Open source frameworks - verified
LangMem
LangMem is listed under open source frameworks. No price is stated. Open-source library; the README states no price. Stated on its pages: automatic extraction and self-hosting. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from langchain-ai.github.io, github.com. Docs - License - Compare every memory product
Status
- Launch stage, as stated
- Not stated
No launch-stage label in the README.
- Support, home or billing changes, as recorded
- Not stated
None found in the README.
How LangMem charges
Every price line LangMem states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
Open-source library; the README states no price.
Memory model
- Memory types and scopes
Semantic
“Semantic memory stores the essential facts and other information that ground an agent's responses.”
github.com Episodic
“Episodic memory preserves successful interactions as learning examples that guide future behavior.”
github.com Procedural
“Procedural memory encodes how an agent should behave and respond.”
github.com - Storage backend
DB-backed LangGraph store such as AsyncPostgresStore for production
“For production, use the AsyncPostgresStore or a similar DB-backed store to persist memories across server restarts.”
github.com - Knowledge graph
- Not stated
Not stated; the conceptual guide mentions knowledge triplets as a semantic-memory representation but no graph store.
- Retrieval
Semantic search (find memories by semantic similarity)
“Semantic Search: Find memories by semantic similarity”
github.com - Automatic extraction
Yes, background memory manager
“Background memory manager that automatically extracts, consolidates, and updates agent knowledge”
github.com
MCP, SDKs and integrations
- Official MCP server
- Not stated
No MCP server in the README.
- SDKs
Python
“pip install -U langmem”
github.com - Framework integrations
LangGraph (native)
“Native integration with LangGraph's Long-term Memory Store, available by default in all LangGraph Platform deployments”
github.com
Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance
- Self-hosting
Library; works with any storage system
“It offers both functional primitives you can use with any storage system and native integration with LangGraph's storage layer.”
github.com - License
MIT
“MIT License”
github.com - Retention and deletion
- Not stated
Not stated in the README or conceptual guide.
- Compliance
- Not stated
Open-source library; no compliance claims.
Vendor-stated claims
Benchmark and latency figures as LangMem states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.
- Vendor-stated
- Not stated
None in the README.
FAQ
How much does LangMem cost?
Not stated. Open-source library; the README states no price.
Does LangMem build a knowledge graph?
Not stated. Not stated; the conceptual guide mentions knowledge triplets as a semantic-memory representation but no graph store.
Can I self-host LangMem?
Per the vendor: "It offers both functional primitives you can use with any storage system and native integration with LangGraph's storage layer." License: MIT.
Sources
Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a memory layer changes
One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.