Hosted gateways (bring your own key) - verified
Helicone AI Gateway
Helicone AI Gateway is listed under hosted gateways (bring your own key). Its first listed fee, in its own words: 0% markup, gateway credits. It states OpenAI-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks and load balancing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from docs.helicone.ai, helicone.ai. Docs - Pricing - Compare every gateway
Status
- Status bannerHelicone AI Gateway
The Helicone AI Gateway pricing page carried a "Helicone Joins Mintlify" banner on the day we checked. We record the banner text only; the page we read says nothing further about it.
“Helicone Joins Mintlify”
helicone.ai
- Status, as we read it
available (self-serve plans); pricing page carries a "Helicone Joins Mintlify" bannerinferred
Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.
“Helicone Joins Mintlify”
helicone.ai
How Helicone AI Gateway charges
Every fee line Helicone AI Gateway states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Product | Fee, in the vendor's words | Applies to | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Helicone AI GatewayStatus banner | 0% markup | gateway credits | “use credits with 0% markup” |
| Free | Hobby plan (10,000 free requests, 1 GB storage) | “10,000 free requests” | |
| $79 per month | Pro plan (usage-based pricing applies) | “$79” | |
| $799 per month | Team plan (usage-based pricing applies) | “$799” | |
| Contact us | Enterprise plan | “Custom-built packages.” |
Access and keys
- Free tier
Hobby: 10,000 free requests, 1 GB storage, 1 seat
“10,000 free requests”
helicone.ai - Bring your own key
yes (your keys tried first, managed keys as fallback)
“Your keys are always tried first, then Helicone”
docs.helicone.ai - BYOK fee
managed-key (credits) fallback at 0% markup; no BYOK fee stated
“automatic fallback at 0% markup”
docs.helicone.ai
API formats
- OpenAI-compatible
yes (OpenAI SDK format)
“Helicone AI Gateway provides a unified API for 100+ LLM providers through the OpenAI SDK format.”
docs.helicone.ai - Anthropic-compatible
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
- OpenAI base URL
https://ai-gateway.helicone.ai
“All through a single endpoint: https://ai-gateway.helicone.ai”
docs.helicone.ai - Anthropic base URL
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
Routing
- Fallbacks
yes (instant failover to next provider)
“Instantly tries the next provider on errors (rate limits, timeouts, server errors, etc.)”
docs.helicone.ai - Load balancing
equal-cost providers load balanced
“Equal-cost providers are load balanced.”
docs.helicone.ai - Automatic model routing
- Not stated
Automatic provider selection (cheapest available) is documented; automatic model selection is not stated.
Caching
- Exact-match cache
yes (identical requests)
“Avoid repeated charges for identical requests while testing and debugging”
docs.helicone.ai - Semantic cache
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
Controls and observability
- Spend controls
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
- Rate limits
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages outside a competitor comparison table, which is not used here.
- Guardrails
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages outside a competitor comparison table, which is not used here.
- Observability
usage, cost and performance tracking across providers
“Track usage, costs, and performance across all providers in one dashboard”
docs.helicone.ai - Telemetry and log export
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
Data, deployment and license
- Data logging and retention
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
- Regions
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
- Self-hosting
on-prem deployment on Enterprise; open source self-hosting (see Helicone OSS)
“On-prem deployment”
helicone.ai - License
- Not stated
Hosted service; the open-source project is listed separately.
Vendor-stated counts
Model and provider counts as Helicone AI Gateway states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.
100+ LLM providers (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)
“unified API for 100+ LLM providers”
docs.helicone.ai
Research notes
Routing order: your provider keys (BYOK) first, then Helicone managed keys (credits). Provider selection defaults to cheapest available.
FAQ
How much does Helicone AI Gateway cost?
In Helicone AI Gateway's own terms: 0% markup (gateway credits); Free (Hobby plan (10,000 free requests, 1 GB storage)); $79 per month (Pro plan (usage-based pricing applies)); $799 per month (Team plan (usage-based pricing applies)); Contact us (Enterprise plan). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.
Does Helicone AI Gateway support bring your own key?
Yes (your keys tried first, managed keys as fallback), per the vendor: "Your keys are always tried first, then Helicone". BYOK fee: managed-key (credits) fallback at 0% markup; no BYOK fee stated
Is Helicone AI Gateway OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?
OpenAI: yes (OpenAI SDK format), base URL https://ai-gateway.helicone.ai. Anthropic: not stated. Not stated in the checked pages.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a gateway changes its fees
One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.