Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Groq speech APIs - verified

Groq speech API pricing and models

Groq: 2 speech-to-text models and 2 text-to-speech models, read from the provider's own pages on October 18, 2026. Its lowest speech-to-text rate converts to $0.04 an hour (Whisper Large v3 Turbo (Groq)). No model here has a scheduled shutdown date.

Read from console.groq.com. Compare every speech API

Speech-to-text
2
Text-to-speech
2
Realtime voice
0
Retiring
0

Whisper Large v3 (Groq)

Speech-to-text - whisper-large-v3

Price (provider's unit)

$0.111 per hour

“| whisper-large-v3 | $0.111 | Multilingual | Yes | Yes | 189 | 10.3% |”
console.groq.com
Converted $/hour (our arithmetic)
  • $0.111stated per hour, no conversion
Languages

Multilingual

“| whisper-large-v3 | $0.111 | Multilingual |”
console.groq.com
Streaming

No

“Either a URL or a direct file upload for flac, mp3, mp4, mpeg, mpga, m4a, ogg, wav, webm”
console.groq.com
Max audio

25 MB (free tier), 100MB (dev tier)

“25 MB (free tier), 100MB (dev tier)”
console.groq.com
Status
Not stated

Features

  • translation

    “| whisper-large-v3 | $0.111 | Multilingual | Yes | Yes | 189 | 10.3% |”
    console.groq.com

Minimum billed length: '10 seconds. If you submit a request less than this, you will still be billed for 10 seconds.'

Whisper Large v3 Turbo (Groq)

Speech-to-text - whisper-large-v3-turbo

Price (provider's unit)

$0.04 per hour

“PRICING Per Hour $0.04”
console.groq.com
Converted $/hour (our arithmetic)
  • $0.04stated per hour, no conversion
Languages

99+ languages

“Multilingual support: 99+ languages”
console.groq.com
Streaming

No

“Either a URL or a direct file upload”
console.groq.com
Max audio

100 MB

“MAX FILE SIZE 100 MB”
console.groq.com
Status
Not stated

Features

  • no translation

    “| whisper-large-v3-turbo | $0.04 | Multilingual | Yes | No | 216 | 12% |”
    console.groq.com

Orpheus V1 English (Groq)

Text-to-speech - canopylabs/orpheus-v1-english

Preview
Price (provider's unit)

$22.00 per million characters

“Per Million Characters $22.00”
console.groq.com
Languages

English

“| canopylabs/orpheus-v1-english | English | Expressive TTS with vocal direction controls |”
console.groq.com
Streaming
Not stated
Limit per request

200 characters per request

“Keep input text under 200 characters maximum per request.”
console.groq.com
Status

preview

“Canopy Labs Orpheus V1 English Preview”
console.groq.com

Features

  • 6 voices, vocal direction tags

    “It features six professionally-trained voice personas with different strengths for expressive direction performance.”
    console.groq.com

Orpheus Arabic Saudi (Groq)

Text-to-speech - canopylabs/orpheus-arabic-saudi

Preview
Price (provider's unit)

$40.00 per million characters

“Per Million Characters $40.00”
console.groq.com
Languages

Arabic (Saudi)

“| canopylabs/orpheus-arabic-saudi | Arabic (Saudi) | Authentic Saudi dialect synthesis |”
console.groq.com
Streaming
Not stated
Limit per request

200 characters per request

“Keep input text under 200 characters maximum per request.”
console.groq.com
Status

preview

“Preview canopylabs/orpheus-arabic-saudi”
console.groq.com

Features

  • voices: Abdullah, Fahad, Sultan, Lulwa, Noura, Aisha

    “Experiment with different voices (Abdullah, Fahad, Sultan, Lulwa, Noura, Aisha)”
    console.groq.com

    Note: The same page's overview says the model 'offers four distinct Saudi dialect voices' while the best-practices list names six.

FAQ

How much does Groq speech-to-text cost?

Whisper Large v3 (Groq): $0.111 per hour. Whisper Large v3 Turbo (Groq): $0.04 per hour. Prices are in Groq's own units as of October 18, 2026.

How much does Groq text-to-speech cost?

Orpheus V1 English (Groq): $22.00 per million characters. Orpheus Arabic Saudi (Groq): $40.00 per million characters. Prices are in Groq's own units as of October 18, 2026.

Sources

Verified from each provider's own pricing pages and model docs; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Prices are shown in the provider's own unit. Values marked derived were counted by us or taken from Azure's Retail Prices API, not from a pricing page. Prices change without notice; check the linked source before you commit a budget to one.

Newsletter

Know when a speech API changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.