Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Model-provider tools - verified

Claude memory tool (Anthropic API)

Claude memory tool is listed under model-provider tools. Its first listed price, in its own words: Client-side tools are priced the same as any other Claude API request (model tokens (the memory tool is a client tool)). Stated on its pages: automatic extraction, self-hosting and retention or deletion controls. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from platform.claude.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every memory product

Status

Launch stage, as stated

Generally availableinferred

Inferred: Inferred from "doesn't require a beta header"; the page gives no GA label, and the SDK helpers still live in a beta namespace.

“The helper and tool-runner surfaces live in your SDK's beta namespace even though the memory tool itself doesn't require a beta header.”
platform.claude.com
Support, home or billing changes, as recorded
Not stated

None found on the page.

How Claude memory tool charges

Every price line Claude memory tool states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

1 price lines for Claude memory tool (Anthropic API), in the product's own words and units
Price, in the product's wordsUnitQuote and source
Client-side tools are priced the same as any other Claude API requestmodel tokens (the memory tool is a client tool)
“Client-side tools are priced the same as any other Claude API request”
platform.claude.com

Memory model

Memory types and scopes

File-based memory directory

“The memory tool lets Claude store and retrieve information across conversations in a directory of memory files.”
platform.claude.com
Storage backend

Developer-chosen (files, database, cloud storage)

“back memory with your own storage, such as files on disk, a database, cloud storage, or encrypted files”
platform.claude.com
Knowledge graph
Not stated

Not stated; memory is a file directory.

Retrieval

Claude checks and reads memory files on demand

“When the memory tool is enabled, Claude automatically checks its memory directory before starting a task.”
platform.claude.com
Automatic extraction

Claude writes what it learns to memory files

“As it works, Claude stores what it learns in files under /memories and reads them back in later conversations to continue earlier work.”
platform.claude.com

MCP, SDKs and integrations

Official MCP server
Not stated

The memory tool is an Anthropic-defined client tool, not an MCP server.

SDKs

Helpers in Python, C#, TypeScript and Java SDKs

“Subclass BetaAbstractMemoryTool (Python and C#), use betaMemoryTool (TypeScript), or implement BetaMemoryToolHandler (Java)”
platform.claude.com
Framework integrations
Not stated

Not stated on the memory tool page.

Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance

Self-hosting

Client-side: your application stores the data

“The memory tool operates client-side: Claude requests file operations, and your application executes them. You control where and how the data is stored through your own infrastructure.”
platform.claude.com
License
Not stated

API feature; no license applies.

Retention and deletion

Claude can create, read, update and delete memory files

“Claude can create, read, update, and delete files that persist between sessions”
platform.claude.com
Compliance
Not stated

The page links to ZDR guidance but states no certification on the memory tool page.

Models, quotas and limits

Model availability

All Claude 4 and later models

“The memory tool is available on all Claude 4 and later models.”
platform.claude.com

Vendor-stated claims

Benchmark and latency figures as Claude memory tool states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.

Vendor-stated
Not stated

None on the page.

FAQ

How much does Claude memory tool cost?

In Claude memory tool's own terms: Client-side tools are priced the same as any other Claude API request (model tokens (the memory tool is a client tool)). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.

Does Claude memory tool build a knowledge graph?

Not stated. Not stated; memory is a file directory.

Can I self-host Claude memory tool?

Per the vendor: "The memory tool operates client-side: Claude requests file operations, and your application executes them. You control where and how the data is stored through your own infrastructure." License: not stated. API feature; no license applies.

Sources

Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a memory layer changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.