Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Cost levers - verified

How to cut your Amazon Bedrock API bill

Prompt caching: automatic and explicit. Cache lifetime: 5 min default; 1 hour on Claude 4.5+; 30 min on OpenAI GPT-5.6/6.1. A cache hit typically saves 75% on input across 4 current Amazon models. Batch: 50% off select models, 24 to 168 hour job timeout. Batch and caching stack: not stated. Service tiers: Flex (50% off), Priority (75% premium), Reserved (fixed price per 1K TPM, monthly).

Read from docs.aws.amazon.com, aws.amazon.com. Compare every provider's cost levers

Caching
Automatic and explicit
Cache hit saves
75%
Batch
50% off select models
Service tiers
3

Prompt caching

Mode

Both: automatic caching by default, plus explicit breakpoints you control

Implicit Prompt Caching (best effort, no controls) and Explicit Prompt Caching (cache checkpoints: cachePoint in Converse, cache_control for Claude InvokeModel, prompt_cache_breakpoint for OpenAI models). Support varies by model and API. Simplified cache management looks back about 20 content blocks from a single checkpoint.

Cache lifetime

Resets on each hit. Claude 4.5+ and Haiku 4.5: 5 minutes or 1 hour; Claude 3.x and Amazon Nova: 5 minutes; OpenAI GPT-5.6/6.1 models: 30 minutes minimum. Default 5 minutes when no ttl is given.

Minimum prompt

Per checkpoint, cumulative prefix: ranges from 512 to 4,096 by model (Claude 5.x family 512; Opus 4.8 / Sonnet 5 / Sonnet 4.x / Claude 3.x 1,024; Opus 4.5-4.7 and Haiku 4.5 4,096; Nova 1K; OpenAI GPT-5.6/6.1 1,024)

Cache write cost

Model-dependent: writes can be billed above standard input; OpenAI models on Bedrock bill writes at 1.25x uncached input

Cache read cost

Model's cache-read rate

Storage cost
Not stated
How to enable

Add a cachePoint (Converse) or cache_control (Claude InvokeModel) checkpoint after static content; up to 4 checkpoints for Claude; add "ttl": "1h" where supported.

Request fragment
"cachePoint": {"type": "default", "ttl": "1h"}
From the docs
“Amazon Bedrock supports two types of prompt caching: Implicit Prompt Caching and Explicit Prompt Caching. Support for each type varies by model and API.”
“Implicit Prompt Caching is best effort. Repeating an identical prompt doesn't guarantee a cache hit, and cache-hit rates can vary.”
“The cache has a Time To Live (TTL), which resets with each successful cache hit.”
“Many models support a 5-minute TTL. Check the model card for your model to see the exact TTL conditions.”
“If no `ttl` value is provided, the default 5-minute caching behavior applies.”
“Cached prefixes remain available for reuse for at least 30 minutes, long enough to cover the burst of calls a single agent run generates.”
“Minimums currently range from 512 to 4,096 tokens per cache checkpoint.”
“Depending on the model, tokens written to cache can be billed at a rate that is higher than the standard input token rate.”
“Tokens written to cache are billed at 1.25× the uncached input token rate.”
“"cachePoint" : { "type": "default", "ttl" : "1h" }”
“When you enable simplified cache management, the system automatically checks for cache hits at previous content block boundaries, looking back up to approximately 20”

Sources: docs.aws.amazon.com/bedrock/latest/userguide/prompt-caching.html, aws.amazon.com/bedrock/pricing

Batch API

Discount

50% off select models

50% lower price than on-demand (select foundation models)

Window

No fixed completion window stated; the job timeout is set per job with timeoutDurationInHours, 24 to 168 hours (API reference). No default is stated on the cited pages.

Limits

Per-model quotas in Amazon Bedrock endpoints and quotas (AWS General Reference, not stated on the batch pages); job timeout 24 to 168 hours via timeoutDurationInHours; not supported for provisioned models

Endpoint

Batch inference job (model invocation job) with S3 input/output; OpenAI Batch API also supported

Stacks with caching

Not stated: the provider's pages do not say

From the docs
“Amazon Bedrock offers select foundation models (FMs) from leading AI providers like Anthropic, Meta, Mistral AI, and Amazon for batch inference at a 50% lower price compared to on-demand inference pricing.”
“To see quotas for batch inference, see Amazon Bedrock endpoints and quotas in the AWS General Reference.”
“timeoutDurationInHours | To specify the duration in hours after which the job will time out.”
“Batch inference isn't supported for provisioned models.”
“The number of hours after which to force the batch inference job to time out.”
“Valid Range: Minimum value of 24. Maximum value of 168.”

