550 hours is billed at $0.05 USD per hour, per container”
platform.claude.com

Execution time has a 5-minute minimum.

Per session-hour
Azure Container Apps dynamic sessions$0.03per session-hour, platform-managed built-in container (Python, Node.js, Shell), pay as you go
“Platform-managed built-in container (Python, Node.js, Shell) · $0.03 per session-hour”
azure.microsoft.com
-

GPU

GPU rates the pricing pages list for sandboxes or the provider's general compute.

GPU: 3 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per hour, one GPU
Daytona$2.27per hour, Nvidia H100, preemptible
“Nvidia H100 $2.27/h”
daytona.io

Other GPUs listed: B300, B200, AMD MI355X, H200, RTX PRO 6000, RTX 5090, RTX 4090.

Northflank Sandboxes$2.74per hour, NVIDIA H100 80GB
“NVIDIA H100 80GB $2.74 / hour”
northflank.com

Also listed: L4, A100 40GB/80GB, RTX PRO 6000.

Platform-wide Pricing page is the general Northflank compute price list; the sandboxes page repeats the $0.01667/vCPU-hour CPU rate.

Daytona$3.95per hour, Nvidia H100, on-demand
“Nvidia H100 $3.95/h”
daytona.io
-

Storage and snapshots

Disk, volume, snapshot and image storage, each in the provider's own unit.

Storage and snapshots: 13 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Included storage
E2BFreestorage, 10 GiB on Hobby
“10 · Hobby · Free”
e2b.dev
-
E2BFreestorage, 20 GiB on Pro
“20 · Pro · Free”
e2b.dev
-
Per GiB-hour
Daytona$0.000108per GiB storage-hour (after first 5 GiB free)
“Storage GiB $0.000108/h”
daytona.io

Page footnote: 'Price per GiB after first 5 free'.

Per GB-hour
Fly.io Sprites$0.000027per GB-hour cold storage
“COLD $0.000027 /GB-hour”
fly.io
-
Runloop Devboxes$0.000072per GB-hour snapshot storage
“Snapshot Storage $0.000072 / GB-hr”
runloop.ai
-
Runloop Devboxes$0.00034236per GB-hour devbox storage
“Devbox Storage $0.00034236 / GB-hr”
runloop.ai
-
Fly.io Sprites$0.000683per GB-hour hot storage
“HOT $0.000683 /GB-hour”
fly.io
-
Per GB-second
Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)$0.00000007per additional GB-second disk (after 200 GB-hours/month)
“200 GB-hours/month +$0.00000007 per additional GB-second”
developers.cloudflare.com
-
Per GB-month
Blaxel Sandboxes$0.045per GB-month images
“$0.045 / GB · month”
blaxel.ai
-
Vercel Sandbox$0.05per GB-month drive storage
“Drive Storage · 15 GB (lifetime) · $0.05/GB-month · $0.05/GB-month”
vercel.com
-
Vercel Sandbox$0.08per GB-month snapshot storage
“Snapshot Storage · 15 GB (lifetime) · $0.08/GB-month · $0.08/GB-month”
vercel.com
-
Blaxel Sandboxes$0.12per GB-month provisioned volume capacity
“$0.12 / GB · month”
blaxel.ai
-
Blaxel Sandboxes$0.20per GB-month snapshot storage
“Memory and filesystem snapshots that keep suspended sandboxes ready to resume. · $0.20 / GB · month”
blaxel.ai
-

Network egress

Outbound data transfer. Some of these are the provider's general network price rather than a sandbox-specific one, as marked.

Network egress: 4 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per GiB
Modal Sandboxes$0.04per GiB network egress
“Network Egress$0.040.04/ GiB”
modal.com

Starter includes 1 TiB/month free egress.

Platform-wide Listed on Modal's general pricing page; unlike its CPU and memory rows it is not labelled a Sandbox rate, so it is the platform-wide egress price.

Per GB
Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)$0.025per GB egress, North America and Europe (1 TB/month included)
“North America & Europe · $0.025 · 1 TB”
developers.cloudflare.com
-
Northflank Sandboxes$0.06per GB network egress
“Network Egress $0.06/ GB”
northflank.com

Platform-wide Pricing page is the general Northflank compute price list; the sandboxes page repeats the $0.01667/vCPU-hour CPU rate.

