Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Managed services - verified

Weaviate Cloud

Weaviate Cloud is listed under managed services (deployment type: managed provisioned). First listed price, in its own unit: $0, plan price per month (Free). Stated: hybrid and sparse search, built-in embedding and built-in reranking. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from docs.weaviate.io, weaviate.io, raw.githubusercontent.com. Docs - Pricing - License - Compare every vector database

Status

Availability label
Not stated

No GA or preview label for the Weaviate Cloud service itself is stated on the pricing or docs pages checked.

  • License split

    Weaviate's license now splits BSD-3-Clause and an enterprise-licensed directory

    The repository LICENSE file puts most source code under BSD-3-Clause and the "wl" directory under a separate enterprise license only.

    “Source code in this repository is variously licensed under the BSD-3-Clause License, or the Weaviate License.”
    raw.githubusercontent.com
    “Within the "wl" directory and all its sub-directories, source code is Copyright Weaviate BV 2026-present, all rights reserved, and is only available under a separate enterprise license.”
    raw.githubusercontent.com

How Weaviate Cloud charges

Every price Weaviate Cloud states, in its own unit, with the quote and where it comes from. Nothing is converted.

6 price rows in each product's own unit, grouped by unit and sorted only inside a unit
PriceUnit, as statedQuote and sourceWhere it comes from
Plan price or monthly minimum
$0plan price per month (Free)
“Free Forever$0/mo No credit card required”
weaviate.io
-
$45plan minimum per month (Flex, starts at)
“Flex Starts at$45/mo Pay-as-you-go”
weaviate.io
-
from $400plan minimum per month (Premium)
“The minimum covers the baseline cluster cost and includes charges for Vector Dimensions and Storage: $45/month on Flex and from $400/month on Premium.”
weaviate.io
-
Per 1M vector dimensions (period not stated)
from $0.00465per 1M vector dimensions (Flex; Premium shared from $0.003875, Premium dedicated from $0.002718)
“Vector dimensions Free from $0.00465 / 1M from $0.003875 / 1M from $0.002718 / 1M”
weaviate.io
  • No period statedThe pricing page prints this rate per 1M vector dimensions without a billing period. It is shown as printed.
Other units, one row eachnot sorted: no two rows share a unit
from $0.12per GiB storage (Flex; Premium shared from $0.10, Premium dedicated from $0.33)
“Storage Free from $0.12 / GiB from $0.10 / GiB from $0.33 / GiB”
weaviate.io
-
from $0.03036per GiB backup (Flex; Premium shared from $0.021, Premium dedicated from $0.014)
“Backup Free from $0.03036/ GiB from $0.021 / GiB from $0.014 / GiB”
weaviate.io
-

Plan labels in brackets come from the pricing table's column headings, which the quoted cell text does not always repeat.

Free tier and limits

Free tier

Free plan: 100,000 objects, 1 GB memory, 10 GB disk

“100,000 objects · 1 GB memory · 10 GB disk.”
weaviate.io
“1 collection, up to 3 tenants.”
weaviate.io
Limits

Free: 100,000 objects and 1 collection; paid plans: unlimited objects, 1000 collectionsinferred

Our reading: Free versus paid-plan figures mapped by the pricing table's column order; the quoted row does not name the plans.

“Object limit 100,000 Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Collection limit 1 1000 1000 1000”
weaviate.io

Search and indexing

Max dimensions
Not stated

Not stated on the pricing, vector index or distance metric pages checked.

Distance metrics

cosine, dot, l2-squared, hamming, manhattan

“cosine Cosine (angular) distance.”
docs.weaviate.io
“l2-squared The squared euclidean distance between two vectors.”
docs.weaviate.io
“hamming Number of differences between vectors at each dimensions.”
docs.weaviate.io
“manhattan The distance between two vector dimensions measured along axes at right angles.”
docs.weaviate.io
“dot A dot product-based indication of distance.”
docs.weaviate.io
Index types

HNSW, Flat, Dynamic, HFresh

“Weaviate supports these vector index types: - HNSW index”
docs.weaviate.io
“Flat index: a simple, lightweight index that is designed for small datasets.”
docs.weaviate.io
“Dynamic index: allows you to automatically switch from a flat index to an HNSW index as object count scales”
docs.weaviate.io
“HFresh index: a cluster-based index that uses HNSW for the centroid index”
docs.weaviate.io
Hybrid and sparse search

Yes: vector plus BM25 keyword search

“Hybrid search combines vector search and keyword search (BM25) to leverage the strengths of both approaches.”
docs.weaviate.io
Metadata filtering
Not stated

Filtering is not described on the pages checked (pricing, vector index, distances, hybrid search, multi-tenancy, client libraries).

