Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

Azure OpenAI image APIs - verified

Azure OpenAI image generation API pricing

Azure OpenAI: 6 image models with 9 price rows, priced per 1M image tokens, read from the provider's own pages on October 18, 2026. 3 models are retiring or retired: gpt-image-1.5 (retiring 2026-12-16), gpt-image-1-mini (retiring 2027-04-07) and gpt-image-1 (retiring 2026-10-23).

Read from learn.microsoft.com, azure.microsoft.com. Compare every image generation API

Models
6
Price rows
9
Active
3
Retiring or retired
3

Models

Image-2.5-flare (Azure OpenAI)

gpt-image-2.5-flare

Current

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2027-09-09. Retires 2027-09-09

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Image $30 per 1M tokens (Global)

    Per 1M image tokens - Global

    Global, per 1M tokens

    “| Image-2.5-flare Global | Input Text: $5<br> Cached Input Text: $1.25<br> Input Image: $8<br> Cached Input Image: $2<br> Output Image: $30 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
Status

GA (retires 2027-09-09)

“| gpt-image-2.5-flare | 2026-09-09 | GA | 2027-09-09 |”
learn.microsoft.com
Max resolution
Not stated
Editing

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Image input

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Text rendering

accurate text rendering (provider claim)

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
  • Token-only pricing: the provider publishes no per-image price for this model.

Image-2.5-sunburst (Azure OpenAI)

gpt-image-2.5-sunburst

Current

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2027-09-09. Retires 2027-09-09

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Image $30 per 1M tokens (Global)

    Per 1M image tokens - Global

    Global, per 1M tokens

    “| Image-2.5-sunburst Global | Input Text: $5<br> Cached Input Text: $1.25<br> Input Image: $8<br> Cached Input Image: $2<br> Output Image: $30 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
Status

GA (retires 2027-09-09)

“| gpt-image-2.5-sunburst | 2026-09-09 | GA | 2027-09-09 |”
learn.microsoft.com
Max resolution
Not stated
Editing

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Image input

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Text rendering

accurate text rendering (provider claim)

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
  • Token-only pricing: the provider publishes no per-image price for this model.

GPT-Image-2 (Azure OpenAI)

gpt-image-2

Current

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2027-10-21. Retires 2027-10-21

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Image $30 per 1M tokens (Global)

    Per 1M image tokens - Global

    Global, per 1M tokens

    “| GPT-Image-2 Global | Input Text: $5<br> Cached Input Text: $1.25<br> Input Image: $8<br> Cached Input Image: $2<br> Output Text: N/A<br> Output Image: $30 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
Status

GA (retires 2027-10-21)

“| gpt-image-2 | 2026-04-21 | GA | 2027-10-21 |”
learn.microsoft.com
Max resolution
Not stated
Editing

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Image input

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Text rendering

accurate text rendering (provider claim)

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
  • Token-only pricing: the provider publishes no per-image price for this model.

Retired or retiring

Shut down, or scheduled to within six months. Dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker.

GPT-Image-1.5 (Azure OpenAI)

gpt-image-1.5

Retiring 2026-12-16

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2026-12-16. See the row

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Text $10, Output Image $32 per 1M tokens (Global)

    Per 1M image tokens - Global

    Global, per 1M tokens

    “| GPT-Image-1.5 Global | Input Text: $5<br> Cached Input Text: $1.25<br> Input Image: $8<br> Cached Input Image: $2<br> Output Text: $10<br> Output Image: $32 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
  • Input Text $5.50, Cached Input Text $1.38, Input Image $8.80, Cached Input Image $2.20, Output Text $11, Output Image $35.20 per 1M tokens (Data Zone)

    Per 1M image tokens - Data Zone

    Data Zone, per 1M tokens

    “| GPT-Image-1.5 Data Zone | Input Text: $5.50<br> Cached Input Text: $1.38<br> Input Image: $8.80<br> Cached Input Image: $2.20<br> Output Text: $11<br> Output Image: $35.20 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
Status

GA (retires 2026-12-16)

“| gpt-image-1.5 | 2025-12-16 | GA | 2026-12-16 |”
learn.microsoft.com
Max resolution
Not stated
Editing

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Image input

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Text rendering

accurate text rendering (provider claim)

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
  • Token-only pricing: the provider publishes no per-image price for this model.

