Postgres extensions - verified
Neon (pgvector)
Neon is listed under postgres extensions (deployment type: database extension). Billed as part of Neon Postgres plans; no vector-specific price on the page checked. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from neon.com, raw.githubusercontent.com. Docs - License - Compare every vector database
Status
- Availability label
- Not stated
No status label is stated on the page checked.
How Neon charges
Every price Neon states, in its own unit, with the quote and where it comes from. Nothing is converted.
Billed as part of Neon Postgres plans; no vector-specific price on the page checked.
Free tier and limits
- Free tier
Free account available (limits not stated on this page)
“Sign up for a free account to get started.”
neon.com - Limits
- Not stated
Not stated on the page checked.
Search and indexing
- Max dimensions
- Not stated
Not stated on the Neon pgvector page; see the pgvector entry.
- Distance metrics
L2, inner product, cosine, L1, Hamming, Jaccard
“L2 distance, inner product, cosine distance, L1 distance, Hamming distance, and Jaccard distance”
neon.com - Index types
HNSW, IVFFlat
“See HNSW vector types, and IVFFlat vector types.”
neon.com - Hybrid and sparse search
- Not stated
Not described on the page checked.
- Metadata filtering
- Not stated
Not described on the page checked.
- Multi-tenancy
- Not stated
Not described on the page checked.
Built-in embedding and reranking
- Built-in embedding
- Not stated
Not stated on the page checked.
- Built-in reranking
- Not stated
Not stated on the page checked.
Deployment, license and SDKs
- Regions and clouds
- Not stated
Not stated on the page checked.
- BYOC and self-host
- Not stated
Managed serverless Postgres; self-hosting not stated.
- License
pgvector: PostgreSQL License
“Portions Copyright (c) 1996-2026, PostgreSQL Global Development Group”
raw.githubusercontent.com - SDKs
Any language with a Postgres client
“Any language with a Postgres client”
neon.com
Vendor-stated claims
Performance, scale and SLA figures as Neon states them. Not measured.
No performance, scale or SLA figure is recorded from the pages checked.
Research notes
Neon allows installing the previous pgvector version, one behind the latest supported, per the page.
FAQ
How much does Neon cost?
Billed as part of Neon Postgres plans; no vector-specific price on the page checked.
What is the maximum vector dimension in Neon?
Not stated. Not stated on the Neon pgvector page; see the pgvector entry.
Does Neon support hybrid search?
Not stated. Not described on the page checked.
Does Neon have built-in embedding or reranking?
Embedding: not stated. Not stated on the page checked. Reranking: not stated. Not stated on the page checked.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is a dated snapshot, not a benchmark: prices are shown in each product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a vector database changes its pricing
One email per week. New model releases, retrieval tooling and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.