Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

OpenAI video APIs - verified

OpenAI video generation API pricing

OpenAI API: 2 video models that the provider no longer prices, read from the provider's own pages on October 18, 2026. 2 models are retiring or retired: sora-2 (retired 2026-09-24); sora-2-pro (retired 2026-09-24).

Read from developers.openai.com. Compare every video generation API

Models
2
Pricing rows
0
Active
0
Retiring or retired
2

Retired or retiring

Shut down, past the provider's own retirement date, or scheduled to shut down within six months. Dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker.

Sora 2

sora-2

Retired 2026-09-24

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2026-09-24. The Videos API was shut down on the same date with no replacement named. See the row

Prices (provider's own wording)

No longer priced: the provider's current pricing page lists no price for this model.

Status

retired

“| 2026-09-24 | sora-2 |”
developers.openai.com
“deprecation and removal from the API on September 24, 2026.”
Also on the page - developers.openai.com
Max duration
Not stated
Resolutions
Not stated
Audio
Not stated
Image-to-video
Not stated
Video-to-video
Not stated
Aspect ratios
Not stated
  • The Videos API was also shut down: "| 2026-09-24 | Videos API |". No video model appears on the current API pricing page.

Cross-checks

Sora 2 Pro

sora-2-pro

Retired 2026-09-24

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2026-09-24. See the row

Prices (provider's own wording)

No longer priced: the provider's current pricing page lists no price for this model.

Status

retired

“| 2026-09-24 | sora-2-pro |”
developers.openai.com
Max duration
Not stated
Resolutions
Not stated
Audio
Not stated
Image-to-video
Not stated
Video-to-video
Not stated
Aspect ratios
Not stated

FAQ

How much does OpenAI video generation cost?

Sora 2: no longer priced. Sora 2 Pro: no longer priced. Each is the first generation price the provider lists for the model, in its own unit, as of October 18, 2026; the model cards list every resolution and option.

Which OpenAI video models are retiring or retired?

sora-2: retired 2026-09-24; sora-2-pro: retired 2026-09-24.

Sources

Verified from each provider's own pricing pages and video model docs; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Prices are shown in the provider's own unit and never converted between units. Retirement dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker. Prices change without notice; check the linked source before you commit a budget to one.

4 of 4 quotes on this page matched the source pages that day.

Newsletter

Know when a video API changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.