Cloud API management - verified
Google Apigee (AI gateway capabilities)
Google Apigee is listed under cloud api management. Its first listed fee, in its own words: free trial offered; pricing not stated on checked page, Apigee. No compatible API format is stated in the pages we checked. Routing stated: fallbacks and automatic model routing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from cloud.google.com. Docs - Compare every gateway
Status
- Status, as we read it
available as part of Apigeeinferred
Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.
“Apigee's core API gateway functionality includes native capabilities for managing traffic for AI applications”
cloud.google.com
How Google Apigee charges
Every fee line Google Apigee states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Product | Fee, in the vendor's words | Applies to | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google Apigee (AI gateway capabilities) | free trial offered; pricing not stated on checked page | Apigee | “Try Apigee free” |
Access and keys
- Free tier
free trial
“Try Apigee free”
cloud.google.com - Bring your own key
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page.
- BYOK fee
- Not stated
Not stated.
API formats
- OpenAI-compatible
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page ("Model abstraction" and a consistent API contract are listed).
- Anthropic-compatible
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page.
- OpenAI base URL
- Not stated
Instance-specific; not stated.
- Anthropic base URL
- Not stated
Not stated.
Routing
- Fallbacks
LLM circuit breaker patterninferred
Our reading: Read as fallback: the page lists an LLM circuit breaker pattern for high availability.
“LLM circuit breaker pattern for high availability”
cloud.google.com - Load balancing
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page.
- Automatic model routing
multicloud model routing (rule/policy based; automatic selection not described)inferred
Our reading: Listed as multicloud model routing. The page does not describe automatic per-prompt model selection.
“Multicloud model routing”
cloud.google.com
Caching
- Exact-match cache
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page.
- Semantic cache
semantic caching (reference solution sample also linked)
“This Apigee sample uses cached responses and vector search to find similar previous requests based on prompt proximity and a configurable similarity score.”
cloud.google.com
Controls and observability
- Spend controls
token limit enforcement for cost controls
“Token limit enforcement for cost controls”
cloud.google.com - Rate limits
rate limits and quotas
“prevent abuse and overload by enforcing rate limits and quotas”
cloud.google.com - Guardrails
Model Armor integration for prompt and response sanitization
“Model Armor integration and policy enforcement for prompt and response sanitization”
cloud.google.com - Observability
LLM auditing and logging; token consumption monitoring
“LLM auditing and logging”
cloud.google.com - Telemetry and log export
custom dashboards via Data Studio integration
“Custom dashboards to monitor usage based on actual token counts”
cloud.google.com
Data, deployment and license
- Data logging and retention
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page.
- Regions
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page.
- Self-hosting
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked page.
- License
- Not stated
Commercial cloud service; no open-source license.
Vendor-stated counts
Model and provider counts as Google Apigee states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.
No vendor-stated model or provider count on the checked page.
Research notes
Source is a Google Cloud solutions page; several capabilities are presented as patterns or reference samples rather than turnkey features.
FAQ
How much does Google Apigee cost?
In Google Apigee's own terms: free trial offered; pricing not stated on checked page (Apigee). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.
Does Google Apigee support bring your own key?
Not stated. Not stated on the checked page.
Is Google Apigee OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?
OpenAI: not stated. Not stated on the checked page ("Model abstraction" and a consistent API contract are listed). Anthropic: not stated. Not stated on the checked page.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a gateway changes its fees
One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.