Cost levers - verified
How to cut your Together AI API bill
Prompt caching: automatic. Cache lifetime: best effort, short-lived. Batch: 50% off select models, 24h, best effort. Batch and caching stack: not stated. Service tiers: none documented.
Read from docs.together.ai. Compare every provider's cost levers
- Caching
- Automatic
- Cache hit saves
- See docs
- Batch
- 50% off select models
- Service tiers
- 0
Prompt caching
- Mode
Automatic: repeated prefixes are cached with no code change
Serverless: automatic, prefix-based cached-input billing on select chat models only (those with a Cached input price). Dedicated endpoints: prompt caching on by default, scoped to your replicas.
- Cache lifetime
Best-effort and short-lived; no configurable retention window
- Minimum prompt
- Not stated
- Cache write cost
- Not stated
- Cache read cost
Steep discount on supported models (per-model Cached input price)
- Storage cost
- Not stated
- How to enable
Automatic; no header, parameter or toggle.
- From the docs
“Automatic: There is no header, parameter, or account toggle to enable it.”
docs.together.ai “Best-effort and short-lived: The serverless cache is shared across the fleet and entries are evicted as traffic shifts, so cache hits aren't guaranteed and there's no configurable retention window.”
docs.together.ai “Limited to supported models: Only models with a value in the Cached input pricing column on Chat models support cached input billing.”
docs.together.ai “Select serverless chat models bill cached input tokens at a steep discount.”
docs.together.ai
Batch API
- Discount
50% off select models
'Up to 50% off', but only listed discounted models get 50% (currently only openai/whisper-large-v3); unlisted models run at standard rates
- Window
24h completion window, fixed, best-effort (can exceed it)
- Limits
Up to 50,000 requests per batch; 100 MB per input file; 10 MB per line; 30B tokens enqueued per model; separate rate-limit pool; files retained 7 days
- Endpoint
Batch API with JSONL lines targeting /v1/chat/completions (audio: /v1/audio/transcriptions, /v1/audio/translations)
- Stacks with caching
Not stated: the provider's pages do not say
- From the docs
“You get up to 50% off serverless rates and a separate rate limit pool, in exchange for a job-shaped (rather than request-shaped) workflow.”
“Selected serverless models run at 50% off batch rates:”
“Models not listed run at standard rates.”
“Completion window defaults to `24h` and cannot be changed. It is a best-effort target.”
“Up to 50,000 requests per batch.”
“Up to 100 MB per input file.”
“Batch jobs can also run against dedicated model inference, but the discount does not apply to dedicated model inference usage.”
Sources: docs.together.ai/docs/inference/batch/overview, docs.together.ai/docs/serverless/overview
Service tiers
Flex trades speed or availability for a lower price; Priority and Fast cost more for lower latency or reserved capacity.
Service tiers on the pages checked: Not stated
Other discounts and surcharges
Provisioned throughput (committed throughput, via sales)
“For committed throughput and reliability guarantees, contact sales about provisioned throughput.”
docs.together.ai Dedicated endpoints (reserved hardware)
“If you need direct control over reserved hardware, use a dedicated endpoint.”
docs.together.ai
Together AI per-model prices
This site does not track per-model Together AI prices. Use the sources below for the current rate card.
Research notes
The batch discount table lists only openai/whisper-large-v3 as discounted today, so most chat models get no batch price cut despite the headline 'up to 50%'.
FAQ
Does Together AI cache prompts automatically?
Automatic: repeated prefixes are cached with no code change. Serverless: automatic, prefix-based cached-input billing on select chat models only (those with a Cached input price). Dedicated endpoints: prompt caching on by default, scoped to your replicas. How to enable: Automatic; no header, parameter or toggle.
How much does a cache hit cost on Together AI?
Steep discount on supported models (per-model Cached input price). This site has no per-model Together AI prices to compute it from.
Does Together AI have a batch API discount?
'Up to 50% off', but only listed discounted models get 50% (currently only openai/whisper-large-v3); unlisted models run at standard rates. Window: 24h completion window, fixed, best-effort (can exceed it). Stacks with caching: not stated: the provider's pages do not say.
Sources
Last verified from Together AI's own pages below. Quotes are verbatim; each was matched against the live page.
Newsletter
Know when a provider changes its prices
One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.