Vercel Sandbox$0.15per GB data transfer (Enterprise; Pro included in Flat Rate CDN)
“Sandbox Data Transfer · 20 GB/month · Included in Flat Rate CDN · $0.15/GB”
vercel.com
-

Sandbox creations

A per-creation charge on top of compute.

Sandbox creations: 1 price row in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per 1M sandbox creations
Vercel Sandbox$0.60per 1M sandbox creations
“Sandbox Creations · 5,000/month · $0.60/1M · $0.60/1M”
vercel.com
-

Credits

CodeSandbox bills VM runtime in credits. Its pricing page states two figures that do not reconcile; both are shown and neither is picked.

Credits: 2 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per VM credit
CodeSandbox SDK$0.015per VM credit (credits measure VM runtime)
“They are priced at $0.015 each.”
codesandbox.io

The page text does not include the per-VM-tier credits-per-hour table.

Per hour, on-demand VM credits
CodeSandbox SDK$0.15per hour, on-demand VM credits on Scale (as stated; unit wording ambiguous)
“priced at $0.15 per hour”
codesandbox.io
-

Plan fees

Monthly plan prices and minimums, usually on top of usage. A plan fee is not a sandbox rate and is not compared with one.

Plan fees: 7 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
Per month
Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)$5per month, Workers Paid plan (required; includes monthly usage)
“with included monthly usage as part of the $5 USD per month Workers Paid plan”
developers.cloudflare.com
-
Beam Sandboxes$20per month, Developer plan (includes $20 credits)
“Developer $20/month $20 in credits each month”
beam.cloud
-
Fly.io Sprites$100per month, Hero plan (1,200 CPU-hours, 4,800 RAM GB-hours, 150 GB storage included)
“Hero ($100/mo) includes 1,200 CPU-hours, 4,800 RAM GB-hours, and 150 GB of storage”
fly.io
-
E2B$150per month, Pro plan base price (plus usage)
“Base price · $0/month · $150/month · Custom”
docs.e2b.dev
-
CodeSandbox SDK$170per month per workspace, Scale plan (from)
“From $170 per month per workspace”
codesandbox.io
-
Runloop Devboxes$250per month, Pro plan (plus usage)
“$250 /month + usage”
runloop.ai
-
E2B$3,000per month minimum, Enterprise
“Enterprise requires $3,000/mo minimum.”
e2b.dev
-

Billed another way

Charges with no rate of their own on the checked page: billed at other rates, as model tokens, by resource or as a management fee.

Billed another way: 5 price rows in each provider's own unit, sorted only inside a unit
SandboxPriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
No rate of its own
Beam Sandboxes$0.019 per vCPU-hour + $0.009 per GB-hourBYOC management fee
“You pay Beam a flat management fee of $0.019/hr per vCPU and $0.009/hr per GB of RAM”
beam.cloud
-
Runloop Devboxes$0.252per hour blueprint build
“Blueprint Build $0.252 / hour”
runloop.ai
-
Azure Container Apps dynamic sessionsResource-basedcustom container sessions billed by session pool resources
“Custom container sessions are billed based on the resources consumed by the session pool.”
learn.microsoft.com
-
Gemini API code executionNo additional chargebilled as model input/output tokens
“There's no additional charge for enabling code execution from the Gemini API.”
ai.google.dev
-
Modal SandboxesStandard GPU ratesGPU on Sandboxes billed at standard resource rates
“GPU See standard pricing”
modal.com
-

No public price

Entries whose checked pages state no price, with the reason recorded for each.

Morph Cloud

Not stated - Docs state usage is measured in Morph Compute Units (MCUs) and that prices are shown only in the logged-in billing console; no public per-unit price found.

“Morph Cloud measures resource usage in Morph Compute Units (MCUs). MCUs account for resource consumption; they are not a fixed number of instance hours.”
cloud.morph.so
“The billing console lists the plans available to your organization, including prices, included credits, renewal terms, and resource limits.”
cloud.morph.so

Free tiers and credits

What each product gives away before you pay, in its own words. Not ranked: credits, quotas and free hours differ.

