Which LLM observability tools changed hands?
In the vendors' own words: Langfuse: "since January 2026 we're part of ClickHouse" Promptfoo: "Promptfoo is now part of OpenAI." Galileo: "Galileo is now part of Cisco" Traceloop / OpenLLMetry: "Traceloop is joining Service now!" Helicone: "Helicone Joins Mintlify" Humanloop: "We are thrilled to announce that the Humanloop team is joining Anthropic!" Only Langfuse (January 2026) and Humanloop (sunset September 8th, 2025) give a date on the pages we read.
Is Langfuse still open source after joining ClickHouse?
Its license file says code outside the ee/ directories is available under the MIT Expat license, and it now names ClickHouse, Inc. as copyright holder. Langfuse's pricing page says: "Self-host all core Langfuse features for free without any limitations."
Which LLM observability tools accept OpenTelemetry traces?
13 products state OpenTelemetry or OTLP ingest: Langfuse, LangSmith, Braintrust, Arize AX, Weights & Biases Weave, Pydantic Logfire, Opik, Laminar, HoneyHive, Arize Phoenix, Traceloop / OpenLLMetry, Datadog Agent Observability and Honeycomb. Not stated on the pages we read for Helicone, Lunary, Galileo, AgentOps, PostHog AI Observability, Confident AI / DeepEval and Promptfoo, which is not the same as unsupported.
Which LLM observability tools can I self-host for free?
12 products publish a license for code you can run: Langfuse (MIT Expat for code outside the ee/ directories), Weights & Biases Weave (Apache License 2.0), Helicone (Apache 2.0), Pydantic Logfire (MIT), Opik (Apache 2.0), Laminar (Apache License 2.0), AgentOps (MIT), Arize Phoenix (Elastic License 2.0), Traceloop / OpenLLMetry (OpenLLMetry: Apache 2.0), PostHog AI Observability (MIT Expat except the ee/ directory), Confident AI / DeepEval (DeepEval: Apache License 2.0) and Promptfoo (MIT). Check what each license covers: Langfuse and PostHog keep an ee/ directory under separate terms, Arize Phoenix uses the Elastic License 2.0, and Logfire's license covers the SDK while the platform is closed source.
How do LLM observability tools charge?
In different units, so the prices do not rank: per seat (LangSmith, Lunary), per 100k units or spans (Langfuse, Opik), per 10K LLM spans (Datadog), per GB of processed or ingested data (Braintrust, Weave, Laminar, Confident AI), per 1k scores (Braintrust), per million records (Logfire) or a flat plan price. Every price line is listed in the vendor's own unit with its quote.
Is this a ranking of LLM observability tools?
No. Every value is a first-party statement copied from the vendor's own pages, with the quote and the link. Nothing here measures trace volume, latency or eval quality, and prices in different units are never converted or compared.
What do Not stated, Listed on pricing page and inferred mean?
Not stated means the pages we read did not say; it is not evidence the feature is missing. Listed on pricing page means the feature appears in a pricing table whose per-plan marks are icons, so we do not claim which plan has it. Inferred marks our reading: a plan name taken from the pricing table's layout, a usage price assigned to a plan by table position, or a status the page implies without labelling it.