Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Azure OpenAI video APIs - verified

Azure OpenAI video generation API pricing

Microsoft Azure (Foundry): 1 video model with 1 pricing row, priced per second of video, read from the provider's own pages on October 18, 2026. 1 model is retiring or retired: sora-2 (retired 2026-10-15).

Read from learn.microsoft.com, azure.microsoft.com. Compare every video generation API

Models
1
Pricing rows
1
Active
0
Retiring or retired
1

Retired or retiring

Shut down, past the provider's own retirement date, or scheduled to shut down within six months. Dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker.

Sora 2 (Azure OpenAI in Foundry), version 2025-12-08

sora-2

Retired 2026-10-15

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2026-10-15. Preview version; retirement date has passed. See the row

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • $0.10

    Price per second

    Per second - 720x1280 or 1280x720

    Sora 2 Global, 720x1280 or 1280x720

    “| Sora 2 Global | Portrait: 720x1280<br> Landscape: 1280x720 | $0.10 |”
    azure.microsoft.com
    “| Model | Size: Output Resolution | Price per second |”
    Context - azure.microsoft.com
Status

retired (per retirement schedule; pricing page still lists it)

“| sora-2 | 2025-12-08 | Preview | 2026-10-15 |”
learn.microsoft.com
Max duration
Not stated
Resolutions

720x1280 (portrait), 1280x720 (landscape)

“Portrait: 720x1280<br> Landscape: 1280x720”
azure.microsoft.com
Audio
Not stated
Image-to-video
Not stated
Video-to-video
Not stated
Aspect ratios
Not stated
  • The legacy "Sora" table on the same pricing page shows N/A in every cell with "Pricing is not available in the selected region".

Cross-checks

  • Legacy Sora table on the pricing page

    “Pricing is not available in the selected region”
    azure.microsoft.com

FAQ

How much does Azure OpenAI video generation cost?

Sora 2 (Azure OpenAI in Foundry), version 2025-12-08: $0.10, per second, for Sora 2 Global, 720x1280 or 1280x720. Each is the first generation price the provider lists for the model, in its own unit, as of October 18, 2026; the model cards list every resolution and option.

Which Azure OpenAI video models are retiring or retired?

sora-2: retired 2026-10-15.

Sources

Verified from each provider's own pricing pages and video model docs; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Prices are shown in the provider's own unit and never converted between units. Retirement dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker. Prices change without notice; check the linked source before you commit a budget to one.

5 of 5 quotes on this page matched the source pages that day.

Newsletter

Know when a video API changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.