GPT-Image-1-mini (Azure OpenAI)

gpt-image-1-mini

Retiring 2027-04-07

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2027-04-07. See the row

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • Input Text $2, Cached Input Text $0.20, Input Image $2.50, Cached Input Image $0.25, Output Image $8 per 1M tokens (Global)

    Per 1M image tokens - Global

    Global, per 1M tokens

    “| GPT-Image-1-mini Global | Input Text: $2<br> Cached Input Text: $0.20<br> Input Image: $2.50<br> Cached Input Image: $0.25<br> Output Image: $8 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
Status

GA (retires 2027-04-07)

“| gpt-image-1-mini | 2025-10-06 | GA | 2027-04-07 |”
learn.microsoft.com
Max resolution
Not stated
Editing

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Image input

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Text rendering

accurate text rendering (provider claim)

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
  • Token-only pricing: the provider publishes no per-image price for this model.

GPT-Image-1 (Azure OpenAI)

gpt-image-1

Retiring 2026-10-23

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2026-10-23. Preview version. See the row

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $10, Cached Input Image $2.50, Output Image $40 per 1M tokens (Global)

    Per 1M image tokens - Global

    Global, per 1M tokens

    “| GPT-Image-1 Global | Input Text: $5<br> Cached Input Text: $1.25<br> Input Image: $10<br> Cached Input Image: $2.50<br> Output Image: $40 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
  • Input Text $5.50, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $11, Cached Input Image $2.50, Output Image $44 per 1M tokens (Regional)

    Per 1M image tokens - Regional

    Regional, per 1M tokens

    “| GPT-Image-1 Regional | Input Text: $5.50<br> Cached Input Text: $1.25<br> Input Image: $11<br> Cached Input Image: $2.50<br> Output Image: $44 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
  • Input Text $5.50, Input Image $11, Output Image $44 per 1M tokens (Data Zone)

    Per 1M image tokens - Data Zone

    Data Zone, per 1M tokens

    “| GPT-Image-1 Data Zone | Input Text: $5.50<br> Input Image: $11<br> Output Image: $44 | N/A |”
    azure.microsoft.com
Status

Preview, retiring 2026-10-23

“| gpt-image-1 | 2025-04-15 | Preview | 2026-10-23 |”
learn.microsoft.com
Max resolution
Not stated
Editing

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Image input

Yes

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
Text rendering

accurate text rendering (provider claim)

“GPT-Image models enhance DALL-E with better instruction following accurate text rendering, and support for image input and editing.”
azure.microsoft.com
  • Token-only pricing: the provider publishes no per-image price for this model.

FAQ

How much does Azure OpenAI image generation cost?

Image-2.5-flare (Azure OpenAI): Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Image $30 per 1M tokens (Global) (Global). Image-2.5-sunburst (Azure OpenAI): Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Image $30 per 1M tokens (Global) (Global). GPT-Image-2 (Azure OpenAI): Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Image $30 per 1M tokens (Global) (Global). GPT-Image-1.5 (Azure OpenAI): Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $8, Cached Input Image $2, Output Text $10, Output Image $32 per 1M tokens (Global) (Global). GPT-Image-1-mini (Azure OpenAI): Input Text $2, Cached Input Text $0.20, Input Image $2.50, Cached Input Image $0.25, Output Image $8 per 1M tokens (Global) (Global). GPT-Image-1 (Azure OpenAI): Input Text $5, Cached Input Text $1.25, Input Image $10, Cached Input Image $2.50, Output Image $40 per 1M tokens (Global) (Global). Each is the first price the provider lists for the model, in its own unit, as of October 18, 2026; the model cards list every size and quality.

Which Azure OpenAI image models are retiring?

gpt-image-1.5: retiring 2026-12-16, gpt-image-1-mini: retiring 2027-04-07 and gpt-image-1: retiring 2026-10-23.

Sources

Verified from each provider's own pricing pages and image docs; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Prices are shown in the provider's own unit and never converted between units. Retirement dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker. Prices change without notice; check the linked source before you commit a budget to one.

Newsletter

Know when an image API changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.