Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Hosted memory APIs - verified

Zep (Zep Cloud)

Zep is listed under hosted memory APIs. Zep's README says Zep Community Edition is no longer supported. Zep's pricing page describes deploying Zep inside your own VPC. No date given. The README of Zep's earlier Go MCP server says it is no longer maintained. Zep's docs now describe a Context MCP Server. No date given. Its first listed price, in its own words: Start free with 10,000 credits a month (credits per month (Free plan)). Stated on its pages: a knowledge graph, automatic extraction, an MCP server, self-hosting and retention or deletion controls. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from help.getzep.com, getzep.com, github.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every memory product

What changed

  • Community Edition unsupportedZep (Zep Cloud)

    Zep's README says Zep Community Edition is no longer supported. Zep's pricing page describes deploying Zep inside your own VPC. No date given.

    “Zep Community Edition is no longer supported.”
    github.com
    “Deploy Zep inside your VPC. Your network, your perimeter, your compliance boundary.”
    getzep.com
  • Go MCP server unmaintainedZep (Zep Cloud)

    The README of Zep's earlier Go MCP server says it is no longer maintained. Zep's docs now describe a Context MCP Server. No date given.

    “This MCP server is no longer maintained.”
    github.com
    “The Context MCP Server lets an end user connect an MCP client (Claude, ChatGPT, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, and others) to their own agent memory in Zep.”
    help.getzep.com
Launch stage, as stated
Not stated

No launch-stage label on the pricing page or the MCP server page.

How Zep charges

Every price line Zep states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

5 price lines for Zep (Zep Cloud), in the product's own words and units
Price, in the product's wordsUnitQuote and source
Start free with 10,000 credits a monthinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.credits per month (Free plan)
“Prototyping? Start free with 10,000 credits a month.”
getzep.com
“10,000 credits per month. No rollover or auto-topup.”
Limit - getzep.com
“2 projects, 1 Memory MCP Server seat, 5 custom entity & edge types.”
Limit - getzep.com
“Variable rate limits, depending on service-wide load.”
Limit - getzep.com
$125/month including 50,000 credits; then $25 per 10,000 creditsinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.per month (Flex plan), credits
“50,000 credits included. Then $25 / 10,000 credits.”
getzep.com
“$125/ month”
Plan price - getzep.com
$375/month including 200,000 credits; then $75 per 40,000 creditsinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.per month (Flex Plus plan), credits
“200,000 credits included. Then $75 / 40,000 credits.”
getzep.com
“$375/ month”
Plan price - getzep.com
1 credit per Episode up to 350 bytes; +1 credit per additional 350 bytescredits per Episode
“Episodes up to 350 bytes use 1 credit; each additional 350 bytes (or part thereof) uses another credit.”
getzep.com
Custom credits with negotiated ratesinferredInferred: Plan name from the column or card the price sits in on the pricing page; the quoted text does not name the plan.Enterprise plan
“Custom credits with negotiated rates”
getzep.com

Memory model

Memory types and scopes

Built-in users, threads and message storage

“User & conversation management · Built-in users, threads, and message storage · Build your own”
github.com

Per-user graph shared between in-house agents and MCP clients

“A user’s in-house agent and their personal MCP client share one user graph, so context written by one is available to the other.”
help.getzep.com
Storage backend

Proprietary graph database

“Under the hood, Zep is powered by a proprietary graph database”
github.com
Knowledge graph

Yes, temporal context graph

“Context Graph + temporal memory”
getzep.com
Retrieval

Pre-configured, production-ready retrieval

“Pre-configured, production-ready retrieval with sub-200ms performance at scale”
github.com
Automatic extraction

Configurable extraction: 'Custom extraction instructions' is a listed plan feature

“Custom extraction instructions”
getzep.com

MCP, SDKs and integrations

Official MCP server

Yes, official hosted Context MCP Server

“The Context MCP Server lets an end user connect an MCP client (Claude, ChatGPT, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, and others) to their own agent memory in Zep.”
help.getzep.com
SDKs

Python

“Python: pip install zep-cloud”
github.com

TypeScript/JavaScript

“TypeScript/JavaScript: npm install @getzep/zep-cloud”
github.com

Go

“Go: go get github.com/getzep/zep-go/v3”
github.com
Framework integrations

Python: Google ADK, Microsoft Agent Framework, Microsoft AutoGen, AG2, CrewAI, LangGraph, LiveKit, Pydantic AI, Strands Agents

“Python: Google ADK, Microsoft Agent Framework, Microsoft AutoGen, AG2, CrewAI, LangGraph, LiveKit, Pydantic AI, Strands Agents”
github.com

TypeScript: Google ADK, Mastra, Vercel AI SDK

“TypeScript: Google ADK, Mastra, Vercel AI SDK”
github.com

Go: Google ADK

“Go: Google ADK”
github.com

Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance

Self-hosting

Deploy Zep inside your VPC

“Deploy Zep inside your VPC. Your network, your perimeter, your compliance boundary.”
getzep.com
License
Not stated

Managed service; no license applies. The open-source framework is recorded under Graphiti.

Retention and deletion

API log retention 1 day (Flex), 7 days (Flex Plus), 1 year (Enterprise)inferred

Inferred: Plan names from the pricing table's column order; the quoted row does not name the plans.
“API logs retention · 1 day · 7 days · 1 year”
getzep.com

Not charged for storage

“You are not charged for storage of messages or data.”
getzep.com
Compliance

SOC 2 Type II certified

“Yes. Zep is SOC 2 Type II certified.”
getzep.com

HIPAA BAA available with the Enterprise plan

“Yes. HIPAA BAAs are available with the Enterprise plan.”
getzep.com

DPA for EU customers

“Yes. Zep signs Data Processing Agreements with EU customers and customers with EU presence.”
getzep.com

Vendor-stated claims

Benchmark and latency figures as Zep states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.

Vendor-stated

Vendor-stated: sub-200ms retrieval at scale

“Pre-configured, production-ready retrieval with sub-200ms performance at scale”
github.com

Dataset note

The pricing page still names 'Memory MCP Server seats' while the docs page for the server is titled Context MCP Server; no rename statement was found, so no status change is recorded for it.

FAQ

How much does Zep cost?

In Zep's own terms: Start free with 10,000 credits a month (credits per month (Free plan)); $125/month including 50,000 credits; then $25 per 10,000 credits (per month (Flex plan), credits); $375/month including 200,000 credits; then $75 per 40,000 credits (per month (Flex Plus plan), credits); 1 credit per Episode up to 350 bytes; +1 credit per additional 350 bytes (credits per Episode); Custom credits with negotiated rates (Enterprise plan). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.

Does Zep build a knowledge graph?

Yes, temporal context graph, per the vendor: "Context Graph + temporal memory"

Can I self-host Zep?

Per the vendor: "Deploy Zep inside your VPC. Your network, your perimeter, your compliance boundary." License: not stated. Managed service; no license applies. The open-source framework is recorded under Graphiti.

What changed at Zep (Community Edition unsupported)?

Zep's README says Zep Community Edition is no longer supported. Zep's pricing page describes deploying Zep inside your own VPC. No date given.

What changed at Zep (Go MCP server unmaintained)?

The README of Zep's earlier Go MCP server says it is no longer maintained. Zep's docs now describe a Context MCP Server. No date given.

Sources

Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a memory layer changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.