Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Cloud provider services - verified

Amazon OpenSearch Serverless (vector search collections)

Amazon OpenSearch Serverless is listed under cloud provider services (deployment type: cloud-native service). The pricing page describes OCU-hour billing ("One OCU comprises approximately 6 GB of RAM and corresponding vCPU"), but the per-OCU rates appear only in its pricing calculator, not in the page text. Per-OCU compute rates appear only in a pricing calculator. Max dimensions: 16,000. Stated: hybrid and sparse search. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from docs.aws.amazon.com, aws.amazon.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every vector database

Status

Availability label
Not stated

No GA or preview label is quoted from the pages checked.

  • NextGen and Classic

    Amazon OpenSearch Serverless splits vector collections into NextGen and Classic

    AWS now distinguishes NextGen and Classic vector search collections. The pricing page bills NextGen collections for compute and storage separately; the per-OCU rate itself appears only in the pricing calculator.

    “With Amazon OpenSearch Serverless NextGen collections, you only pay for the resources consumed by the workload. OpenSearch Serverless charges for compute and storage separately.”
    aws.amazon.com
    “With Amazon OpenSearch Serverless Classic collections, you only pay for the resources consumed by the workload.”
    aws.amazon.com

    Research note: AWS now distinguishes NextGen and Classic vector search collections; NextGen collections have a 10-second read-after-write refresh interval per the docs. Source page

How Amazon OpenSearch Serverless charges

Every price Amazon OpenSearch Serverless states, in its own unit, with the quote and where it comes from. Nothing is converted.

1 products whose per-unit rates appear only in a pricing calculator
ProductRateWhyBilling model, quoted
Amazon OpenSearch ServerlessNot statedPer-OCU compute ratesThe pricing page describes OCU-hour billing ("One OCU comprises approximately 6 GB of RAM and corresponding vCPU"), but the per-OCU rates appear only in its pricing calculator, not in the page text.

Compute (OCUs) and storage billed separately

“With Amazon OpenSearch Serverless NextGen collections, you only pay for the resources consumed by the workload. OpenSearch Serverless charges for compute and storage separately.”
aws.amazon.com

The pricing page describes OCU-hour billing ("One OCU comprises approximately 6 GB of RAM and corresponding vCPU"), but the per-OCU rates appear only in its pricing calculator, not in the page text.

Free tier and limits

Free tier
Not stated

Not stated on the pricing page checked.

Limits
Not stated

Not stated on the pages checked.

Search and indexing

Max dimensions

16,000

“The vector engine provides distance metrics such as Euclidean distance, cosine similarity, and dot product similarity, and can accommodate 16,000 dimensions.”
docs.aws.amazon.com
Distance metrics

Euclidean, cosine, dot product

“The vector engine provides distance metrics such as Euclidean distance, cosine similarity, and dot product similarity, and can accommodate 16,000 dimensions.”
docs.aws.amazon.com
Index types
Not stated

The collection docs say the engine uses the OpenSearch k-NN feature but do not list index methods for serverless collections.

Hybrid and sparse search

Full-text search alongside vector search in the same collection

“With these operations, you can use full-text search, advanced filtering, aggregations, geospatial queries, and nested queries”
docs.aws.amazon.com
Metadata filtering

Yes

“You can store fields with various data types for metadata, such as numbers, Booleans, dates, keywords, and geopoints.”
docs.aws.amazon.com
Multi-tenancy
Not stated

Not described on the pages checked.

Built-in embedding and reranking

Built-in embedding
Not stated

Not stated on the pages checked.

Built-in reranking
Not stated

Not stated on the pages checked.

Deployment, license and SDKs

Regions and clouds
Not stated

AWS only; specific regions are not listed on the pages checked.

BYOC and self-host
Not stated

Managed AWS service; self-hosting is not applicable (see the OpenSearch open-source entry).

License
Not stated

Managed service; no license stated.

SDKs
Not stated

Not listed on the pages checked.

Vendor-stated claims

Performance, scale and SLA figures as Amazon OpenSearch Serverless states them. Not measured.

NextGen collections create all indexes with 32x compressionvendor-statedinferred

Our reading: The quote itself does not mention NextGen collections.

“All indexes are created with advanced 32x compression technique by default.”
docs.aws.amazon.com

Research notes

AWS now distinguishes NextGen and Classic vector search collections; NextGen collections have a 10-second read-after-write refresh interval per the docs. The pricing page also says: "With Amazon OpenSearch Serverless Classic collections, you only pay for the resources consumed by the workload."

FAQ

How much does Amazon OpenSearch Serverless cost?

Per-OCU compute rates: not stated. The pricing page describes OCU-hour billing ("One OCU comprises approximately 6 GB of RAM and corresponding vCPU"), but the per-OCU rates appear only in its pricing calculator, not in the page text.

What is the maximum vector dimension in Amazon OpenSearch Serverless?

16,000, per the vendor: "The vector engine provides distance metrics such as Euclidean distance, cosine similarity, and dot product similarity, and can accommodate 16,000 dimensions."

Does Amazon OpenSearch Serverless support hybrid search?

Full-text search alongside vector search in the same collection, per the vendor: "With these operations, you can use full-text search, advanced filtering, aggregations, geospatial queries, and nested queries"

Does Amazon OpenSearch Serverless have built-in embedding or reranking?

Embedding: not stated. Not stated on the pages checked. Reranking: not stated. Not stated on the pages checked.

Sources

Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is a dated snapshot, not a benchmark: prices are shown in each product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a vector database changes its pricing

One email per week. New model releases, retrieval tooling and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.