Cloud agent platform features - verified
Agent Platform Memory Bank (Google Cloud)
Agent Platform Memory Bank is listed under cloud agent platform features. Google's Agent Platform pricing page says Memory Bank billing on its current pricing structure will commence on September 1st, 2026. Its first listed price, in its own words: $0.30 per GiB-month (Agent Storage, GiB-month). Stated on its pages: automatic extraction and retention or deletion controls. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from docs.cloud.google.com, cloud.google.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every memory product
What changed
- New billing September 1, 2026Agent Platform Memory Bank (Google Cloud)
Google's Agent Platform pricing page says Memory Bank billing on its current pricing structure will commence on September 1st, 2026.
“Memory Bank billing on this pricing structure will commence on September 1st, 2026.”
cloud.google.com
- Launch stage, as stated
- Not stated
No launch-stage label on the Memory Bank overview page.
How Agent Platform Memory Bank charges
Every price line Agent Platform Memory Bank states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Price, in the product's words | Unit | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|
| $0.30 per GiB-month | Agent Storage, GiB-month | “Storage: Total data stored (including revisions), billed as Agent Storage ($0.30/GiB-month).” |
| 1 Agent Compute vCPU-h ($0.085) per 3 million read operations | read operations | “Read API requests: 1 Agent Compute vCPU-h ($0.085) for every 3 million read operations.” |
| 1 Agent Compute vCPU-h ($0.085) per 1 million write operations | write operations | “Write API requests: 1 Agent Compute vCPU-h ($0.085) for every 1 million write operations.” |
| Model tokens billed separately | model SKUs | “Tokens: model tokens used for memory generation and embeddings are billed separately under their respective model SKUs.” |
| Monthly free usage tier per account for each resourceplatform-wideThis free-tier line is on the Agent Platform pricing page and applies per month, per account, for each resource. It is not specific to Memory Bank. | free tier | “A free usage tier applies per month, per account for each resource.” |
Memory model
- Memory types and scopes
An isolated collection of memories for each scope
“For each scope, Memory Bank maintains an isolated collection of memories.”
docs.cloud.google.com - Storage backend
Fully managed memory store
“Managed storage and retrieval: Benefit from a fully managed, persistent, and accessible memory store.”
docs.cloud.google.com - Knowledge graph
- Not stated
Not stated on the Memory Bank overview page.
- Retrieval
Simple retrieval of all memories, or similarity search for the most relevant
“You can either retrieve all memories (simple retrieval) or only the most relevant memories to the current conversation (similarity search retrieval).”
docs.cloud.google.com - Automatic extraction
Yes, facts automatically extracted from conversation history
“Facts about the user are automatically extracted from the conversation history so that they're available for current or future sessions.”
docs.cloud.google.com
MCP, SDKs and integrations
- Official MCP server
- Not stated
Not stated on the Memory Bank overview page.
- SDKs
- Not stated
Not stated on the overview page (it links REST and ADK quickstarts).
- Framework integrations
Agent Development Kit (ADK)
“Agent Development Kit (ADK) Integration: Orchestrate calls from your ADK-based agent using built-in ADK tools and the VertexAiMemoryBankService to read from and write to Memory Bank.”
docs.cloud.google.com
Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance
- Self-hosting
- Not stated
Managed Google Cloud service; no self-host option stated.
- License
- Not stated
Managed cloud service; no license applies.
- Retention and deletion
TTL-based automatic expiration
“Automatic expiration: Set a time to live (TTL) on memories to ensure stale information is automatically deleted.”
docs.cloud.google.com - Compliance
- Not stated
Not stated on the Memory Bank overview page.
Vendor-stated claims
Benchmark and latency figures as Agent Platform Memory Bank states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.
- Vendor-stated
- Not stated
None on the pages relied on.
Dataset note
Google's docs now present Memory Bank under Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform; the earlier Vertex AI Agent Engine docs URL redirects there. No rename statement was found, so no status change is recorded for the naming.
FAQ
How much does Agent Platform Memory Bank cost?
In Agent Platform Memory Bank's own terms: $0.30 per GiB-month (Agent Storage, GiB-month); 1 Agent Compute vCPU-h ($0.085) per 3 million read operations (read operations); 1 Agent Compute vCPU-h ($0.085) per 1 million write operations (write operations); Model tokens billed separately (model SKUs); Monthly free usage tier per account for each resource (free tier). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.
Does Agent Platform Memory Bank build a knowledge graph?
Not stated. Not stated on the Memory Bank overview page.
Can I self-host Agent Platform Memory Bank?
Not stated. Managed Google Cloud service; no self-host option stated. License: not stated. Managed cloud service; no license applies.
What changed at Agent Platform Memory Bank (New billing September 1, 2026)?
Google's Agent Platform pricing page says Memory Bank billing on its current pricing structure will commence on September 1st, 2026.
Sources
Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a memory layer changes
One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.