Open source frameworks - verified
Mem0 Open Source
Mem0 Open Source is listed under open source frameworks. Mem0's Platform vs open source page says the open-source graph store integration was dropped when the v3 pipeline landed. The open-source SDK still extracts entities to boost ranking, but has no queryable graph. No date given. Its first listed price, in its own words: No usage-based billing (self-hosted) (n/a). Stated on its pages: a knowledge graph, automatic extraction, self-hosting and retention or deletion controls. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from docs.mem0.ai, github.com. Docs - License - Compare every memory product
What changed
- Graph stores dropped in v3Mem0 Open Source
Mem0's Platform vs open source page says the open-source graph store integration was dropped when the v3 pipeline landed. The open-source SDK still extracts entities to boost ranking, but has no queryable graph. No date given.
“that integration was dropped when the v3 pipeline landed”
github.com “OSS still extracts entities and uses them to boost ranking, but there is no queryable graph and no relations field”
github.com
- Launch stage, as stated
- Not stated
No launch-stage label in the README or the platform-vs-OSS page.
How Mem0 Open Source charges
Every price line Mem0 Open Source states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Price, in the product's words | Unit | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|
| No usage-based billing (self-hosted) | n/a | “Cost optimization: local LLMs (Ollama), self-hosted vector DBs, no usage-based billing.” |
Memory model
- Memory types and scopes
Scopes: user_id, agent_id, run_id (no app_id)inferred
Inferred: Assigned to the open-source SDK by the column order of the docs' Platform vs open source table; the quoted row does not name its columns.“Scoping identifiers · user_id, agent_id, run_id, plus app_id for app/tenant separation · user_id, agent_id, run_id only, no app_id”
github.com - Storage backend
Bring your own vector store (25 listed), LLM and embedder
“Custom configuration: your own vector DB, LLM provider, and embedder (25 vector stores, 18 LLM providers, 11 embedders at the time of writing).”
github.com - Knowledge graph
No queryable graph in OSS; extracted entities boost ranking
“OSS still extracts entities and uses them to boost ranking, but there is no queryable graph and no relations field”
github.com - Retrieval
Semantic, BM25 keyword and entity matching, fused
“Multi-signal retrieval -- semantic, BM25 keyword, and entity matching scored in parallel and fused.”
github.com - Automatic extraction
Yes, LLM fact extraction on add
“When new messages arrive, Mem0 extracts durable facts and stores them with the identifiers and metadata you provide.”
github.com
MCP, SDKs and integrations
- Official MCP server
- Not stated
The Mem0 MCP docs page describes a server hosted by Mem0 that requires a Platform account; no OSS MCP server is described on the pages reviewed.
- SDKs
Python
“pip install mem0ai”
github.com JavaScript/TypeScript (npm)
“npm install mem0ai”
github.com - Framework integrations
LangChain
“Integrate Mem0 with LangChain to build powerful agents with memory”
github.com LangGraph
“Create complex agent workflows with memory persistence using LangGraph.”
github.com
Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance
- Self-hosting
Yes
“Deploy on your infrastructure. Choose your vector DB, LLM, and configure everything.”
github.com - License
Apache License 2.0
“Apache License Version 2.0, January 2004”
github.com - Retention and deletion
Delete works on Platform and OSS
“Works for both the managed Platform API and the OSS SDK.”
github.com Expiration works on Platform and Open Source
“Works on Platform and Open Source.”
github.com - Compliance
- Not stated
Self-hosted library; no compliance claims on the pages reviewed.
Vendor-stated claims
Benchmark and latency figures as Mem0 Open Source states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.
- Vendor-stated
Vendor note: OSS users should expect directionally similar but not identical benchmark numbers
“open-source users should expect directionally similar gains but not identical numbers”
github.com
FAQ
How much does Mem0 Open Source cost?
In Mem0 Open Source's own terms: No usage-based billing (self-hosted) (n/a). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.
Does Mem0 Open Source build a knowledge graph?
No queryable graph in OSS; extracted entities boost ranking, per the vendor: "OSS still extracts entities and uses them to boost ranking, but there is no queryable graph and no relations field"
Can I self-host Mem0 Open Source?
Per the vendor: "Deploy on your infrastructure. Choose your vector DB, LLM, and configure everything." License: Apache License 2.0.
What changed at Mem0 Open Source (Graph stores dropped in v3)?
Mem0's Platform vs open source page says the open-source graph store integration was dropped when the v3 pipeline landed. The open-source SDK still extracts entities to boost ranking, but has no queryable graph. No date given.
Sources
- Source: docs.mem0.ai/open-source/overview
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/docs/platform/platform-vs-oss.mdx
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/LICENSE
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/README.md
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/docs/core-concepts/how-it-works.mdx
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/docs/integrations.mdx
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/docs/core-concepts/memory-operations/delete.mdx
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0/blob/main/docs/platform/features/memory-expiration.mdx
- Source: github.com/mem0ai/mem0
Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a memory layer changes
One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.