Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Runtime comparison - verified

Microsoft Foundry Local vs Ollama

Microsoft Foundry Local (Microsoft) and Ollama, compared field by field from their official docs as of October 18, 2026. Their docs differ on 8 feature points, listed below; the table also shows versions, install methods and links.

Key differences

  • License: Ollama is open source (MIT); Microsoft Foundry Local is not (Microsoft Software License Terms for the CLI, MIT for the SDK).
  • Interface: Microsoft Foundry Local lists Python library and Ollama does not; Ollama lists Desktop app and Docker and Microsoft Foundry Local does not.
  • Backends: Microsoft Foundry Local lists NPU and Other and Ollama does not; Ollama lists ROCm, Metal and Vulkan and Microsoft Foundry Local does not.
  • Model formats: Microsoft Foundry Local lists ONNX and Ollama does not; Ollama lists GGUF and Safetensors and Microsoft Foundry Local does not.
  • Anthropic-compatible API: Microsoft Foundry Local does not state it in its docs; Ollama documents it.
  • Structured outputs: Microsoft Foundry Local does not state it in its docs; Ollama documents it.
  • Vision (image input): Microsoft Foundry Local does not state it in its docs; Ollama documents it.
  • Multi-GPU: Microsoft Foundry Local does not state it in its docs; Ollama documents it.

Generated from the fields below that differ. Versions, dates and links are left to the table.

Side by side

Every field we track, with the source linked on each value. Rows marked Differs are where the two runtimes' docs differ.

Microsoft Foundry Local and Ollama compared field by field; rows marked Differs are where their docs differ
FieldMicrosoft Foundry LocalOllama
VendorDiffersMicrosoftOllama
LicenseDiffersMicrosoft Software License Terms for the CLI, MIT for the SDKMIT
Open sourceDiffersNoYes
Latest releaseDiffersv2.1.0v0.40.6
Release dateDiffersSeptember 30, 2026October 16, 2026
InterfaceDiffersCLI, Server, Python libraryCLI, Server, Desktop app, Docker
PlatformsWindows, macOS, LinuxmacOS, Windows, Linux
BackendsDiffersCPU, CUDA, NPU, OtherCPU, CUDA, ROCm, Metal, Vulkan
Model formatsDiffersONNXGGUF, Safetensors
OpenAI-compatible APIYesOptional OpenAI-compatible local server started with `foundry server start` (or `start_web_service()` in the SDK); no fixed default port is documented, `--port <port>` sets one and `foundry server status` confirms itYeshttp://localhost:11434/v1
Anthropic-compatible APIDiffersNot statedYes
Tool callingYesYes
Structured outputsDiffersNot statedYes
Vision (image input)DiffersNot statedYes
Multi-GPUDiffersNot statedYes
MCP clientNot statedNot stated
Install methods listedDifferswindows; macos; python; javascriptmacOS; Windows; Linux; Docker (CPU only)
Run exampleDiffersfoundry run qwen2.5-0.5bollama run gemma4
Audience, per the vendorDiffersDevelopers who want to ship on-device AI inside their own applications using native SDKs, a curated catalog of optimized ONNX models and automatic NPU, GPU or CPU acceleration for a single user per device.Developers who want to download and run open models from the command line, with a local REST API on port 11434 and built-in launchers for coding agents such as Claude Code and Codex.
HomepageDifferslearn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/foundry-localollama.com
Source repositoryDiffersgithub.com/microsoft/Foundry-Localgithub.com/ollama/ollama

Install both

Copied verbatim from the page linked under each command.

Microsoft Foundry Local

windows

Terminal
winget install Microsoft.FoundryLocal

Source: learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/foundry-local/reference/reference-cli

macos

Terminal
brew tap microsoft/foundrylocal
brew install foundrylocal

Source: learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/foundry-local/reference/reference-cli

python

Terminal
pip install foundry-local-sdk

Source: github.com/microsoft/Foundry-Local#-quickstart

javascript

Terminal
npm install foundry-local-sdk

Source: github.com/microsoft/Foundry-Local#-quickstart

Ollama

macOS

Terminal
curl -fsSL https://ollama.com/install.sh | sh

Source: github.com/ollama/ollama

Windows

Terminal
irm https://ollama.com/install.ps1 | iex

Source: github.com/ollama/ollama

Linux

Terminal
curl -fsSL https://ollama.com/install.sh | sh

Source: docs.ollama.com/linux

Docker (CPU only)

Terminal
docker run -d -v ollama:/root/.ollama -p 11434:11434 --name ollama ollama/ollama

Source: docs.ollama.com/docker

FAQ

What is the difference between Microsoft Foundry Local and Ollama?

Going by their official docs: License: Ollama is open source (MIT); Microsoft Foundry Local is not (Microsoft Software License Terms for the CLI, MIT for the SDK). Interface: Microsoft Foundry Local lists Python library and Ollama does not; Ollama lists Desktop app and Docker and Microsoft Foundry Local does not. Backends: Microsoft Foundry Local lists NPU and Other and Ollama does not; Ollama lists ROCm, Metal and Vulkan and Microsoft Foundry Local does not. Model formats: Microsoft Foundry Local lists ONNX and Ollama does not; Ollama lists GGUF and Safetensors and Microsoft Foundry Local does not. The table lists 4 more.

Do Microsoft Foundry Local and Ollama both have an OpenAI-compatible API?

Microsoft Foundry Local: yes. Optional OpenAI-compatible local server started with `foundry server start` (or `start_web_service()` in the SDK); no fixed default port is documented, `--port <port>` sets one and `foundry server status` confirms it. Ollama: yes. http://localhost:11434/v1.

Which platforms do Microsoft Foundry Local and Ollama run on?

Microsoft Foundry Local: Windows, macOS, Linux. Ollama: macOS, Windows, Linux. Both list Windows, macOS and Linux.

Are Microsoft Foundry Local and Ollama open source?

Microsoft Foundry Local is not open source (Microsoft Software License Terms for the CLI, MIT for the SDK). Ollama is open source (MIT).

Do Microsoft Foundry Local and Ollama support tool calling and MCP?

Tool calling: Microsoft Foundry Local yes, Ollama yes. MCP client: Microsoft Foundry Local not stated, Ollama not stated. "Not stated" means the docs do not say.

What are the latest versions of Microsoft Foundry Local and Ollama?

As of October 18, 2026: Microsoft Foundry Local v2.1.0 (September 30, 2026) and Ollama v0.40.6 (October 16, 2026).

More comparisons

Newsletter

Local AI, every week

One email per week. New model releases, runtime updates and what they mean for what you build.