Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Free tier - verified

Is the Cohere API free?

Yes. The Cohere API offers free trial (evaluation) API keys. Whether a card is required is not stated. Whether it trains on your data is not stated.

Read from docs.cohere.com, cohere.com. Compare every free LLM API

Offer
Free tier
Card required
Not stated
Trains on data
Not stated
Verified
2026-10-18

The offer

Offer class

Standing free tier

Recorded as: trial (evaluation) keys

“Cohere offers two kinds of API keys: evaluation keys (free but limited in usage), and production keys (paid and much less limited in usage).”
docs.cohere.com
“With respect to pricing, the key thing to understand is that trial API key usage is free, but limited.”
docs.cohere.com
How to get it

"You can create a trial or production key on the API keys page"; trial keys are available "by simply signing up for a Cohere account".

Card required

Not stated

Free-tier limits

Values are copied exactly as the provider publishes them, units included. Not stated means the public docs give no value.

Monthly cap (trial keys)
1,000 API calls a month
Cohere free-tier limits by model
ModelTrial rate limitMonthly capSource
Command A+20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Command A Reasoning20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Command A Translate20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Command A Vision20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Command A20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Command R+20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Command R20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Command R7B20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
North Mini Code20 req / min1,000 API calls a month (shared across the key)docs.cohere.com
Embed (endpoint)2,000 inputs / minNot stateddocs.cohere.com
Rerank (endpoint)10 req / minNot stateddocs.cohere.com

From the limits docs

“Trial keys (and prod keys on newer Chat model variants) are limited to 1,000 API calls a month.”
docs.cohere.com

Does it train on your data?

Not stated

Opt-out toggle exists; no-training commitments cover paying customers

Not explicitly stated for trial keys. Cohere's enterprise no-training commitments cover only paying customers (card on file); trial data falls under the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy, and an opt-out toggle for training exists.

“Our Enterprise Data Commitments apply to enterprise data of our commercial, paying customers. For the SaaS Platform, this means customers who have a credit card on file in their account.”
Data terms - cohere.com
“Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy apply to data we receive from users using a trial API key to access our SaaS Platform.”
cohere.com
“You can opt out from your prompts and generations being used to train Cohere models in your dashboard settings at any time.”
cohere.com
“Where a user has given Cohere permission to use inputs and outputs for model training, we take steps to de-identify and strip personal information that may appear in inputs or outputs prior to use in model training.”
cohere.com

Restrictions

  • Trial is for testing and proofs of concept

    “Developers wanting to test different applications or build proofs of concept can use all of Cohere's models and APIs can do so with a trial key”
    docs.cohere.com
  • Free features are for trial purposes

    “While we make certain features available for free for trial purposes, Cohere's AI solutions are not intended for personal, family, or household purposes.”
    cohere.com

Upgrade path

Production key (paid); Command A and R models get "500 req / min". "Prod keys work like trial keys for newer model variants such as Command A Reasoning. Please contact sales@cohere.com if you intend to use those models in production."

FAQ

Is the Cohere API free?

Yes. The Cohere API offers free trial (evaluation) API keys. Whether a card is required is not stated. Whether it trains on your data is not stated.

What are the Cohere free limits?

1,000 API calls a month; 20 req / min on Command models.

Does Cohere train on your data?

Not stated (Opt-out toggle exists; no-training commitments cover paying customers). The terms say: "Our Enterprise Data Commitments apply to enterprise data of our commercial, paying customers. For the SaaS Platform, this means customers who have a credit card on file in their account."

Sources

Last verified from Cohere's own pages below. Quotes are verbatim.

Newsletter

Know when a free tier changes

One email per week. New model releases, pricing and limit changes, and what they mean for what you build.