Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

OpenAI - API - verified

text-embedding-3-large embeddings

text-embedding-3-large is a current embedding model from OpenAI, called by API as text-embedding-3-large. It returns 3,072-dimension vectors by default and accepts up to 8,192 input tokens, for text input. The first-party list price is $0.13 per 1M input tokens.

CurrentModel id: text-embedding-3-large

Default dims
3,072
Max input
8,192 tok
Price / 1M
$0.13
Inputs
Text

Dimensions

Flexible output size
  • 3,072default

Default output: 3,072 dimensions.

OpenAI documents shorter output vectors for this model (Matryoshka-style), so you can store smaller embeddings by asking for fewer dimensions instead of re-embedding with another model.

Pricing

Per 1M input tokens
$0.13
Batch, per 1M
Not stated

Standard input price per 1M tokens; no separate Batch embedding rate is listed on the pricing page.

Source: developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricing

Usage

The sources read for this directory publish no copyable snippet for text-embedding-3-large. Call it with the model id text-embedding-3-large as shown in the provider docs linked under Sources.

Worth knowing

OpenAI describes it as its most capable embedding model for both English and non-English tasks, and the dimensions parameter can shorten its 3072-dimension vectors (for example to 1024 or 256).

Release date not stated in the sources. Multilingual: yes.

FAQ

How many dimensions does text-embedding-3-large output?

Default output: 3,072 dimensions. OpenAI documents shorter output vectors for this model (Matryoshka-style), so you can store smaller embeddings by asking for fewer dimensions instead of re-embedding with another model.

What is the max input length of text-embedding-3-large?

8,192 tokens per input, per OpenAI's documentation. Longer text has to be chunked before you embed it.

How much does text-embedding-3-large cost?

The first-party list price is $0.13 per 1M input tokens. Standard input price per 1M tokens; no separate Batch embedding rate is listed on the pricing page. Source: https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricing.

What can text-embedding-3-large embed?

Text input, per the provider. It is documented as multilingual.

Sources

Last verified from the pages below.

More OpenAI embedding models

Default dimensions, max input tokens and list price per 1M tokens.

OpenAI API modelsPrices per 1M tokens, context windows and specs for every OpenAI model in the API registry.

All embedding models

Newsletter

New models, every week

One email per week. New model releases, embedding and retrieval updates and what they mean for what you build.