Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Free tier - verified

Is the Z.ai API free?

Yes. The Z.ai API offers free Flash models: GLM-4.7-Flash, GLM-4.5-Flash and GLM-4.6V-Flash. Whether a card is required is not stated. Trains on your data: No (for API Services, unless you explicitly agree).

Read from docs.z.ai. Compare every free LLM API

Offer
Free tier
Card required
Not stated
Trains on data
No
Verified
2026-10-18

The offer

Offer class

Standing free tier

Recorded as: free models

“| GLM-4.7-Flash | Free | Free | Free | Free |”
docs.z.ai
“| GLM-4.5-Flash | Free | Free | Free | Free |”
docs.z.ai
“| GLM-4.6V-Flash | Free | Free | Free | Free |”
docs.z.ai
“Lightweight, Completely Free”
docs.z.ai
How to get it
Not stated
Card required

Not stated

Free-tier limits

Values are copied exactly as the provider publishes them, units included. Not stated means the public docs give no value.

Z.ai (GLM) free-tier limits by model
ModelPrice (input, cached input, cached input storage, output)Source
GLM-4.7-FlashFreedocs.z.ai
GLM-4.5-FlashFreedocs.z.ai
GLM-4.6V-Flash (vision)Freedocs.z.ai

No RPM/TPM/concurrency values are published for the free models: the public rate-limit doc URL redirects to the logged-in console (z.ai/manage-apikey/rate-limits). Not free: GLM-5.3-Flash ($0.15 in / $0.50 out per 1M), GLM-4.7-FlashX, GLM-4.6V-FlashX.

Does it train on your data?

No

For API Services, unless you explicitly agree

No for API Services unless you explicitly agree (but the same terms reserve training rights over 'individual users').

“For enterprises and developers using API Services, we will not use your User Content for developing or improving Services unless you explicitly agree to such use. Please refer to Additional Terms for further details.”
Data terms - docs.z.ai
“We will not use End User Content to develop or improve Services, unless you explicitly agree to such use.”
docs.z.ai
“For individual users, we reserve the right to process any User Content to improve our existing Services and/or to develop new products and services, including for our internal business operations and for the benefit of other customers.”
docs.z.ai

Restrictions

  • Rate limits only visible in the logged-in console

    https://docs.z.ai/api-reference/rate-limit redirected to https://z.ai/manage-apikey/rate-limits (console login page) on 2026-10-18 docs.z.ai

Upgrade path

Not stated

FAQ

Is the Z.ai API free?

Yes. The Z.ai API offers free Flash models: GLM-4.7-Flash, GLM-4.5-Flash and GLM-4.6V-Flash. Whether a card is required is not stated. Trains on your data: No (for API Services, unless you explicitly agree).

What are the Z.ai (GLM) free limits?

3 Flash models priced Free; rate limits shown only in the logged-in console. No RPM/TPM/concurrency values are published for the free models: the public rate-limit doc URL redirects to the logged-in console (z.ai/manage-apikey/rate-limits). Not free: GLM-5.3-Flash ($0.15 in / $0.50 out per 1M), GLM-4.7-FlashX, GLM-4.6V-FlashX.

Does Z.ai (GLM) train on your data?

No (for API Services, unless you explicitly agree). The terms say: "For enterprises and developers using API Services, we will not use your User Content for developing or improving Services unless you explicitly agree to such use. Please refer to Additional Terms for further details."

Sources

Last verified from Z.ai (GLM)'s own pages below. Quotes are verbatim.

Newsletter

Know when a free tier changes

One email per week. New model releases, pricing and limit changes, and what they mean for what you build.