Self-hosted and open source - verified
Agent Router (formerly Envoy AI Gateway)
Agent Router is listed under self-hosted and open source. Its first listed fee, in its own words: open source (Apache 2.0), self-hosted software. It states OpenAI-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks and load balancing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from theagentrouter.ai, raw.githubusercontent.com, github.com. Docs - Compare every gateway
Status
Agent Router is the new name of Envoy AI Gateway. The docs say CRD, API and CLI names are unchanged.
“Agent Router is the new name for Envoy AI Gateway, now an Agentic AI Foundation project.”
theagentrouter.ai
- Status, as we read it
renamed project, docs at version 1.2
“Agent Router is the new name for Envoy AI Gateway, now an Agentic AI Foundation project.”
theagentrouter.ai
How Agent Router charges
Every fee line Agent Router states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Product | Fee, in the vendor's words | Applies to | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agent Router (formerly Envoy AI Gateway)Renamed | open source (Apache 2.0) | self-hosted software | “Apache License” |
Access and keys
- Free tier
- Not stated
Open-source software; free tier not applicable.
- Bring your own key
yes (upstream provider credentials held at the gateway)inferred
Our reading: Read as bring your own key from provider credentials held at the gateway instead of in application workloads.
“Provider credentials should not live inside application workloads.”
theagentrouter.ai - BYOK fee
- Not stated
Not applicable.
API formats
- OpenAI-compatible
yes
“That starts an OpenAI-compatible router at localhost:1975”
theagentrouter.ai - Anthropic-compatible
- Not stated
Anthropic is listed as a provider; an Anthropic-compatible client endpoint is not stated on the checked pages.
- OpenAI base URL
localhost:1975 (local aigw run)
“That starts an OpenAI-compatible router at localhost:1975”
theagentrouter.ai - Anthropic base URL
- Not stated
Not stated.
Routing
- Fallbacks
yes
“Provider Fallback: Automatic failover between AI providers”
theagentrouter.ai - Load balancing
yes (InferencePool)
“InferencePool Support: Intelligent routing and load balancing for inference endpoints”
theagentrouter.ai - Automatic model routing
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked pages.
Caching
- Exact-match cache
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked pages.
- Semantic cache
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked pages.
- Caching, as listed
provider-agnostic prompt caching via cache_control
“Prompt Caching: Provider-agnostic prompt caching using unified cache_control API”
theagentrouter.ai
Controls and observability
- Spend controls
token-based quota policy
“Quota Policy: Token-based quota management for controlling total consumption budgets”
theagentrouter.ai - Rate limits
token-aware rate limiting
“Usage-based Rate Limiting: Token-aware rate limiting for AI workloads”
theagentrouter.ai - Guardrails
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked pages.
- Observability
metrics
“Metrics: Comprehensive metrics collection and monitoring”
theagentrouter.ai - Telemetry and log export
- Not stated
Not stated on the checked pages.
Data, deployment and license
- Data logging and retention
- Not stated
Self-hosted; not stated.
- Regions
- Not stated
Self-hosted; not applicable.
- Self-hosting
yes (Kubernetes-native, Envoy data plane)
“Agent Router is the control plane; Envoy is the data plane that carries the traffic.”
theagentrouter.ai - License
Apache 2.0
“Version 2.0, January 2004”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Vendor-stated counts
Model and provider counts as Agent Router states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.
No vendor-stated provider count on the checked pages.
Research notes
Formerly Envoy AI Gateway; docs state that CRD, API and CLI names are unchanged. Docs version shown: 1.2.
FAQ
How much does Agent Router cost?
In Agent Router's own terms: open source (Apache 2.0) (self-hosted software). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.
Does Agent Router support bring your own key?
Yes (upstream provider credentials held at the gateway) (our reading of the quote), per the vendor: "Provider credentials should not live inside application workloads.". BYOK fee: not stated. Not applicable.
Is Agent Router OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?
OpenAI: yes, base URL localhost:1975. Anthropic: not stated. Anthropic is listed as a provider; an Anthropic-compatible client endpoint is not stated on the checked pages.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a gateway changes its fees
One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.