Framework comparison - verified
Strands Agents vs OpenAI Agents SDK
Strands Agents (Strands Agents open-source project (AWS)) and OpenAI Agents SDK (OpenAI), compared field by field from their official docs as of October 18, 2026. Their docs differ on 2 points, listed below; the table also shows versions, install commands and links.
Key differences
- License: Strands Agents uses Apache-2.0; OpenAI Agents SDK uses MIT.
- Evals: Strands Agents documents it; OpenAI Agents SDK does not state it in its docs.
Generated from the fields below that differ. Versions, dates and links are left to the table.
Side by side
Every field we track, with the source linked on each value. Rows marked Differs are where the two frameworks' docs differ.
| Field | Strands Agents | OpenAI Agents SDK |
|---|---|---|
| MaintainerDiffers | Strands Agents open-source project (AWS) | OpenAI |
| Languages | Python, TypeScript | Python, TypeScript |
| LicenseDiffers | Apache-2.0 | MIT |
| Latest versionsDiffers | Python: strands-agents 1.61.1 (2026-10-15); TypeScript: @strands-agents/sdk 1.21.0 (2026-10-14) | Python: openai-agents 0.24.0 (2026-10-15); TypeScript: @openai/agents 0.20.0 (2026-10-08) |
| MCP | Yes | Yes |
| Multi-agent | Yes | Yes |
| Durable execution | Yes | Yes |
| Human in the loop | Yes | Yes |
| Streaming | Yes | Yes |
| Structured output | Yes | Yes |
| Tracing | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| EvalsDiffers | Yes | Not stated |
| Model-agnostic | Yes | Yes |
| Install commands listedDiffers | 4 (Python and TypeScript) | 2 (Python and TypeScript) |
| Quickstart snippet | Python snippet published | Python snippet published |
| What it is, per its docsDiffers | Strands Agents is an open-source SDK for building and running AI agents in Python and TypeScript inside your own process, with no hosted control plane, plus an optional preassembled agent harness. | The OpenAI Agents SDK is an open-source Python and TypeScript framework from OpenAI for building multi-agent workflows from a small set of primitives: agents, agents as tools or handoffs, and guardrails, with built-in tracing. |
| HomepageDiffers | strandsagents.com | openai.github.io/openai-agents-python |
| Source repositoryDiffers | github.com/strands-agents/harness-sdk | github.com/openai/openai-agents-python |
Install both
Copied verbatim from the page linked under each command.
Strands Agents
Python
pip install strands-agents strands-agents-toolsSource: github.com/strands-agents/harness-sdk/blob/main/README.md
pip install strands-harnessSource: github.com/strands-agents/harness-sdk/blob/main/README.md
TypeScript
npm install @strands-agents/sdkSource: github.com/strands-agents/harness-sdk/blob/main/README.md
npm install @strands-agents/harnessSource: github.com/strands-agents/harness-sdk/blob/main/README.md
OpenAI Agents SDK
Python
pip install openai-agentsTypeScript
npm install @openai/agents zodFAQ
What is the difference between Strands Agents and OpenAI Agents SDK?
Going by their official docs: License: Strands Agents uses Apache-2.0; OpenAI Agents SDK uses MIT. Evals: Strands Agents documents it; OpenAI Agents SDK does not state it in its docs.
Do Strands Agents and OpenAI Agents SDK both support MCP?
Strands Agents: yes. OpenAI Agents SDK: yes. "Not stated" means the docs do not say.
Which languages do Strands Agents and OpenAI Agents SDK support?
Strands Agents: Python, TypeScript. OpenAI Agents SDK: Python, TypeScript. Both list Python and TypeScript.
What licenses do Strands Agents and OpenAI Agents SDK use?
Strands Agents: Apache-2.0. OpenAI Agents SDK: MIT.
Do Strands Agents and OpenAI Agents SDK support durable execution and human in the loop?
Durable execution: Strands Agents yes, OpenAI Agents SDK yes. Human in the loop: Strands Agents yes, OpenAI Agents SDK yes. "Not stated" means the docs do not say.
What are the latest versions of Strands Agents and OpenAI Agents SDK?
As of October 18, 2026: Strands Agents Python package strands-agents 1.61.1 (October 15, 2026) and TypeScript package @strands-agents/sdk 1.21.0 (October 14, 2026); OpenAI Agents SDK Python package openai-agents 0.24.0 (October 15, 2026) and TypeScript package @openai/agents 0.20.0 (October 8, 2026).
More comparisons
Newsletter
Agent frameworks, every week
One email per week. Framework releases, new agent tooling and what they mean for what you build.