Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Model-provider tools - verified

OpenAI Agents SDK memory (Sessions and sandbox-agent memory)

OpenAI Agents SDK memory is listed under model-provider tools. No price is stated. Not stated on the SDK sessions page (the SDK is open source; model and Conversations API usage are billed by OpenAI elsewhere). Stated on its pages: automatic extraction, self-hosting and retention or deletion controls. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from openai.github.io, github.com. Docs - License - Compare every memory product

Status

Launch stage, as stated
Not stated

No launch-stage label on the sessions page.

Support, home or billing changes, as recorded
Not stated

None found.

How OpenAI Agents SDK memory charges

Every price line OpenAI Agents SDK memory states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

Not stated

Not stated on the SDK sessions page (the SDK is open source; model and Conversations API usage are billed by OpenAI elsewhere).

Memory model

Memory types and scopes

Session memory (conversation history)

“The Agents SDK provides built-in session memory to automatically maintain conversation history across multiple agent runs”
github.com

Sandbox-agent memory: lessons distilled from prior runs into workspace files

“Memory distills lessons from prior runs into files in the sandbox workspace”
github.com
Storage backend

OpenAI Conversations API-backed history (server-managed)

“OpenAIConversationsSession · Server-managed storage in OpenAI · OpenAI Conversations API-backed history”
github.com

RedisSession

“RedisSession · Shared memory across workers/services · Good for low-latency distributed deployments”
github.com

SQLiteSession

“SQLiteSession · Local development and simple apps · Built-in, lightweight, file-backed or in-memory”
github.com
Knowledge graph
Not stated

Not stated.

Retrieval
Not stated

Sessions replay stored history; no retrieval ranking is described.

Automatic extraction

Sandbox-agent memory generates memories from runs

“memory() enables both reading and generating memories.”
github.com

MCP, SDKs and integrations

Official MCP server
Not stated

Not part of the memory feature pages.

SDKs

Python (Sessions)

“from agents import Agent, Runner, SQLiteSession”
github.com

TypeScript (sandbox-agent memory)inferred

Inferred: Language read from the repository the page sits in (openai-agents-js); the quote does not name it.
“Add memory() as a capability to the sandbox agent.”
github.com
Framework integrations
Not stated

Not stated.

Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance

Self-hosting

Yes, client-side session memory in the SDK

“Use sessions when you want the SDK to manage client-side memory for you.”
github.com
License

MIT (openai-agents-python)

“MIT License”
github.com
Retention and deletion

EncryptedSession adds encryption + TTL

“EncryptedSession · Encryption + TTL on top of another session · Wrapper; choose an underlying backend first”
github.com

Treat memory artifacts as retained data

“treat generated memory artifacts as retained data and apply the same sensitivity and retention policy you use for the workspace”
github.com
Compliance
Not stated

Not stated on the SDK pages.

Vendor-stated claims

Benchmark and latency figures as OpenAI Agents SDK memory states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.

Vendor-stated
Not stated

None.

Dataset note

OpenAI documents no standalone memory API on the pages reviewed; memory for developers is provided by Agents SDK Sessions (Python) and sandbox-agent memory (JS). ChatGPT consumer memory is out of scope.

FAQ

How much does OpenAI Agents SDK memory cost?

Not stated. Not stated on the SDK sessions page (the SDK is open source; model and Conversations API usage are billed by OpenAI elsewhere).

Does OpenAI Agents SDK memory build a knowledge graph?

Not stated. Not stated.

Can I self-host OpenAI Agents SDK memory?

Per the vendor: "Use sessions when you want the SDK to manage client-side memory for you." License: MIT (openai-agents-python).

Sources

Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a memory layer changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.