Open source, self-hosted first - verified
Arize Phoenix
Arize Phoenix is listed under open source, self-hosted first. Its first listed price, in its own words: Open source, self-hosted (self-hosted). Stated or listed on its pages: OpenTelemetry ingest, tracing, LLM-as-a-judge evals, datasets, prompt management and a playground. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from arize.com, raw.githubusercontent.com, github.com. Docs - License - Compare every tool
Status
- Status, as we read it
Generally available (inferred)inferred
No page we read labels this product GA or beta. It is sold or downloadable without a beta label, so we read it as generally available.
- Ownership, name or terms changes, as recorded
- Not stated
No shutdown, acquisition or rename notice in the README
How Arize Phoenix charges
Every price line Arize Phoenix states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Price, in the vendor's words | Unit | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|
| Open source, self-hosted | self-hosted | “Phoenix is open-source and self-hosted.” |
Free tier and retention
- Free tier
Open source and self-hosted
“Phoenix is open-source and self-hosted.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Data retention
- Not stated
Not applicable as stated: self-hosted; no retention period stated in the README
Tracing and evaluation
- OpenTelemetry / OTLP ingest
Yes, built on OpenTelemetry
“Phoenix is built on top of OpenTelemetry and is vendor, language, and framework agnostic.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Tracing
Yes
“Trace your LLM application's runtime using OpenTelemetry-based instrumentation.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Evals (LLM-as-a-judge)
Yes, LLM-based evals
“Leverage LLMs to benchmark your application's performance using response and retrieval evals.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Online evals
- Not stated
Not stated in the README
- Datasets
Yes, versioned datasets
“Create versioned datasets of examples for experimentation, evaluation, and fine-tuning.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Prompts, playground and cost
- Prompt management
Yes
“Manage and test prompt changes systematically using version control, tagging, and experimentation.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Playground
Yes
“Optimize prompts, compare models, adjust parameters, and replay traced LLM calls.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Cost tracking
- Not stated
Not stated in the README
Self-hosting, license and compliance
- Self-hosting
Yes
“Phoenix is open-source and self-hosted.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - License
Elastic License 2.0 (ELv2)
“Elastic License 2.0 (ELv2)”
raw.githubusercontent.com - SOC 2 (as listed)
- Not stated
Not stated in the README
- HIPAA (as listed)
- Not stated
Not stated in the README
- Regions
- Not stated
Not stated in the README (self-hosted)
SDKs and integrations
- SDKs
- Not stated
Not stated as a list in the README
- Integrations
- Not stated
No integration count stated in the README
Vendor claims
Scale, speed and cost statements as Arize Phoenix makes them. Vendor-stated, not measured.
- Vendor-stated
- Not stated
None recorded
FAQ
How much does Arize Phoenix cost?
In Arize Phoenix's own terms: Open source, self-hosted (self-hosted). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.
Does Arize Phoenix accept OpenTelemetry traces?
Yes, built on OpenTelemetry, per the vendor: "Phoenix is built on top of OpenTelemetry and is vendor, language, and framework agnostic."
Can I self-host Arize Phoenix?
Per the vendor: "Phoenix is open-source and self-hosted." License: Elastic License 2.0 (ELv2).
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own pricing pages, docs, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a ranking. Prices are shown in the vendor's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a tracing tool changes hands
One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.