Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Cost levers - verified

How to cut your Moonshot Kimi API bill

Prompt caching: automatic. Cache lifetime: 5 min default or 1 hour, renewed on each hit. A cache hit typically saves 81.6% on input across 4 current Moonshot AI models. Batch: 40% off select models, 12h to 7d. Batch and caching stack: not stated. Service tiers: Highspeed variant (2x, separate model id).

Read from platform.kimi.ai. Compare every provider's cost levers

Caching
Automatic
Cache hit saves
81.6%
Batch
40% off select models
Service tiers
1

Prompt caching

Mode

Automatic: repeated prefixes are cached with no code change

Automatic prefix caching (prompt_cache_options.mode supports only implicit); TTL tier selectable. On the Anthropic-compatible Messages API, a top-level cache_control sets the TTL.

Cache lifetime

5 minutes by default or 1 hour option; each hit renews the entry under its original (locked) TTL at no extra cost

Minimum prompt

Not stated; cache stored in blocks, and a portion smaller than one full block is a cache miss

Cache write cost

kimi-k3: cache writes billed separately, 5m write at the input price, 1h write at 2x; K2 series (kimi-k2.7, k2.7-highspeed, k2.6) have no cache-write charge

Derived from the pricing table. Computed from the pricing table: kimi-k3 Cache Write (5min) $3.00 equals the $3.00 Input Price; Cache Write (1h) $6.00 is 2x. The K2 no-write-charge part is quoted.

Cache read cost

kimi-k3 cache hit is one-tenth of the cache-miss price

Storage cost
Not stated
How to enable

Automatic. Choose TTL with prompt_cache_options (Chat Completions/Responses) or top-level cache_control (Messages).

Request fragment
"prompt_cache_options": {"mode": "implicit", "ttl": "1h"}
From the docs
“When `prompt_cache_options` is omitted, the system uses the `5m` TTL by default: prefixes that meet the hit conditions are automatically written to the cache and reused, and Cache Write charges apply.”
“Input that hits the cache within its lifetime is billed only at the Cached Input Price: each hit automatically refreshes the cache entry's lifetime, with no additional cache write charge.”
“`prompt_cache_options.mode` currently supports only `implicit`, and `ttl` supports `5m` and `1h`.”
“Cache is stored in blocks. A portion smaller than one full block cannot be written to cache; it counts as a cache miss and is billed at the regular input (cache-miss) rate.”
“| Cache Write (`5m`) | $3.00 | Charged once when the prefix is first written; valid for 5 minutes, and each hit resets the validity to 5 minutes |”
“| Cache Write (`1h`) | $6.00 | Charged once when the prefix is first written; valid for 1 hour, and each hit resets the validity to 1 hour |”
“`kimi-k3` supports Cache Write; `kimi-k2.7`, `kimi-k2.7-highspeed`, and `kimi-k2.6` do not.”
“for `kimi-k3`, the cache-hit price is only one-tenth of the cache-miss price”
“A cache entry's TTL is locked at first write and cannot be changed later”

Sources: platform.kimi.ai/docs/pricing/chat, platform.kimi.ai/docs/guide/context-caching

Batch API

Discount

40% off select models

40% off (Batch costs 60% of the standard model price)

Window

completion_window 12h minimum to 7d maximum (e.g. 12h, 1d, 3d); tasks not finished in the window expire

Limits

Input file non-empty, max 100MB; up to 1000 batch-purpose files per organization; not subject to real-time concurrency limits; supports kimi-k2.7-code and kimi-k2.6 only

Endpoint

POST /v1/batches

Stacks with caching

Not stated: the provider's pages do not say

From the docs
“Batch API inference costs are 60% of the standard model price, ideal for large-scale tasks with low real-time requirements.”
“It supports submitting tasks in bulk via files, saving 40% on inference costs compared to real-time API calls.”
“Time window for task processing, supports formats like 12h, 1d, 3d, minimum 12h, maximum 7d”
“Tasks must complete within the specified `completion_window`, otherwise they expire”
“| File size | Must be non-empty, max 100MB |”
“Batch API supports `kimi-k2.7-code` and `kimi-k2.6` models”

Sources: platform.kimi.ai/docs/pricing/batch.md, platform.kimi.ai/docs/guide/use-batch-api.md, platform.kimi.ai/docs/api/batch-create.md

Service tiers

Flex trades speed or availability for a lower price; Priority and Fast cost more for lower latency or reserved capacity.

Fast

Highspeed model variant (kimi-k2.7-code-highspeed)

Price effect

Separate model id at 2x the kimi-k2.7-code token prices on the pricing table

Derived from the pricing table. Computed from the pricing table: kimi-k2.7-code-highspeed $0.38/$1.90/$8.00 vs kimi-k2.7-code $0.19/$0.95/$4.00 (cache hit / cache miss / output), exactly 2x.

Trade-off

Not described on the pricing page

From the docs
“| kimi-k2.7-code-highspeed | 1M tokens | $0.38 | $1.90 | $8.00 | 262,144 tokens |”
platform.kimi.ai

Other discounts and surcharges

Other discounts on the pages checked: Not stated

Moonshot AI per-model prices

USD per 1M tokens from the provider's own pricing page, newest release first. A dash means the model has no such rate. These are the Moonshot AI models billed through Moonshot Kimi. Muted rows are scheduled for shutdown or deprecated.

Moonshot AI models with input, cache, batch, output and fast mode prices per 1M tokens
ModelInputCached inputCache write1-hour writeBatch inputOutputBatch output
Kimi K2.6$0.95$0.1683.2% off--$0.57$4$2.40
Kimi K2.7 Code$0.95$0.1980% off--$0.57$4$2.40
Kimi K2.7 Code HighSpeed$1.90$0.3880% off---$8-
Kimi K3$3$0.3090% off$3$6-$15-

Research notes

platform.moonshot.ai redirects to platform.kimi.ai. No service_tier parameter documented.

FAQ

Does Moonshot Kimi cache prompts automatically?

Automatic: repeated prefixes are cached with no code change. Automatic prefix caching (prompt_cache_options.mode supports only implicit); TTL tier selectable. On the Anthropic-compatible Messages API, a top-level cache_control sets the TTL. How to enable: Automatic. Choose TTL with prompt_cache_options (Chat Completions/Responses) or top-level cache_control (Messages).

How much does a cache hit cost on Moonshot Kimi?

Across 4 current models with a cache read price, a hit saves 81.6% (80% to 90%) off the input price. The docs say: kimi-k3 cache hit is one-tenth of the cache-miss price.

Does Moonshot Kimi have a batch API discount?

40% off (Batch costs 60% of the standard model price). Window: completion_window 12h minimum to 7d maximum (e.g. 12h, 1d, 3d); tasks not finished in the window expire. Stacks with caching: not stated: the provider's pages do not say.

What service tiers does Moonshot Kimi offer?

Highspeed variant: Separate model id at 2x the kimi-k2.7-code token prices on the pricing table (derived from the pricing table).

Sources

Last verified from Moonshot AI (Kimi API Platform)'s own pages below. Quotes are verbatim; each was matched against the live page.

Newsletter

Know when a provider changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.