Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Hosted platform - verified

Fly.io Sprites

Fly.io Sprites is a hosted sandbox platform from Fly.io, read from its own pages on October 18, 2026. Isolation: Hardware-isolated. Status: GA (inferred). 5 price rows, each in Fly.io Sprites's own unit.

Vendor: Fly.io. Docs: docs.fly.io. Pricing: fly.io. Compare every agent sandbox

Price rows
5
Vendor claims
1
Not stated
6
Verified quotes
18

Pricing

In the provider's own unit, verbatim. Nothing is converted; the directory compares a price only with others in the same unit.

Fly.io Sprites prices, each in the provider's own unit
PriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceNotes
$0.0385per CPU-hour (cumulative CPU usage)Directory block: Per CPU-hour
“$0.0385 /CPU-hour”
fly.io
-
$0.021875per GB-hour memory (actual usage)Directory block: Per GB-hour
“$0.021875 /GB-hour”
fly.io
-
$0.000683per GB-hour hot storageDirectory block: Per GB-hour
“HOT $0.000683 /GB-hour”
fly.io
-
$0.000027per GB-hour cold storageDirectory block: Per GB-hour
“COLD $0.000027 /GB-hour”
fly.io
-
$100per month, Hero plan (1,200 CPU-hours, 4,800 RAM GB-hours, 150 GB storage included)Directory block: Per month
“Hero ($100/mo) includes 1,200 CPU-hours, 4,800 RAM GB-hours, and 150 GB of storage”
fly.io
-
Free tier or credits

$30 trial credit

“$30 in trial credits”
fly.io

Limits, lifecycle and isolation

Max session duration
Not stated

Note: Not stated in checked pages.

Idle timeout and auto-pause

Goes warm immediately when idle (no compute charge), may later go cold

“While idle, there are no compute charges and your full filesystem is preserved.”
docs.fly.io
Persistence and snapshots

Persistent disk survives sleep; 100 GB volume

“The volume is 100 GB, and you're billed on the storage you actually use”
fly.io

Automatic and manual filesystem checkpoints

“Snapshot the whole filesystem in about a second.”
fly.io
Isolation

Hardware-isolated

“Sprites are persistent, hardware-isolated Linux environments for running arbitrary code.”
docs.fly.io
CPU and memory limits
Not stated

Note: Not stated in checked pages.

GPU
Not stated

Note: Not stated in checked pages.

Egress controls

Connectors make outbound calls without credentials entering the Sprite (not a network egress firewall)

“The code running in the Sprite doesn't need the provider credential in hand to use it.”
fly.io
SDKs and languages

JavaScript/TypeScript SDK

“import { SpritesClient } from '@fly/sprites';”
fly.io

Python SDK

“pip install sprites-py”
fly.io

Go SDK

“import "github.com/superfly/sprites-go"”
fly.io
Regions
Not stated

Note: Not stated in checked pages.

Open source
Not stated

Note: Not stated.

Self-host or BYOC
Not stated

Note: Not stated.

Status

GA (inferred from published pricing and plans)inferred

“All resources are billed hourly, based on actual usage.”
Status inferred from - fly.io

Vendor-stated, not measured

Startup and resume claims

  • Filesystem checkpoint in about a second (checkpoint, not cold start)Vendor-stated

    “Snapshot the whole filesystem in about a second.”
    fly.io

Other facts

  • Egress not metered for Sprites

    “Sprites bandwidth isn't metered today.”
    fly.io
  • Hero plan concurrency

    “Hero allows 100 concurrently running sprites and 100 warm sprites”
    fly.io

Where the docs disagree

Docs disagree

Billed hourly or per second

“All resources are billed hourly, based on actual usage.”
Sprites pricing page - fly.io

Research note: Docs disagree: the pricing page says "All resources are billed hourly, based on actual usage.", while the docs comparison table (Serverless Functions vs Sprites) gives Sprites per-second billing ("Per-second"). Recorded as unresolved.

Research notes

Billing granularity
Docs disagree: the pricing page says "All resources are billed hourly, based on actual usage.", while the docs comparison table (Serverless Functions vs Sprites) gives Sprites per-second billing ("Per-second"). Recorded as unresolved.

FAQ

How much does Fly.io Sprites cost?

$0.0385 per CPU-hour (cumulative CPU usage); $0.021875 per GB-hour memory (actual usage); $0.000683 per GB-hour hot storage; $0.000027 per GB-hour cold storage; $100 per month, Hero plan (1,200 CPU-hours, 4,800 RAM GB-hours, 150 GB storage included). Prices are in the provider's own units as of October 18, 2026. Free tier: $30 trial credit.

What isolation does Fly.io Sprites use?

Hardware-isolated.

How long can a session run on Fly.io Sprites?

Not stated. Not stated in checked pages. Idle behavior: Goes warm immediately when idle (no compute charge), may later go cold.

Does Fly.io Sprites restrict outbound network access?

Connectors make outbound calls without credentials entering the Sprite (not a network egress firewall).

Sources

Last verified from each provider's own docs, pricing pages and repositories; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Not a benchmark: prices are in the provider's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when agent infrastructure changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling and what they mean for what you build.