Free tier or credits per sandbox, as stated, not ranked
SandboxFree tier or creditsQuote and source
E2BHobby plan: $100 one-time usage credit, no credit card required
“$100 one-time usage credit”
e2b.dev
Daytona$200 in free compute included; no credit card for trial
“$200 in free compute included.”
daytona.io
Modal SandboxesStarter plan: $30/month free credits, applies to Sandboxes
“$30 / month free credits”
modal.com
Vercel SandboxHobby: monthly allotment (5 Active CPU hours, 420 GB-hours memory, 5,000 creations) at no cost
“Sandbox is free for Hobby users within the usage quotas detailed above.”
vercel.com
Runloop DevboxesFree Pro trial with $50 usage credit; Basic plan free plus usage
“$50 Usage Credit”
runloop.ai
Northflank SandboxesNot stated-
CodeSandbox SDKBuild plan $0 with SDK lite limited to 10 concurrent VM Sandboxes
“Programmatically create and manage Sandboxes at scale, but limited to 10 concurrent VM Sandboxes.”
codesandbox.io
Blaxel SandboxesUp to $200 in free credits
“Up to $200 in free credits”
blaxel.ai
Morph CloudNot statedDocs defer free credits to the billing console.-
Beam SandboxesDeveloper plan includes $20 credits monthly (paid plan)
“Developer $20/month $20 in credits each month”
beam.cloud
Fly.io Sprites$30 trial credit
“$30 in trial credits”
fly.io
Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers)Not on Free plan; Sandbox requires Workers Paid
“Available on Workers Paid plan”
developers.cloudflare.com
Amazon Bedrock AgentCore Code InterpreterNew AWS customers: up to $200 Free Tier credits (account-wide)
“New AWS customers receive up to $200 in Free Tier credits.”
aws.amazon.com
Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform Code Execution (formerly Vertex AI Agent Engine)Not stated-
Azure Container Apps dynamic sessionsNot stated-
OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers)Not stated-
Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API)1,550 free hours per organization per month
“Each organization receives 1,550 free hours of usage per month”
platform.claude.com
Gemini API code executionNot statedNot stated on this page.-

Vendor-stated, not measured

Startup and resume times

What each vendor says on its own page. We did not measure these, and vendors time different things: a start from a snapshot, a resume from standby, a prewarmed pool or a filesystem checkpoint.

13 vendor-stated startup and resume claims, not measurements
SandboxClaimQuote and source
E2B~150 ms startup from a snapshot or custom templateVendor-stated
“Startup · ~150 ms from a snapshot or custom template”
docs.e2b.dev
DaytonaUnder 90 ms from code to executionVendor-stated
“spinning up in under 90ms from code to execution”
daytona.io
Modal SandboxesContainers spin up and down in 1-2 seconds (platform-wide claim, not Sandbox-specific)Vendor-stated
“Modal spins containers up and down in 1-2 seconds.”
modal.com
Vercel SandboxSandboxes start in millisecondsVendor-stated
“Sandboxes start in milliseconds, making them ideal for real-time user interactions and latency-sensitive workloads.”
vercel.com
Runloop DevboxesStartup to first command in a few secondsVendor-stated
“Startup to running your first command takes a few seconds.”
docs.runloop.ai
Northflank SandboxesmicroVM boot in under a secondVendor-stated
“Boot a microVM in under a second.”
northflank.com
CodeSandbox SDKResume from memory snapshot typically 0.5-2 secondsVendor-stated
“From memory/disk snapshot: 0.5–2 seconds”
codesandbox.io
CodeSandbox SDKNew Sandbox from template ready in 1-3 secondsVendor-stated
“the new Sandbox is ready in 1–3 seconds”
codesandbox.io
Blaxel SandboxesResume from standby in under 25 msVendor-stated
“Sandboxes resume from standby in under 25 milliseconds”
docs.blaxel.ai
Blaxel SandboxesResumes full memory state in 25 msVendor-stated
“resumes the full memory state in just 25 milliseconds”
blaxel.ai
Fly.io SpritesFilesystem checkpoint in about a second (checkpoint, not cold start)Vendor-stated
“Snapshot the whole filesystem in about a second.”
fly.io
Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform Code Execution (formerly Vertex AI Agent Engine)Create and execute in under a secondVendor-stated
“Sandboxes can be created and execute code in under a second.”
docs.cloud.google.com
Azure Container Apps dynamic sessionsSubsecond launch from prewarmed poolsVendor-stated
“Prewarmed pools enable subsecond launch times for interactive workloads.”
learn.microsoft.com

Where the docs disagree

Two places where a provider's own pages say different things. Both sides are shown; neither is picked.

