Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

OpenAI speech APIs - verified

OpenAI speech API pricing and models

OpenAI: 4 speech-to-text models, 1 text-to-speech model and 3 realtime voice models, read from the provider's own pages on October 18, 2026. Its lowest speech-to-text rate converts to $0.18 an hour (GPT-4o mini Transcribe). 2 models are scheduled to retire: gpt-4o-mini-transcribe on February 26, 2027 and gpt-4o-mini-tts on January 6, 2027.

Read from developers.openai.com. Compare every speech API

Speech-to-text
4
Text-to-speech
1
Realtime voice
3
Retiring
2

GPT-Transcribe

Speech-to-text - gpt-transcribe

Current
Price (provider's unit)

$0.0045 / minute

“| gpt-transcribe | Transcription | - | - | $0.0045 / minute |”
developers.openai.com
Converted $/hour (our arithmetic)
  • $0.27converted from $0.0045 per minute
Languages
Not stated
Streaming

Yes

“Set stream=true with gpt-transcribe. The Transcriptions API returns transcript events as the model transcribes each part of the recording.”
developers.openai.com
Max audio

25 MB per file

“Files can be up to 25 MB. Supported input formats are mp3, mp4, mpeg, mpga, m4a, wav, and webm.”
developers.openai.com
Status

current (no preview label)

“Start with gpt-transcribe. This is the recommended model for transcribing recorded speech in its original language.”
developers.openai.com

Features

  • keyword hints / language hints

    “It supports unstructured context, keyword hints, and multiple language hints to improve transcription of domain terms, multilingual audio, and code-switching.”
    developers.openai.com
  • language detection

    “For gpt-transcribe, the final event also includes detected languages”
    developers.openai.com
  • no word timestamps (use whisper-1)

    “Use whisper-1 when you need word or segment timestamps.”
    developers.openai.com

No language count is stated for gpt-transcribe; the guide gives a count only for Whisper (98).

GPT-Live-Transcribe

Speech-to-text - gpt-live-transcribe

Current
Price (provider's unit)

$0.017 / minute

“| gpt-live-transcribe | Live transcription | - | - | $0.017 / minute |”
developers.openai.com
Converted $/hour (our arithmetic)
  • $1.02converted from $0.017 per minute
Languages
Not stated
Streaming

Yes

“GPT Live Transcribe is a streaming speech-to-text model for applications that need low-latency transcript deltas from live audio.”
developers.openai.com
Max audio
Not stated
Status

current (no preview label)

“| Feb 26, 2027 | whisper-1 | gpt-live-transcribe or gpt-transcribe |”
developers.openai.com

Features

  • tunable latency, keyword and language hints

    “It supports tunable latency, unstructured context, keyword hints, and multiple language hints.”
    developers.openai.com

Named by OpenAI as the replacement for whisper-1 and the gpt-4o transcribe family. Endpoint: v1/realtime/transcription_sessions.

GPT-Realtime-Whisper

Speech-to-text - gpt-realtime-whisper

Current
Price (provider's unit)

$0.017 / minute

“| gpt-realtime-whisper | Live transcription | - | - | $0.017 / minute |”
developers.openai.com
Converted $/hour (our arithmetic)
  • $1.02converted from $0.017 per minute
Languages
Not stated
Streaming

Yes

“GPT-Realtime-Whisper is a streaming speech-to-text model for applications that need low-latency transcript deltas from live audio.”
developers.openai.com
Max audio
Not stated
Status

current (no preview label)

“GPT-Realtime-Whisper is priced by audio duration rather than text tokens.”
developers.openai.com

Model page lists a 16,000 context window and 2,000 max output tokens.

GPT-4o mini Transcribe

Speech-to-text - gpt-4o-mini-transcribe

Retiring 2027-02-26
Price (provider's unit)

$0.003 / minute ($1.25 input / $5.00 output per 1M tokens)

“| gpt-4o-mini-transcribe | Transcription | $1.25 | $5.00 | $0.003 / minute |”
developers.openai.com
Converted $/hour (our arithmetic)
  • $0.18converted from $0.003 per minute
Languages
Not stated
Streaming

Yes

“Existing gpt-4o-transcribe, gpt-4o-mini-transcribe, and gpt-4o-transcribe-diarize integrations also support file streaming. whisper-1 doesn't.”
developers.openai.com
Max audio

25 MB per file

“The Transcriptions API accepts files up to 25 MB.”
developers.openai.com
Status

deprecated (shutdown 2027-02-26)

“| Feb 26, 2027 | gpt-4o-mini-transcribe | gpt-live-transcribe or gpt-transcribe |”
developers.openai.com

Same shutdown date (2027-02-26) applies to whisper-1, gpt-4o-transcribe and gpt-4o-transcribe-diarize. The pricing page lists gpt-4o-transcribe at $0.006 / minute; whisper-1 and gpt-4o-transcribe-diarize no longer appear on it.

GPT-4o mini TTS

Text-to-speech - gpt-4o-mini-tts

Retiring 2027-01-06
Price (provider's unit)

$0.60 per 1M text input tokens; $12.00 per 1M audio output tokens

“Price $0.6•$12 Input•Output”
developers.openai.com

Note: Model page units: 'Text tokens Per 1M tokens Input $0.60' and 'Audio tokens Per 1M tokens Output $12.00'.

