Skip to main content
Watch: I Built an AI App Without Leaving Databricks

xAI image APIs - verified

xAI image generation API pricing

xAI: 3 image models with 9 price rows, priced per image, read from the provider's own pages on October 18, 2026. 1 model is retiring or retired: grok-imagine-image-quality (retiring 2026-11-02).

Read from docs.x.ai. Compare every image generation API

Models
3
Price rows
9
Active
2
Retiring or retired
1

Models

Grok Imagine Image 2.0

grok-imagine-image-2.0

Current

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • $0.04 / img

    Per image - 1K - Low

    Output, 1K · Low

    “| 1K · Low | $0.04 / img |”
    docs.x.ai
  • $0.05 / img

    Per image - 1.5K - Low

    Output, 1.5K · Low

    “| 1.5K · Low | $0.05 / img |”
    docs.x.ai
  • $0.06 / img

    Per image - 2K - Low

    Output, 2K · Low

    “| 2K · Low | $0.06 / img |”
    docs.x.ai
  • $0.06 / img

    Per image - 1K - Medium

    Output, 1K · Medium

    “| 1K · Medium | $0.06 / img |”
    docs.x.ai
  • $0.07 / img

    Per image - 1.5K - Medium

    Output, 1.5K · Medium

    “| 1.5K · Medium | $0.07 / img |”
    docs.x.ai
  • $0.08 / img

    Per image - 2K - Medium

    Output, 2K · Medium

    “| 2K · Medium | $0.08 / img |”
    docs.x.ai
  • $0.01 / img

    Per input image - Image input

    Image input

    “| $0.01 / img |”
    docs.x.ai
Status

active (named replacement for grok-imagine-image-quality)

“grok-imagine-image-2.0 now covers everything grok-imagine-image-quality was used for, at a lower price.”
docs.x.ai
Max resolution

1k (default) or 2k

“Currently supported image resolutions are: * 1k (default when omitted) * 2k”
docs.x.ai
Editing

Edits with up to 5 source images

“Multi-image editing supports up to 5 source images in a single request for combining subjects, transferring styles, and composing scenes.”
docs.x.ai
Image input

Edits with up to 5 source images

“Multi-image editing supports up to 5 source images in a single request for combining subjects, transferring styles, and composing scenes.”
docs.x.ai
Text rendering
Not stated
  • The provider's pages disagree about this model: its status, note or deprecations row says how.

Accepts quality low, medium or auto and is billed at the quality served; the pricing page shows a single $0.04 rate. Image edits are billed for both the input image and the output image. The docs disagree: the rendered pricing page prices output by resolution and quality ($0.04 to $0.08 per image), while the markdown version of the same page (docs.x.ai/developers/pricing.md) lists a flat $0.04 per image.

Grok Imagine Image (1.0)

grok-imagine-image

Current

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • $0.02 / image

    Per image

    Per image

    “| grok-imagine-image | $0.02 / image |”
    docs.x.ai
Status

active (not affected by the Nov 2 retirement)

“grok-imagine-image (1.0) is not affected by this change.”
docs.x.ai
Max resolution

1k (default) or 2k

“Currently supported image resolutions are: * 1k (default when omitted) * 2k”
docs.x.ai
Editing
Not stated
Image input

text and image input

“Modalities: text, image → image”
docs.x.ai
Text rendering
Not stated

Retired or retiring

Shut down, or scheduled to within six months. Dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker.

Grok Imagine Image Quality

grok-imagine-image-quality

Retiring 2026-11-02

Deprecations tracker: shutdown 2026-11-02, replacement grok-imagine-image-2.0. After retirement, requests are served by grok-imagine-image-2.0 with quality set to low; grok-imagine-image (1.0) is not affected. See the row

Prices (provider's own wording)

  • $0.05 / image

    Per image

    Per image

    “| grok-imagine-image-quality | $0.05 / image |”
    docs.x.ai
Status

retiring 2026-11-02 (requests then served by grok-imagine-image-2.0 at low quality)

“Effective November 2, 2026, the grok-imagine-image-quality model slug is retired from the xAI API.”
docs.x.ai
Max resolution

1k (default) or 2k

“Currently supported image resolutions are: * 1k (default when omitted) * 2k”
docs.x.ai
Editing
Not stated
Image input
Not stated
Text rendering
Not stated

Alias grok-imagine-image-pro already redirects here.

FAQ

How much does xAI image generation cost?

Grok Imagine Image 2.0: $0.04 / img (1K, Low). Grok Imagine Image Quality: $0.05 / image. Grok Imagine Image (1.0): $0.02 / image. Each is the first price the provider lists for the model, in its own unit, as of October 18, 2026; the model cards list every size and quality.

Which xAI image models are retiring?

grok-imagine-image-quality: retiring 2026-11-02, replacement grok-imagine-image-2.0.

Sources

Verified from each provider's own pricing pages and image docs; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Prices are shown in the provider's own unit and never converted between units. Retirement dates are cross-checked against our deprecations tracker. Prices change without notice; check the linked source before you commit a budget to one.

Newsletter

Know when an image API changes its prices

One email per week. New model releases, pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.