Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Open source frameworks - verified

Cognee

Cognee is listed under open source frameworks. Cognee's README says using Postgres as a graph store is released as a demo feature, and that the production-ready version is a licensed product. No date given. Its first listed price, in its own words: $0/month (Free plan). Stated on its pages: a knowledge graph, automatic extraction, an MCP server, self-hosting and retention or deletion controls. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from docs.cognee.ai, cognee.ai, github.com. Docs - Pricing - License - Compare every memory product

What changed

  • Postgres graph is a demoCognee

    Cognee's README says using Postgres as a graph store is released as a demo feature, and that the production-ready version is a licensed product. No date given.

    “Using Postgres as a graph store is currently released as a demo feature. The production-ready version is available as a licensed product.”
    github.com
Launch stage, as stated
Not stated

No launch-stage label on the pricing page or README.

How Cognee charges

Every price line Cognee states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

4 price lines for Cognee, in the product's own words and units
Price, in the product's wordsUnitQuote and source
$0/monthinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.Free plan
“$0/month”
cognee.ai
“1 workspace and 1M tokens included”
Limit - cognee.ai
“Unlimited API calls”
Limit - cognee.ai
$1.00 per 1M tokensinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.per 1M tokens (Standard)
“$1.00/ 1M tokens”
cognee.ai
$5 per additional workspaceinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.per workspace (Standard)
“+ $5 per additional workspace”
cognee.ai
BYOC engagementinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.Enterprise
“Delivered as a BYOC engagement: your own cloud, dedicated support, and SLAs for memory at scale.”
cognee.ai

Memory model

Memory types and scopes

Permanent memory and session memory

“Store content or code in permanent memory, or in a session when a session ID is supplied.”
github.com
Storage backend

Entire memory layer can run on a single Postgres instance (since cognee 1.0)

“Since cognee 1.0 you can run the entire memory layer on a single Postgres instance.”
github.com
Knowledge graph

Yes

“Text becomes entities, relationships, and searchable chunks; code becomes a graph of symbols and dependencies.”
github.com
Retrieval

Graph, vector or code context selected at query time

“At query time, retrieval selects relevant graph, vector, or code context.”
github.com
Automatic extraction

Yes, graph extraction (local GLiNER model when no LLM key)

“With no LLM key configured, Cognee extracts the graph with the local GLiNER model and embeds with a local embedding model; both download on first use.”
github.com

MCP, SDKs and integrations

Official MCP server

Yes, cognee-mcp server in the Cognee repository

“Build memory for Agents and query from any client that speaks MCP”
github.com
SDKs

Python

“Python applications · Python API reference”
github.com

TypeScript

“TypeScript applications · TypeScript SDK”
github.com

Rust (Cognee-RS)

“Rust applications · Cognee-RS”
github.com
Framework integrations

Claude Code plugin

“Claude Code memory plugin · Install and configure the plugin”
github.com

OpenClaw plugin

“OpenClaw memory plugin · Install @cognee/cognee-openclaw”
github.com

Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance

Self-hosting

Yes, open source

“Cognee is open source. Run the full memory engine locally or on your own stack”
cognee.ai
License

Apache License 2.0

“Apache License Version 2.0, January 2004”
github.com
Retention and deletion

forget: remove an item or dataset

“forget · Remove a specific item or dataset. · Delete memory”
github.com
Compliance
Not stated

Not stated on the pricing page or README.

Vendor-stated claims

Benchmark and latency figures as Cognee states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.

Vendor-stated

Vendor-stated: 0.79 at 100K tokens

“100K tokens · 0.79 · Fixed hybrid retrieval; four evaluation rounds over 20 questions from one held-out conversation.”
github.com

FAQ

How much does Cognee cost?

In Cognee's own terms: $0/month (Free plan); $1.00 per 1M tokens (per 1M tokens (Standard)); $5 per additional workspace (per workspace (Standard)); BYOC engagement (Enterprise). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.

Does Cognee build a knowledge graph?

Yes, per the vendor: "Text becomes entities, relationships, and searchable chunks; code becomes a graph of symbols and dependencies."

Can I self-host Cognee?

Per the vendor: "Cognee is open source. Run the full memory engine locally or on your own stack" License: Apache License 2.0.

What changed at Cognee (Postgres graph is a demo)?

Cognee's README says using Postgres as a graph store is released as a demo feature, and that the production-ready version is a licensed product. No date given.

Sources

Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a memory layer changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.