OpenAI - API - verified
text-embedding-3-small embeddings
text-embedding-3-small is a current embedding model from OpenAI, called by API as text-embedding-3-small. It returns 1,536-dimension vectors by default and accepts up to 8,192 input tokens, for text input. The first-party list price is $0.02 per 1M input tokens.
CurrentModel id: text-embedding-3-small
- Default dims
- 1,536
- Max input
- 8,192 tok
- Price / 1M
- $0.02
- Inputs
- Text
Dimensions
Flexible output size- 1,536default
Default output: 1,536 dimensions.
OpenAI documents shorter output vectors for this model (Matryoshka-style), so you can store smaller embeddings by asking for fewer dimensions instead of re-embedding with another model.
Pricing
- Per 1M input tokens
- $0.02
- Batch, per 1M
- Not stated
Standard input price per 1M tokens; no separate Batch embedding rate is listed on the pricing page.
Usage
Copied verbatim from the page linked below. Placeholders such as project ids and API keys are the source's own.
from openai import OpenAI
client = OpenAI()
response = client.embeddings.create(
input="Your text string goes here", model="text-embedding-3-small"
)
print(response.data[0].embedding)Worth knowing
OpenAI's guide notes the v3 embedding models lack knowledge of events after September 2021, and the dimensions parameter shortens vectors without losing their concept-representing properties.
Release date not stated in the sources. Multilingual: not stated.
FAQ
How many dimensions does text-embedding-3-small output?
Default output: 1,536 dimensions. OpenAI documents shorter output vectors for this model (Matryoshka-style), so you can store smaller embeddings by asking for fewer dimensions instead of re-embedding with another model.
What is the max input length of text-embedding-3-small?
8,192 tokens per input, per OpenAI's documentation. Longer text has to be chunked before you embed it.
How much does text-embedding-3-small cost?
The first-party list price is $0.02 per 1M input tokens. Standard input price per 1M tokens; no separate Batch embedding rate is listed on the pricing page. Source: https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricing.
What can text-embedding-3-small embed?
Text input, per the provider.
Sources
Last verified from the pages below.
- OpenAI model page - developers.openai.com
- OpenAI embeddings guide - developers.openai.com
- OpenAI pricing - developers.openai.com
More OpenAI embedding models
Default dimensions, max input tokens and list price per 1M tokens.
Newsletter
New models, every week
One email per week. New model releases, embedding and retrieval updates and what they mean for what you build.
Keep exploring
Model API pricing and specs
First-party prices per 1M tokens for chat and reasoning models.
Local models
Open-weight LLMs you can download and run, with sizes and licenses.
What is RAG?
Where embeddings fit in a retrieval pipeline, end to end.
Vector databases compared
Where the vectors go once you have picked a model.