Sources: docs.aws.amazon.com/bedrock/latest/userguide/batch-inference.html, docs.aws.amazon.com/bedrock/latest/userguide/batch-inference-create.html, docs.aws.amazon.com/bedrock/latest/APIReference/API_CreateModelInvocationJob.html, aws.amazon.com/bedrock/pricing

Service tiers

Flex trades speed or availability for a lower price; Priority and Fast cost more for lower latency or reserved capacity.

Reserved

Reserved tier

Set with service_tier: reserved

Price effect

Fixed price per 1K tokens-per-minute, billed monthly; 1 or 3 month terms

Trade-off

Reserved prioritized capacity, 99.5% uptime target, overflow to Standard; minimum 100,000 input TPM and 10,000 output TPM

From the docs
“Customers can reserve capacity for 1 month or 3 month duration. Customers pay a fixed price per 1K tokens-per-minute and are billed monthly.”
docs.aws.amazon.com
“The Reserved tier targets 99.5% uptime for model response.”
docs.aws.amazon.com

Other discounts and surcharges

  • Reserved tier capacity reservation (committed 1 or 3 months)

    “The Reserved tier provides the ability to reserve prioritized compute capacity for your mission-critical applications that cannot tolerate any downtime.”
    docs.aws.amazon.com
  • Provisioned Throughput (provisioned models)

    “Batch inference isn't supported for provisioned models.”
    docs.aws.amazon.com

Amazon per-model prices

USD per 1M tokens from the provider's own pricing page, newest release first. A dash means the model has no such rate. These are the Amazon models billed through Amazon Bedrock. Muted rows are scheduled for shutdown or deprecated.

Amazon models with input, cache, batch, output and fast mode prices per 1M tokens
ModelInputCached inputBatch inputOutputBatch outputFast modeinput / output
Amazon Nova 2 Lite$0.30$0.07575% off$0.15$2.50$1.25-
Amazon Nova Premier$2.50-$1.25$12.50$6.25-
Amazon Nova Lite$0.06$0.01575% off$0.03$0.24$0.12-
Amazon Nova Micro$0.035$0.0087575% off$0.0175$0.14$0.07-
Amazon Nova Pro$0.80$0.2075% off$0.40$3.20$1.60$1 / $4

Research notes

Batch completion window is not stated on the Bedrock batch overview page; the per-job timeout range (24 to 168 hours) comes from the CreateModelInvocationJob API reference.

FAQ

Does Amazon Bedrock cache prompts automatically?

Both: automatic caching by default, plus explicit breakpoints you control. Implicit Prompt Caching (best effort, no controls) and Explicit Prompt Caching (cache checkpoints: cachePoint in Converse, cache_control for Claude InvokeModel, prompt_cache_breakpoint for OpenAI models). Support varies by model and API. Simplified cache management looks back about 20 content blocks from a single checkpoint. How to enable: Add a cachePoint (Converse) or cache_control (Claude InvokeModel) checkpoint after static content; up to 4 checkpoints for Claude; add "ttl": "1h" where supported.

How much does a cache hit cost on Amazon Bedrock?

Across 4 current models with a cache read price, a hit saves 75% off the input price. The docs say: Model's cache-read rate.

Does Amazon Bedrock have a batch API discount?

50% lower price than on-demand (select foundation models). Window: No fixed completion window stated; the job timeout is set per job with timeoutDurationInHours, 24 to 168 hours (API reference). No default is stated on the cited pages.. Stacks with caching: not stated: the provider's pages do not say.

What service tiers does Amazon Bedrock offer?

Flex: 50% discount to Standard. Priority: 75% premium to Standard. Reserved: Fixed price per 1K tokens-per-minute, billed monthly; 1 or 3 month terms.

Sources

Last verified from Amazon Bedrock's own pages below. Quotes are verbatim; each was matched against the live page.

Newsletter

Know when a provider changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.