Add-ons to APM and analytics products - verified
PostHog AI Observability
PostHog AI Observability is listed under add-ons to apm and analytics products. PostHog's docs are titled AI Observability, and the /docs/llm-analytics URL resolved to /docs/ai-observability when checked on 2026-10-18. No date given. Its first listed price, in its own words: AI Observability: 100K events free per month (events per month (free allowance)). Stated or listed on its pages: tracing, online evals, a playground and cost tracking. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from posthog.com, raw.githubusercontent.com, github.com. Docs - Pricing - License - Compare every tool
What changed
- Docs titled AI ObservabilityPostHog AI Observability
PostHog's docs are titled AI Observability, and the /docs/llm-analytics URL resolved to /docs/ai-observability when checked on 2026-10-18. No date given.
“AI Observability - Docs - PostHog”
posthog.com
- Status, as we read it
Generally available (inferred)inferred
No page we read labels this product GA or beta. It is sold or downloadable without a beta label, so we read it as generally available.
- Ownership, name or terms changes, as recorded
Docs now titled AI Observability (the /docs/llm-analytics URL resolves to /docs/ai-observability)
“AI Observability - Docs - PostHog”
posthog.com
How PostHog AI Observability charges
Every price line PostHog AI Observability states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Price, in the vendor's words | Unit | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|
| AI Observability: 100K events free per month | events per month (free allowance) | “AI Observability 100K events” |
| Evaluations billed with AI observability | billing note | “Evaluations Billed with AI observability” |
Free tier and retention
- Free tier
Free allowance renews every month
“Your free allowance renews every month.”
posthog.com - Data retention
1 year on free plan; 7 years on paid plans
“Events and metadata are guaranteed to be retained for 7 years on any paid plan and 1 year on a free plan.”
posthog.com
Tracing and evaluation
- OpenTelemetry / OTLP ingest
- Not stated
Not stated on the AI Observability docs overview or pricing page (a comparison table on the product page lists OTel support but its columns are not attributable in page text)
- Tracing
Yes, traces of LLM calls
“AI Observability captures every call your AI product makes to an LLM”
posthog.com - Evals (LLM-as-a-judge)
- Not stated
Not attributable on the pages reviewed (only in a multi-vendor comparison table)
- Online evals
Evals score live traffic
“Evals score your live traffic and anomaly alerts tell you when things are not normal”
posthog.com - Datasets
- Not stated
Not attributable on the pages reviewed (only in a multi-vendor comparison table)
Prompts, playground and cost
- Prompt management
- Not stated
Not attributable on the pages reviewed (only in a multi-vendor comparison table)
- Playground
Prompt playground
“test prompts in the playground”
posthog.com - Cost tracking
Token counts and automatic cost calculation
“Token counts per call, with cost calculated automatically from model pricing”
posthog.com
Self-hosting, license and compliance
- Self-hosting
Open-source deployments, no support or guarantees
“We do not provide customer support or offer guarantees for open source deployments.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - License
MIT Expat except the ee/ directory
“This repo is available under the MIT expat license, except for the ee directory”
raw.githubusercontent.com - SOC 2 (as listed)
- Not stated
Not stated on the pages reviewed
- HIPAA (as listed)
- Not stated
Not stated on the pages reviewed
- Regions
- Not stated
Not stated on the pages reviewed
SDKs and integrations
- SDKs
Next.js, React, Python and 24 more (vendor-stated)
“Supports Next.js, React, Python, and24 more”
posthog.com - Integrations
Can forward traces from Helicone, Langfuse, Traceloop, Keywords AI
“Forward traces you already collect in Helicone, Langfuse, Traceloop, or Keywords AI.”
posthog.com
Vendor claims
Scale, speed and cost statements as PostHog AI Observability makes them. Vendor-stated, not measured.
- Vendor-stated
- Not stated
None recorded
FAQ
How much does PostHog AI Observability cost?
In PostHog AI Observability's own terms: AI Observability: 100K events free per month (events per month (free allowance)); Evaluations billed with AI observability (billing note). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.
Does PostHog AI Observability accept OpenTelemetry traces?
Not stated. Not stated on the AI Observability docs overview or pricing page (a comparison table on the product page lists OTel support but its columns are not attributable in page text).
Can I self-host PostHog AI Observability?
Per the vendor: "We do not provide customer support or offer guarantees for open source deployments." License: MIT Expat except the ee/ directory.
What changed at PostHog AI Observability?
PostHog's docs are titled AI Observability, and the /docs/llm-analytics URL resolved to /docs/ai-observability when checked on 2026-10-18. No date given.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own pricing pages, docs, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a ranking. Prices are shown in the vendor's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a tracing tool changes hands
One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.