Open source, self-hosted - verified
Redis (vector search)
Redis is listed under open source, self-hosted (deployment type: open source self-host). This entry covers the open-source engine. Redis Cloud plans are not vector-specific and are outside this entry, so no price is listed. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from redis.io, raw.githubusercontent.com. Docs - License - Compare every vector database
Status
- Availability label
- Not stated
No status label is stated on the page checked.
How Redis charges
Every price Redis states, in its own unit, with the quote and where it comes from. Nothing is converted.
This entry covers the open-source engine. Redis Cloud plans are not vector-specific and are outside this entry, so no price is listed.
Free tier and limits
- Free tier
- Not stated
Not applicable to the open-source engine this entry covers; Redis Cloud plans are outside this entry.
- Limits
- Not stated
Not stated on the page checked.
Search and indexing
- Max dimensions
- Not stated
Not stated on the vector search page checked.
- Distance metrics
L2, IP, COSINE
“DISTANCE_METRIC Distance metric (L2, IP, COSINE).”
redis.io - Index types
FLAT, HNSW, SVS-VAMANA
“Redis supports FLAT, HNSW and SVS-VAMANA vector index types.”
redis.io - Hybrid and sparse search
- Not stated
A keyword-plus-vector fusion feature is not described on the page checked; the page uses "hybrid" for filtered vector search policies.
- Metadata filtering
Yes: text, numeric, geospatial and tag filters
“You can augment these searches with filtering over text, numerical, geospatial, and tag metadata.”
redis.io - Multi-tenancy
- Not stated
Not described on the page checked.
Built-in embedding and reranking
- Built-in embedding
- Not stated
Not stated on the page checked.
- Built-in reranking
- Not stated
Not stated on the page checked.
Deployment, license and SDKs
- Regions and clouds
- Not stated
Self-hosted engine; regions do not apply. Redis Cloud regions are outside this entry.
- BYOC and self-host
Redis Open Source (tri-licensed from Redis 8)
“Starting with Redis 8, Redis Open Source is moving to a tri-licensing model”
raw.githubusercontent.com - License
Redis 8+: RSALv2, SSPLv1 or AGPLv3 (your choice); 7.2 and earlier BSD-3
“After this release, contributions are subject to your choice of: (a) the Redis Source Available License v2 (RSALv2);or (b) the Server Side Public License v1 (SSPLv1); or (c) the GNU Affero General Public License v3 (AGPLv3).”
raw.githubusercontent.com “Redis Open Source 7.2 and prior releases remain subject to the BSDv3 clause license”
raw.githubusercontent.com - SDKs
- Not stated
Not listed on the page checked.
Vendor-stated claims
Performance, scale and SLA figures as Redis states them. Not measured.
No performance, scale or SLA figure is recorded from the pages checked.
Research notes
Vectors are stored in hashes or JSON documents and indexed with FT.CREATE per the docs.
FAQ
How much does Redis cost?
This entry covers the open-source engine. Redis Cloud plans are not vector-specific and are outside this entry, so no price is listed.
What is the maximum vector dimension in Redis?
Not stated. Not stated on the vector search page checked.
Does Redis support hybrid search?
Not stated. A keyword-plus-vector fusion feature is not described on the page checked; the page uses "hybrid" for filtered vector search policies.
Does Redis have built-in embedding or reranking?
Embedding: not stated. Not stated on the page checked. Reranking: not stated. Not stated on the page checked.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is a dated snapshot, not a benchmark: prices are shown in each product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a vector database changes its pricing
One email per week. New model releases, retrieval tooling and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.