Languages

follows Whisper language support

“The TTS model generally follows the Whisper model in terms of language support.”
developers.openai.com
Streaming

Yes

“The Speech API provides support for realtime audio streaming using chunk transfer encoding.”
developers.openai.com
Limit per request

2,000 input tokens

“The maximum number of input tokens is 2000.”
developers.openai.com
Status

deprecated (shutdown 2027-01-06)

“| Jan 6, 2027 | gpt-4o-mini-tts-2025-12-15 | gpt-realtime-2.1-mini |”
developers.openai.com

Features

  • 13 built-in voices

    “The TTS endpoint provides 13 built‑in voices to control how speech is rendered from text.”
    developers.openai.com

    Note: The same guide's intro says the speech endpoint 'comes with 11 built-in voices'; the voice list under Voice options names 13.

  • custom voices (approval required)

    “Create an approved custom voice from a speaker's consent recording and matching audio sample.”
    developers.openai.com
  • steerable delivery via instructions

    “instructions="Speak in a cheerful and positive tone."”
    developers.openai.com

Every OpenAI TTS model is on the shutdown list: tts-1, tts-1-hd and both gpt-4o-mini-tts snapshots shut down Jan 6, 2027, with gpt-realtime-2.1-mini as the recommended replacement. tts-1 and tts-1-hd are not listed on the current pricing page. The TTS guide still calls gpt-4o-mini-tts 'our newest and most reliable text-to-speech model'.

GPT-Realtime-2.1

Realtime voice - gpt-realtime-2.1

Current
Price (provider's unit)

$32.00 per 1M audio input tokens; $0.40 cached; $64.00 per 1M audio output tokens

“| gpt-realtime-2.1 | Audio | $32.00 | $0.40 | $64.00 |”
developers.openai.com
Languages
Not stated
Streaming
Not stated
Limits
Not stated
Status

current (no preview label)

“| Jan 20, 2027 | gpt-realtime | gpt-realtime-2.1 |”
developers.openai.com

Features

  • speech-to-speech, tool use, reasoning effort

    “It supports speech-to-speech interactions with configurable reasoning effort, instruction following, and tool use for complex voice-agent workflows.”
    developers.openai.com

Text tokens: $4.00 in / $0.40 cached / $24.00 out per 1M. 128,000 context window. Streaming left null: the model page lists the v1/realtime endpoint but its Features block reads 'Streaming Not supported' (likely the Responses streaming flag); no sentence on the page states realtime audio streaming.

GPT-Realtime-2.1 Mini

Realtime voice - gpt-realtime-2.1-mini

Current
Price (provider's unit)

$10.00 per 1M audio input tokens; $0.30 cached; $20.00 per 1M audio output tokens

“| gpt-realtime-2.1-mini | Audio | $10.00 | $0.30 | $20.00 |”
developers.openai.com
Languages
Not stated
Streaming

Yes

“It supports audio and text inputs over WebRTC, WebSocket, or SIP connections and improves alphanumeric recognition over GPT-Realtime-2.”
developers.openai.com

Note: The model page's Features block separately reads 'Streaming Not supported'.

Limits
Not stated
Status

current (no preview label)

“| Jan 6, 2027 | tts-1 | gpt-realtime-2.1-mini |”
developers.openai.com

Named by OpenAI as the replacement for all TTS models.

GPT-Live 1

Realtime voice - gpt-live-1

Current
Price (provider's unit)

$0.05 per minute

“Voice sessions cost $0.05 per minute, billed per second. Backend model and tool usage is billed separately.”
developers.openai.com
Languages
Not stated
Streaming

Yes

“Streaming Supported Function calling Supported”
developers.openai.com
Limits
Not stated
Status

current (no preview label)

“| gpt-live-1 | $0.05 |”
developers.openai.com

Features

  • full-duplex voice

    “GPT-Live 1 is a full-duplex voice model for real-time conversations. It can listen and speak at the same time, and delegate reasoning and tool use to a backend agent.”
    developers.openai.com

Per-minute session price excludes backend model and tool usage.

FAQ

How much does OpenAI speech-to-text cost?

GPT-Transcribe: $0.0045 / minute. GPT-Live-Transcribe: $0.017 / minute. GPT-Realtime-Whisper: $0.017 / minute. GPT-4o mini Transcribe: $0.003 / minute ($1.25 input / $5.00 output per 1M tokens). Prices are in OpenAI's own units as of October 18, 2026.

How much does OpenAI text-to-speech cost?

GPT-4o mini TTS: $0.60 per 1M text input tokens; $12.00 per 1M audio output tokens. Prices are in OpenAI's own units as of October 18, 2026.

How much does OpenAI realtime voice cost?

GPT-Realtime-2.1: $32.00 per 1M audio input tokens; $0.40 cached; $64.00 per 1M audio output tokens. GPT-Realtime-2.1 Mini: $10.00 per 1M audio input tokens; $0.30 cached; $20.00 per 1M audio output tokens. GPT-Live 1: $0.05 per minute. Prices are in OpenAI's own units as of October 18, 2026.

Sources

Verified from each provider's own pricing pages and model docs; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Prices are shown in the provider's own unit. Values marked derived were counted by us or taken from Azure's Retail Prices API, not from a pricing page. Prices change without notice; check the linked source before you commit a budget to one.

Newsletter

Know when a speech API changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.