Framework comparison - verified
OpenAI Agents SDK vs Google Agent Development Kit (ADK)
OpenAI Agents SDK (OpenAI) and Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) (Google), compared field by field from their official docs as of October 18, 2026. Their docs differ on 3 points, listed below; the table also shows versions, install commands and links.
Key differences
- Languages: Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) lists Go, Java and Other and OpenAI Agents SDK does not.
- License: OpenAI Agents SDK uses MIT; Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) uses Apache-2.0.
- Evals: OpenAI Agents SDK does not state it in its docs; Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) documents it.
Generated from the fields below that differ. Versions, dates and links are left to the table.
Side by side
Every field we track, with the source linked on each value. Rows marked Differs are where the two frameworks' docs differ.
| Field | OpenAI Agents SDK | Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) |
|---|---|---|
| MaintainerDiffers | OpenAI | |
| LanguagesDiffers | Python, TypeScript | Python, TypeScript, Go, Java, Other |
| LicenseDiffers | MIT | Apache-2.0 |
| Latest versionsDiffers | Python: openai-agents 0.24.0 (2026-10-15); TypeScript: @openai/agents 0.20.0 (2026-10-08) | Python: google-adk 2.12.0 (2026-10-13); TypeScript: @google/adk 2.3.0 (2026-10-13); Go: google.golang.org/adk/v2 v2.6.0 (2026-10-13); Java: com.google.adk:google-adk 1.12.0 (2026-10-14); Kotlin: com.google.adk:google-adk-kotlin-core-jvm 1.4.0 (2026-10-14) |
| MCP | Yes | Yes |
| Multi-agent | Yes | Yes |
| Durable execution | Yes | Yes |
| Human in the loop | Yes | Yes |
| Streaming | Yes | Yes |
| Structured output | Yes | Yes |
| Tracing | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| EvalsDiffers | Not stated | Yes |
| Model-agnostic | Yes | Yes |
| Install commands listedDiffers | 2 (Python and TypeScript) | 5 (Python, TypeScript, Go, Java and Kotlin) |
| Quickstart snippet | Python snippet published | Python snippet published |
| What it is, per its docsDiffers | The OpenAI Agents SDK is an open-source Python and TypeScript framework from OpenAI for building multi-agent workflows from a small set of primitives: agents, agents as tools or handoffs, and guardrails, with built-in tracing. | Agent Development Kit (ADK) is Google's open-source, code-first framework for building, evaluating, and deploying AI agents, available in Python, TypeScript, Go, Java, and Kotlin, optimized for Gemini and described by its docs as model-agnostic. |
| HomepageDiffers | openai.github.io/openai-agents-python | adk.dev |
| Source repositoryDiffers | github.com/openai/openai-agents-python | github.com/google/adk-python |
Install both
Copied verbatim from the page linked under each command.
OpenAI Agents SDK
Python
pip install openai-agentsTypeScript
npm install @openai/agents zodGoogle Agent Development Kit (ADK)
Python
pip install google-adkSource: adk.dev
TypeScript
npm install @google/adkSource: adk.dev
Go
go get google.golang.org/adk/v2Source: adk.dev
Java
<dependency>
<groupId>com.google.adk</groupId>
<artifactId>google-adk</artifactId>
<version>1.12.0</version>
</dependency>Source: github.com/google/adk-java
Kotlin
implementation("com.google.adk:google-adk-kotlin-core:1.4.0")Source: github.com/google/adk-kotlin
FAQ
What is the difference between OpenAI Agents SDK and Google Agent Development Kit (ADK)?
Going by their official docs: Languages: Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) lists Go, Java and Other and OpenAI Agents SDK does not. License: OpenAI Agents SDK uses MIT; Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) uses Apache-2.0. Evals: OpenAI Agents SDK does not state it in its docs; Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) documents it.
Do OpenAI Agents SDK and Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) both support MCP?
OpenAI Agents SDK: yes. Google Agent Development Kit (ADK): yes. "Not stated" means the docs do not say.
Which languages do OpenAI Agents SDK and Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) support?
OpenAI Agents SDK: Python, TypeScript. Google Agent Development Kit (ADK): Python, TypeScript, Go, Java, Other. Both list Python and TypeScript.
What licenses do OpenAI Agents SDK and Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) use?
OpenAI Agents SDK: MIT. Google Agent Development Kit (ADK): Apache-2.0.
Do OpenAI Agents SDK and Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) support durable execution and human in the loop?
Durable execution: OpenAI Agents SDK yes, Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) yes. Human in the loop: OpenAI Agents SDK yes, Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) yes. "Not stated" means the docs do not say.
What are the latest versions of OpenAI Agents SDK and Google Agent Development Kit (ADK)?
As of October 18, 2026: OpenAI Agents SDK Python package openai-agents 0.24.0 (October 15, 2026) and TypeScript package @openai/agents 0.20.0 (October 8, 2026); Google Agent Development Kit (ADK) Python package google-adk 2.12.0 (October 13, 2026), TypeScript package @google/adk 2.3.0 (October 13, 2026), Go package google.golang.org/adk/v2 v2.6.0 (October 13, 2026), Java package com.google.adk:google-adk 1.12.0 (October 14, 2026) and Kotlin package com.google.adk:google-adk-kotlin-core-jvm 1.4.0 (October 14, 2026).
More comparisons
- LangGraph vs Google Agent Development Kit (ADK)
- Strands Agents vs OpenAI Agents SDK
- Claude Agent SDK vs Google Agent Development Kit (ADK)
- OpenAI Agents SDK vs Claude Agent SDKArticle
- Claude Agent SDK vs OpenAI Agents SDKTool comparison
- LangChain vs OpenAI Agents SDKTool comparison
- All agent frameworks in one tableFeature matrix
Newsletter
Agent frameworks, every week
One email per week. Framework releases, new agent tooling and what they mean for what you build.