Eval frameworks - verified
Promptfoo
Promptfoo is listed under eval frameworks. Promptfoo's README says it is now part of OpenAI and that it remains open source and MIT licensed. No date given. Its first listed price, in its own words: Community: free forever (plan price). Stated or listed on its pages: online evals. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Also Open sourceRead from promptfoo.dev, raw.githubusercontent.com, github.com. Docs - Pricing - License - Compare every tool
What changed
- Part of OpenAIPromptfoo
Promptfoo's README says it is now part of OpenAI and that it remains open source and MIT licensed. No date given.
“Promptfoo is now part of OpenAI.”
raw.githubusercontent.com “Promptfoo remains open source and MIT licensed.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
- Status, as we read it
Generally available (inferred)inferred
No page we read labels this product GA or beta. It is sold or downloadable without a beta label, so we read it as generally available.
- Ownership, name or terms changes, as recorded
Promptfoo is now part of OpenAI (date not stated)
“Promptfoo is now part of OpenAI.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
How Promptfoo charges
Every price line Promptfoo states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Price, in the vendor's words | Unit | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|
| Community: free forever | plan price | “Community Free Forever” |
| Community: red teaming up to 10k probes per monthinferredPlan from table layout (Community): the quote does not name it. | probes per month | “Red teaming (10k probes/month)” |
| Enterprise: custom | plan price | “Enterprise Custom For teams that need advanced features.” |
| On-Premise: custom | plan price | “On-Premise Custom” |
Free tier and retention
- Free tier
All LLM evaluation features in Communityinferred
Plan from table layout (Community): the quote does not name it.“All LLM evaluation features”
promptfoo.dev - Data retention
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page
Tracing and evaluation
- OpenTelemetry / OTLP ingest
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page or README
- Tracing
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page or README
- Evals (LLM-as-a-judge)
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page or README
- Online evals
Listed on pricing page
The pricing table marks plans with icons, so this is not a claim about which plan includes it.“Continuous monitoring”
promptfoo.dev - Datasets
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page or README
Prompts, playground and cost
- Prompt management
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page or README
- Playground
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page or README
- Cost tracking
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page or README
Self-hosting, license and compliance
- Self-hosting
Run locally or self-host
“Run locally or self-host on your own infrastructure”
promptfoo.dev - License
MIT
“Promptfoo remains open source and MIT licensed.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - SOC 2 (as listed)
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page
- HIPAA (as listed)
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page
- Regions
- Not stated
Not stated on the pricing page
SDKs and integrations
- SDKs
- Not stated
Not stated as a list on the pages reviewed
- Integrations
- Not stated
Not stated as a count
Vendor claims
Scale, speed and cost statements as Promptfoo makes them. Vendor-stated, not measured.
- Vendor-stated
Vendor-stated: evals run locally
“LLM evals run 100% locally - your prompts never leave your machine”
raw.githubusercontent.com
FAQ
How much does Promptfoo cost?
In Promptfoo's own terms: Community: free forever (plan price); Community: red teaming up to 10k probes per month (probes per month); Enterprise: custom (plan price); On-Premise: custom (plan price). As of October 18, 2026; prices are not converted.
Does Promptfoo accept OpenTelemetry traces?
Not stated. Not stated on the pricing page or README.
Can I self-host Promptfoo?
Per the vendor: "Run locally or self-host on your own infrastructure" License: MIT.
What changed at Promptfoo?
Promptfoo's README says it is now part of OpenAI and that it remains open source and MIT licensed. No date given.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own pricing pages, docs, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a ranking. Prices are shown in the vendor's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a tracing tool changes hands
One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.