Docs disagree

Fly.io Sprites: Billed hourly or per second

“All resources are billed hourly, based on actual usage.”
Sprites pricing page - fly.io

Research note: Docs disagree: the pricing page says "All resources are billed hourly, based on actual usage.", while the docs comparison table (Serverless Functions vs Sprites) gives Sprites per-second billing ("Per-second"). Recorded as unresolved.

Docs disagree

CodeSandbox SDK: What a VM credit costs

“They are priced at $0.015 each.”
Price per VM credit - codesandbox.io
“priced at $0.15 per hour”
On-demand VM credits on Scale - codesandbox.io

Research note: The page states $0.015 per VM credit and $0.15 per hour for on-demand VM credits on Scale (as stated; unit wording ambiguous). The page text does not include the per-VM-tier credits-per-hour table, so the two figures cannot be reconciled from it.

Self-host and open source

Runtime code you can run on your own hardware. No price is stated; you pay for the machines.

Apache-2.0 (Go)

“It is written in Go, licensed under Apache-2.0, and built by E2B.”
github.com

E2B Embed runs the whole stack on a single Linux host with KVM

“E2B Embed is the whole stack, real Firecracker sandboxes included, on a single Linux host with KVM.”
github.com

From the E2B record:

“e2b-dev/E2B is licensed under the Apache License 2.0”
github.com

AGPL-3.0 (GNU Affero General Public License) at tag v0.190.0

“GNU AFFERO GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE”
github.com

Repository no longer maintained

“This repository is no longer maintained.”
github.com

Public code remains free to use and fork, as is and without support

“It remains public and free to use, fork, and build on under the LICENSE, as is and without support or warranty.”
github.com
“This repository will receive no further updates, fixes, or releases.”
Status - github.com

From the Daytona record:

“As of June 2026, Daytona's core development has moved to a private codebase.”
github.com

Method

How to read this directory

Read from each provider's own docs, pricing pages and repositories on , with every quote string-matched against the page that day. Prices and limits change; check the linked source before you commit.

Not a benchmark
Nothing here measures speed, cost per task or reliability. Every value is a first-party fact from the provider's own docs or pricing page, and every startup or resume figure is labelled vendor-stated.
Prices in the provider's own unit
A vCPU-second, a physical core-second, an Active CPU hour, a 20-minute container session and a credit are different units. Each unit is its own block, rows are sorted only inside a block, and nothing is converted.
Inferred means implied, not labelled
Most products have no GA badge; an inferred status is read from published paid pricing and carries a visible inferred tag.
Not stated means not stated
When the checked pages do not give a value, the cell says Not stated with the note recorded for it, instead of guessing.

FAQ

What is an AI agent code sandbox?

An isolated machine where an agent can run the code it writes without touching your own systems. This directory covers 11 hosted sandbox platforms you call through an SDK, 4 cloud primitives that sit inside a larger cloud, and 3 code execution tools a model provider runs for its own models, plus 2 open-source runtimes you can host.

Which agent sandbox is cheapest?

There is no single answer, because the 63 price rows fall into 25 unit blocks that do not convert into each other: per vCPU-second, per physical core-second, per vCPU-hour, per Active CPU hour, per 20-minute container session, per credit and more. Within one unit the tables sort lowest first. Per vCPU-second the lowest stated rate is $0.000014 (E2B). Per vCPU-hour it is $0.01667 (Northflank Sandboxes, from the provider's general compute price list). Memory, storage, egress and plan fees are billed on top, and a low rate says nothing about startup time or reliability.

Which sandboxes use Firecracker microVMs?