Multi-tenancy

Native multi-tenancy (one shard per tenant)

“Multi-tenancy provides data isolation. Each tenant is stored on a separate shard.”
docs.weaviate.io

Built-in embedding and reranking

Built-in embedding

Yes

“Weaviate Embeddings is a managed embedding inference service for Weaviate Cloud users.”
docs.weaviate.io
Built-in reranking

Yes, via reranker modules

“Reranking in Weaviate With our reranker modules”
docs.weaviate.io

Deployment, license and SDKs

Regions and clouds

Free: AWS; Flex and Premium shared: GCP, AWS; Premium dedicated: GCP, AWS, Azureinferred

Our reading: Per-plan clouds (Free, Flex and Premium shared, Premium dedicated) mapped by the pricing table's column order; the quoted row does not name the plans.

“Cloud Service Provider AWS GCP, AWS GCP, AWS GCP, AWS, Azure”
weaviate.io
BYOC and self-host

Open-source core under BSD-3-Clause (outside the "wl" directory); BYOC not stated on the pages checked

“Outside of the "wl" directory, source code in a given file is licensed under the BSD-3-Clause License, as defined in LICENSE-BSD.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
License

BSD-3-Clause, except code in the "wl" directory, which is under a separate enterprise license

“Source code in this repository is variously licensed under the BSD-3-Clause License, or the Weaviate License.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
“Within the "wl" directory and all its sub-directories, source code is Copyright Weaviate BV 2026-present, all rights reserved, and is only available under a separate enterprise license.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
SDKs

Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, Go, Java, C#

“Python Client Install and use the official Python client to interact with Weaviate.”
docs.weaviate.io
“TypeScript / JavaScript Client Use the official client with Node.js.”
docs.weaviate.io
“Go Client Install and use the official Go client library”
docs.weaviate.io
“Java Client Install and use the new Java client library for interacting with Weaviate.”
docs.weaviate.io
“C# Client Install and use the official C# library for interacting with Weaviate.”
docs.weaviate.io

Vendor-stated claims

Performance, scale and SLA figures as Weaviate Cloud states them. Not measured.

Availability SLA: best effort (Free), 99.5% (Flex), 99.9% (Premium shared), 99.95% (Premium dedicated)vendor-statedinferred

Our reading: Per-plan SLAs (Free, Flex, Premium shared, Premium dedicated) mapped by the pricing table's column order; the quoted row does not name the plans.

“Availability Best effort 99.5% 99.9% 99.95%”
weaviate.io

Research notes

Pricing is by stored vector dimensions plus storage and backup; the page says dimension rates vary by index type, compression and region ("Vector dimension pricing varies by index type, compression method, and region."). Weaviate Embeddings is listed as "Coming soon" for Premium dedicated. The GitHub LICENSE now splits code between BSD-3-Clause and an enterprise-licensed "wl" directory.

FAQ

How much does Weaviate Cloud cost?

In Weaviate Cloud's own units: $0 (plan price per month (Free)); $45 (plan minimum per month (Flex, starts at)); from $0.00465 (per 1M vector dimensions (Flex; Premium shared from $0.003875, Premium dedicated from $0.002718)); from $0.12 (per GiB storage (Flex; Premium shared from $0.10, Premium dedicated from $0.33)); from $0.03036 (per GiB backup (Flex; Premium shared from $0.021, Premium dedicated from $0.014)); from $400 (plan minimum per month (Premium)). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.

What is the maximum vector dimension in Weaviate Cloud?

Not stated. Not stated on the pricing, vector index or distance metric pages checked.

Does Weaviate Cloud support hybrid search?

Yes: vector plus BM25 keyword search, per the vendor: "Hybrid search combines vector search and keyword search (BM25) to leverage the strengths of both approaches."

Does Weaviate Cloud have built-in embedding or reranking?

Embedding: Yes. Reranking: Yes, via reranker modules.

Sources

Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is a dated snapshot, not a benchmark: prices are shown in each product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a vector database changes its pricing

One email per week. New model releases, retrieval tooling and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.