Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Local models - hardware - verified

Which local LLMs fit your GPU or Mac?

33 GPUs, Macs and AI systems from NVIDIA, AMD and Apple, with memory and bandwidth from each vendor's spec page, and how many of the 63 open-weight models in this directory fit in each one's memory. That runs from 13 models with 8 GB (RTX 5060 Ti 8GB) to 55 with 512 GB (Mac Studio M5 Ultra).

Know your memory but not the model? Browse every local model by memory tier, download size and license.

Devices
33
Vendors
3
Memory range
8-512 GB
Unified memory
10

NVIDIA

16 devices

Consumer GPUs

NVIDIA consumer gpus: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemoryTypeBandwidthModels that fit
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 509032 GBGDDR71,792 GB/s30 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 508016 GBGDDR7960 GB/s18 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti16 GBGDDR7896 GB/s18 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 507012 GBGDDR7672 GB/s17 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Ti 16GB16 GBGDDR7448 GB/s18 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Ti 8GB8 GBGDDR7448 GB/s13 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 409024 GBGDDR6X1,008 GB/s28 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4080 SUPER16 GBGDDR6XNot stated18 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Ti SUPER16 GBGDDR6XNot stated18 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Ti 16GB16 GBGDDR6Not stated18 / 63
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 309024 GBGDDR6XNot stated28 / 63

Desktop AI systems

NVIDIA desktop ai systems: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemory (options)TypeBandwidthModels that fit
NVIDIA DGX Spark64 or 128 GBLPDDR5X unified273 GB/s42 / 63
NVIDIA DGX Station (GB300)252 GBHBM3E7,100 GB/s46 / 63

Workstation GPUs

NVIDIA workstation gpus: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemory (options)TypeBandwidthModels that fit
NVIDIA RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Workstation Edition96 GBGDDR7 with ECC1,792 GB/s42 / 63
NVIDIA RTX PRO 5000 Blackwell48 or 72 GBGDDR7 with ECC1,344 GB/s33 / 63
NVIDIA RTX 6000 Ada Generation48 GBGDDR6 with ECC960 GB/s32 / 63

AMD

9 devices

Consumer GPUs

AMD consumer gpus: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemoryTypeBandwidthModels that fit
AMD Radeon RX 9070 XT16 GBGDDR6640 GB/s18 / 63
AMD Radeon RX 907016 GBGDDR6640 GB/s18 / 63
AMD Radeon RX 7900 XTX24 GBGDDR6960 GB/s28 / 63

Laptop processors

AMD laptop processors: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemoryTypeBandwidthModels that fit
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395128 GBLPDDR5x unified (256-bit)Not stated42 / 63

Workstation GPUs

AMD workstation gpus: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemoryTypeBandwidthModels that fit
AMD Radeon AI PRO R970032 GBGDDR6640 GB/s30 / 63
AMD Radeon PRO W790048 GBGDDR6864 GB/s32 / 63

Data center GPUs

AMD data center gpus: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemoryTypeBandwidthModels that fit
AMD Instinct MI300X192 GBHBM35,300 GB/s43 / 63
AMD Instinct MI325X256 GBHBM3E6,000 GB/s48 / 63
AMD Instinct MI355X288 GBHBM3E8,000 GB/s49 / 63

Apple

8 devices

Macs

Apple macs: memory, memory type, bandwidth and how many local models fit
DeviceMemory (options)TypeBandwidthModels that fit
MacBook Air (M5, 13-inch and 15-inch)16, 24 or 32 GBUnified memory153 GB/s30 / 63
MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5)16, 24 or 32 GBUnified memory153 GB/s30 / 63
MacBook Pro 14-inch and 16-inch (M5 Pro)24, 48 or 64 GBUnified memory307 GB/s33 / 63
MacBook Pro 14-inch and 16-inch (M5 Max)36, 48, 64 or 128 GBUnified memory614 GB/s42 / 63
Mac mini (M6)16, 24 or 32 GBUnified memory170 GB/s30 / 63
Mac mini (M5 Pro)24, 48 or 64 GBUnified memory307 GB/s33 / 63
Mac Studio (M5 Max)36, 48, 64 or 128 GBUnified memory614 GB/s42 / 63
Mac Studio (M5 Ultra)96, 256 or 512 GBUnified memory1,200 GB/s55 / 63

Models that fit are counted at each device's largest memory configuration, out of the 63 models in the local models directory. Bandwidth is shown as the vendor states it.

Method

What fits means here

Device specs read on . Model file sizes come from the local models directory, so a device page and the matching memory tier never disagree.

Specs from the vendor
Memory, memory type and bandwidth come from NVIDIA, AMD and Apple spec pages, and every device page links the page it was read from. Where a spec page states no bandwidth, the table says Not stated instead of borrowing a figure.
The 85% rule of thumb
A model fits when its smallest download the device can run is at most 85% of the device's memory, the same 85% the /local-models/fits pages use. Devices are counted at their largest memory configuration; device pages break it down per configuration.
MLX counts on Macs only
MLX builds run on Apple silicon only, so NVIDIA and AMD devices count GGUF, FP8 and official-weight downloads and skip MLX. A Mac counts every format, so its list matches the memory tier page; a GPU page can list a few fewer models and says which ones fit only as MLX.
Discrete vs unified memory
On a discrete GPU, fits means the whole download sits in VRAM, with no layers offloaded to system RAM. On unified-memory systems (Macs, DGX Spark, Ryzen AI Max) the operating system and your apps share that memory with the model.
Nothing about speed
Fitting in memory says nothing about how fast a model runs. These pages do not measure or estimate speed, and bandwidth is listed as the vendor states it, not converted into a speed figure.

FAQ

How many local models fit on a 24 GB GPU like the RTX 4090?

28 of 63 by this directory's rule of thumb: the smallest download the card can run (GGUF, FP8 or the official weights; MLX builds do not count on a GPU) has to be at most 20.4 GB, 85% of 24 GB. The 24 GB cards in this list are RTX 4090, RTX 3090 and Radeon RX 7900 XTX. The largest by total parameters that fits is Cohere Aya Expanse 32B.

What can an 8 GB or 16 GB graphics card run?

13 models fit in 8 GB and 18 in 16 GB, counting only downloads a graphics card can run. The largest by total parameters are Qwen3.5-9B at 8 GB and gpt-oss-20b at 16 GB. Each device page lists every one with its smallest download and license.

Which device here fits the most models?

The Mac Studio M5 Ultra at up to 512 GB, with 55 of 63. The other 8 have a smallest listed download too big for any single device in this list.

Does unified memory on a Mac count the same as VRAM?

The rule is the same: a model fits when its smallest download is at most 85% of the memory. A Mac can also run MLX builds, which are sometimes the smallest download, so a Mac can list a few more models than a GPU with the same memory. On a Mac, or any unified-memory system, the operating system and your apps share that memory with the model, so the 15% headroom matters more. The 8 Macs here are listed at their largest configuration, and each Mac page shows how the list changes for every configuration Apple sells.

Does fitting in memory mean a model runs fast?

No. These pages only check whether the download fits in memory. They do not measure or estimate speed.

Where do the memory and bandwidth numbers come from?

From NVIDIA, AMD and Apple spec pages, read on October 18, 2026; every device page links its source. The spec pages for 5 devices (RTX 4080 SUPER, RTX 4070 Ti SUPER, RTX 4060 Ti 16GB, RTX 3090 and Ryzen AI Max+ 395) state no bandwidth figure, so those show Not stated rather than a number from elsewhere.

Newsletter

New open weights, every week

One email per week. New model releases, open-weight drops and what they mean for what you build.