Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Runtime comparison - verified

Ollama vs LocalAI

Ollama and LocalAI (LocalAI team (Ettore Di Giacinto)), compared field by field from their official docs as of October 18, 2026. Their docs differ on 3 feature points, listed below; the table also shows versions, install methods and links.

Key differences

  • Backends: LocalAI lists SYCL and Ollama does not.
  • Model formats: LocalAI lists MLX and Ollama does not.
  • MCP client: Ollama does not state it in its docs; LocalAI documents it.

Generated from the fields below that differ. Versions, dates and links are left to the table.

Side by side

Every field we track, with the source linked on each value. Rows marked Differs are where the two runtimes' docs differ.

Ollama and LocalAI compared field by field; rows marked Differs are where their docs differ
FieldOllamaLocalAI
VendorDiffersOllamaLocalAI team (Ettore Di Giacinto)
LicenseMITMIT
Open sourceYesYes
Latest releaseDiffersv0.40.6v4.11.0
Release dateDiffersOctober 16, 2026October 2, 2026
InterfaceCLI, Server, Desktop app, DockerCLI, Server, Docker, Desktop app
PlatformsmacOS, Windows, LinuxmacOS, Linux, Windows
BackendsDiffersCPU, CUDA, ROCm, Metal, VulkanCPU, CUDA, ROCm, SYCL, Metal, Vulkan
Model formatsDiffersGGUF, SafetensorsGGUF, Safetensors, MLX
OpenAI-compatible APIYeshttp://localhost:11434/v1Yeshttp://localhost:8080 (chat completions at http://localhost:8080/v1/chat/completions)
Anthropic-compatible APIYesYes
Tool callingYesYes
Structured outputsYesYes
Vision (image input)YesYes
Multi-GPUYesYes
MCP clientDiffersNot statedYes
Install methods listedDiffersmacOS; Windows; Linux; Docker (CPU only)docker (CPU only); docker (NVIDIA CUDA 12); docker (AMD ROCm); docker (Vulkan)
Run exampleDiffersollama run gemma4local-ai run llama-3.2-1b-instruct:q4_k_m
Audience, per the vendorDiffersDevelopers who want to download and run open models from the command line, with a local REST API on port 11434 and built-in launchers for coding agents such as Claude Code and Codex.LocalAI is an open-source, self-hosted engine that serves LLMs and other model types through OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible APIs on CPU-only or GPU hardware.
HomepageDiffersollama.comlocalai.io
Source repositoryDiffersgithub.com/ollama/ollamagithub.com/mudler/LocalAI

Install both

Copied verbatim from the page linked under each command.

Ollama

macOS

Terminal
curl -fsSL https://ollama.com/install.sh | sh

Source: github.com/ollama/ollama

Windows

Terminal
irm https://ollama.com/install.ps1 | iex

Source: github.com/ollama/ollama

Linux

Terminal
curl -fsSL https://ollama.com/install.sh | sh

Source: docs.ollama.com/linux

Docker (CPU only)

Terminal
docker run -d -v ollama:/root/.ollama -p 11434:11434 --name ollama ollama/ollama

Source: docs.ollama.com/docker

LocalAI

docker (CPU only)

Terminal
docker run -ti --name local-ai -p 8080:8080 localai/localai:latest

Source: github.com/mudler/LocalAI

docker (NVIDIA CUDA 12)

Terminal
docker run -ti --name local-ai -p 8080:8080 --gpus all localai/localai:latest-gpu-nvidia-cuda-12

Source: github.com/mudler/LocalAI

docker (AMD ROCm)

Terminal
docker run -ti --name local-ai -p 8080:8080 --device=/dev/kfd --device=/dev/dri --group-add=video localai/localai:latest-gpu-hipblas

Source: github.com/mudler/LocalAI

docker (Vulkan)

Terminal
docker run -ti --name local-ai -p 8080:8080 localai/localai:latest-gpu-vulkan

Source: github.com/mudler/LocalAI

FAQ

What is the difference between Ollama and LocalAI?

Going by their official docs: Backends: LocalAI lists SYCL and Ollama does not. Model formats: LocalAI lists MLX and Ollama does not. MCP client: Ollama does not state it in its docs; LocalAI documents it.

Do Ollama and LocalAI both have an OpenAI-compatible API?

Ollama: yes. http://localhost:11434/v1. LocalAI: yes. http://localhost:8080 (chat completions at http://localhost:8080/v1/chat/completions).

Which platforms do Ollama and LocalAI run on?

Ollama: macOS, Windows, Linux. LocalAI: macOS, Linux, Windows. Both list macOS, Windows and Linux.

Are Ollama and LocalAI open source?

Ollama is open source (MIT). LocalAI is open source (MIT).

Do Ollama and LocalAI support tool calling and MCP?

Tool calling: Ollama yes, LocalAI yes. MCP client: Ollama not stated, LocalAI yes. "Not stated" means the docs do not say.

What are the latest versions of Ollama and LocalAI?

As of October 18, 2026: Ollama v0.40.6 (October 16, 2026) and LocalAI v4.11.0 (October 2, 2026).

More comparisons

Newsletter

Local AI, every week

One email per week. New model releases, runtime updates and what they mean for what you build.