Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Cloud agent platform features - verified

Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service

Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service is listed under cloud agent platform features. Its first listed price, in its own words: Billed for underlying chat and embedding model usage (model usage). Stated on its pages: automatic extraction and retention or deletion controls. Read from the product's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from learn.microsoft.com, azure.microsoft.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every memory product

Status

Launch stage, as stated

Public preview

“Memory is currently in public preview.”
learn.microsoft.com
Support, home or billing changes, as recorded
Not stated

None found.

How Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service charges

Every price line Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

2 price lines for Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service, in the product's own words and units
Price, in the product's wordsUnitQuote and source
Billed for underlying chat and embedding model usagemodel usage
“You're billed for usage of the underlying chat and embedding models you configure.”
learn.microsoft.com
Pricing may change during previewn/a
“Pricing and billing for memory and the Memory Store API can change during preview.”
learn.microsoft.com

Memory model

Memory types and scopes

User profile memory

“User profile memory · Durable user preferences and personal context, such as language preference, product defaults, or accessibility needs.”
learn.microsoft.com

Chat summary memory

“Chat summary memory · Distilled summaries of prior conversation topics and threads.”
learn.microsoft.com

Procedural memory

“Procedural memory · Reusable how-to routines and operating patterns inferred from prior interactions.”
learn.microsoft.com
Storage backend

Managed memory store

“Behind the scenes, memories are stored as items in a managed memory store.”
learn.microsoft.com
Knowledge graph
Not stated

Not stated on the memory concepts page.

Retrieval

Search of the memory store for most relevant memories

“When the agent needs to recall information, it searches the memory store for the most relevant memories.”
learn.microsoft.com
Automatic extraction

Yes, key information extracted from conversations

“When a user interacts with an agent, the system actively extracts key information from the conversation, such as user preferences, facts, and relevant context.”
learn.microsoft.com

MCP, SDKs and integrations

Official MCP server
Not stated

Not stated on the memory concepts page.

SDKs
Not stated

Not stated on the concepts page (the how-to page covers usage).

Framework integrations

Memory search tool attached to a prompt agent

“Attach the memory search tool to a prompt agent to enable reading from and writing to the memory store during conversations.”
learn.microsoft.com

Self-hosting, license, retention and compliance

Self-hosting
Not stated

Managed Azure service; no self-host option stated.

License
Not stated

Managed cloud service; no license applies.

Retention and deletion

Item-level CRUD including delete

“Create, read, update, list, and delete individual memory items.”
learn.microsoft.com

Store-level default TTL

“Set a default TTL (seconds) for memory entries created in a store.”
learn.microsoft.com
Compliance
Not stated

Not stated on the memory concepts page.

Models, quotas and limits

Quotas

Maximum memories per scope: 10,000

“Maximum memories per scope: 10,000”
learn.microsoft.com

Maximum scopes per memory store: 100

“Maximum scopes per memory store: 100”
learn.microsoft.com

Vendor-stated claims

Benchmark and latency figures as Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service states them about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.

Vendor-stated
Not stated

None.

FAQ

How much does Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service cost?

In Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service's own terms: Billed for underlying chat and embedding model usage (model usage); Pricing may change during preview (n/a). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.

Does Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service build a knowledge graph?

Not stated. Not stated on the memory concepts page.

Can I self-host Memory in Microsoft Foundry Agent Service?

Not stated. Managed Azure service; no self-host option stated. License: not stated. Managed cloud service; no license applies.

Sources

Last verified from each product's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the product's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a memory layer changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.