E2B, Vercel Sandbox and CodeSandbox SDK state a Firecracker microVM per sandbox. The others name their own boundary. Daytona: Container class: isolated container with dedicated namespaces; VM class (Linux VM and Windows): full VM with own kernel. Modal Sandboxes: gVisor runtime; VM runtime with own Linux kernel. Runloop Devboxes: Isolated ephemeral virtual machines. Northflank Sandboxes: microVM per workload with Kata Containers or gVisor. Blaxel Sandboxes: microVMs (Mark 3.0 infrastructure). Morph Cloud: VMs (instances are running VMs started from snapshots). Beam Sandboxes: Container. Fly.io Sprites: Hardware-isolated. Cloudflare Sandboxes (Containers and Dynamic Workers): Containers: microVM per instance with own kernel and network; Dynamic Workers: separate Worker in the Workers runtime (JavaScript, Python, WebAssembly). Amazon Bedrock AgentCore Code Interpreter: Containerized environment. Azure Container Apps dynamic sessions: Hyper-V isolation. OpenAI Code Interpreter (Responses API containers): Fully sandboxed virtual machine. Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API): Linux-based container, isolated from host and other containers. Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform Code Execution (formerly Vertex AI Agent Engine) and Gemini API code execution do not state the technology. The feature matrix links each one to its source.

Which sandboxes block outbound network access by default?

Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API), Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform Code Execution (formerly Vertex AI Agent Engine) and Azure Container Apps dynamic sessions state no outbound network by default. E2B and Modal Sandboxes state outbound access is open by default, with allow and deny controls. The rest describe egress policies without stating the default, or say nothing.

Can I self-host an agent sandbox?

E2B's runtime is open source: "It is written in Go, licensed under Apache-2.0, and built by E2B." Daytona's public repository is AGPL-3.0 (GNU Affero General Public License) at tag v0.190.0, but its README says "This repository is no longer maintained." and "As of June 2026, Daytona's core development has moved to a private codebase." Among the hosted products, E2B, Daytona, Runloop Devboxes, Northflank Sandboxes, CodeSandbox SDK, Blaxel Sandboxes and Beam Sandboxes state a self-host, bring-your-own-cloud or VPC option.

How long can an agent sandbox run?

It varies by provider and plan, and several reset the clock on pause. E2B: 1 hour (Hobby), 24 hours (Pro), custom (Enterprise) of continuous runtime; pausing resets the window. Daytona: No fixed cap stated; auto-stop can be disabled so a sandbox runs indefinitely. Modal Sandboxes: Default 5 minutes, configurable up to 24 hours. Vercel Sandbox: 45 minutes (Hobby), 24 hours (Pro, Enterprise) per session; persistent sandboxes resume in new sessions. Runloop Devboxes: Default max lifetime 1 hour, configurable at creation. Northflank Sandboxes: No forced time limits stated. CodeSandbox SDK: Unlimited session length on all plans. Beam Sandboxes: Default 600-second lifetime; keep_warm_seconds=-1 for manual termination. Amazon Bedrock AgentCore Code Interpreter: Default 15 minutes, extendable up to 8 hours. Azure Container Apps dynamic sessions: Each code execution limited to 220 seconds. Anthropic code execution tool (Claude API): Containers expire 30 days after creation. Gemini API code execution: 30 seconds maximum runtime. Products not listed here do not state a maximum in the pages checked.

Are the startup times on this page measured?

No. Every startup or resume figure is what the vendor says on its own page, labelled vendor-stated. Nothing here was benchmarked, and vendors measure from different starting points (a snapshot, a template, a prewarmed pool or a sleeping sandbox).

What do inferred and Not stated mean?

Inferred marks a status the source implies but does not label: 14 products are read as generally available from published paid pricing rather than a GA badge. Not stated means the checked pages did not give the value, so the cell says so, with the note recorded for it, instead of guessing.

Last verified from each provider's own docs, pricing pages and repositories; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Not a benchmark: prices are in the provider's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Snapshot of October 18, 2026: 20 entries (11 hosted platforms, 4 cloud primitives, 3 built-in tools, 2 open-source runtimes), 63 price rows in 25 unit blocks, 280 verified quotes.

Newsletter

Know when agent infrastructure changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling and what they mean for what you build.