Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Runtime comparison - verified

Ollama vs Docker Model Runner

Ollama and Docker Model Runner (Docker), compared field by field from their official docs as of October 18, 2026. Their docs differ on 3 feature points, listed below; the table also shows versions, install methods and links.

Key differences

  • License: Ollama uses MIT; Docker Model Runner uses Apache-2.0.
  • Backends: Docker Model Runner lists Other and Ollama does not.
  • Model formats: Docker Model Runner lists Other and Ollama does not.

Generated from the fields below that differ. Versions, dates and links are left to the table.

Side by side

Every field we track, with the source linked on each value. Rows marked Differs are where the two runtimes' docs differ.

Ollama and Docker Model Runner compared field by field; rows marked Differs are where their docs differ
FieldOllamaDocker Model Runner
VendorDiffersOllamaDocker
LicenseDiffersMITApache-2.0
Open sourceYesYes
Latest releaseDiffersv0.40.6v1.2.8
Release dateDiffersOctober 16, 2026August 12, 2026
InterfaceCLI, Server, Desktop app, DockerCLI, Desktop app, Server, Docker
PlatformsmacOS, Windows, LinuxmacOS, Windows, Linux
BackendsDiffersCPU, CUDA, ROCm, Metal, VulkanCPU, CUDA, ROCm, Metal, Vulkan, Other
Model formatsDiffersGGUF, SafetensorsGGUF, Safetensors, Other
OpenAI-compatible APIYeshttp://localhost:11434/v1Yeshttp://localhost:12434/engines/v1
Anthropic-compatible APIYesYes
Tool callingYesYes
Structured outputsYesYes
Vision (image input)YesYes
Multi-GPUYesYes
MCP clientNot statedNot stated
Install methods listedDiffersmacOS; Windows; Linux; Docker (CPU only)linux (Ubuntu/Debian, Docker Engine); linux (RPM-based, Docker Engine); macos (arm64, standalone dmr); windows (amd64, standalone dmr)
Run exampleDiffersollama run gemma4docker model run ai/smollm2
Audience, per the vendorDiffersDevelopers who want to download and run open models from the command line, with a local REST API on port 11434 and built-in launchers for coding agents such as Claude Code and Codex.Docker Model Runner is for developers who want to pull, run and serve AI models with Docker tooling from Docker Hub, any OCI-compliant registry or Hugging Face.
HomepageDiffersollama.comdocs.docker.com/ai/model-runner
Source repositoryDiffersgithub.com/ollama/ollamagithub.com/docker/model-runner

Install both

Copied verbatim from the page linked under each command.

Ollama

macOS

Terminal
curl -fsSL https://ollama.com/install.sh | sh

Source: github.com/ollama/ollama

Windows

Terminal
irm https://ollama.com/install.ps1 | iex

Source: github.com/ollama/ollama

Linux

Terminal
curl -fsSL https://ollama.com/install.sh | sh

Source: docs.ollama.com/linux

Docker (CPU only)

Terminal
docker run -d -v ollama:/root/.ollama -p 11434:11434 --name ollama ollama/ollama

Source: docs.ollama.com/docker

Docker Model Runner

linux (Ubuntu/Debian, Docker Engine)

Terminal
sudo apt-get install docker-model-plugin

Source: docs.docker.com/ai/model-runner/get-started

linux (RPM-based, Docker Engine)

Terminal
sudo dnf install docker-model-plugin

Source: docs.docker.com/ai/model-runner/get-started

macos (arm64, standalone dmr)

Terminal
brew install docker/tap/dmr

Source: github.com/docker/model-runner

windows (amd64, standalone dmr)

Terminal
winget install Docker.dmr

Source: github.com/docker/model-runner

FAQ

What is the difference between Ollama and Docker Model Runner?

Going by their official docs: License: Ollama uses MIT; Docker Model Runner uses Apache-2.0. Backends: Docker Model Runner lists Other and Ollama does not. Model formats: Docker Model Runner lists Other and Ollama does not.

Do Ollama and Docker Model Runner both have an OpenAI-compatible API?

Ollama: yes. http://localhost:11434/v1. Docker Model Runner: yes. http://localhost:12434/engines/v1.

Which platforms do Ollama and Docker Model Runner run on?

Ollama: macOS, Windows, Linux. Docker Model Runner: macOS, Windows, Linux. Both list macOS, Windows and Linux.

Are Ollama and Docker Model Runner open source?

Ollama is open source (MIT). Docker Model Runner is open source (Apache-2.0).

Do Ollama and Docker Model Runner support tool calling and MCP?

Tool calling: Ollama yes, Docker Model Runner yes. MCP client: Ollama not stated, Docker Model Runner not stated. "Not stated" means the docs do not say.

What are the latest versions of Ollama and Docker Model Runner?

As of October 18, 2026: Ollama v0.40.6 (October 16, 2026) and Docker Model Runner v1.2.8 (August 12, 2026).

More comparisons

Newsletter

Local AI, every week

One email per week. New model releases, runtime updates and what they mean for what you build.