Self-hosted and open source - verified
TensorZero
TensorZero is an archived, no longer maintained open-source gateway, listed under self-hosted and open source. Its first listed fee, in its own words: open source (Apache 2.0), self-hosted software. It states OpenAI-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks and load balancing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from github.com, raw.githubusercontent.com, tensorzero.com. Docs - Compare every gateway
Status
- ArchivedTensorZero
TensorZero is no longer maintained, by the vendor's own statement, and its GitHub repository is archived and read-only. It is listed for completeness and left out of every shortlist on this page.
“TensorZero remains available on GitHub but is no longer maintained.”
tensorzero.com “This repository was archived by the owner on Jun 12, 2026. It is now read-only.”
github.com
- Status, as we read it
no longer maintained; GitHub repository archived June 12, 2026
“TensorZero remains available on GitHub but is no longer maintained.”
tensorzero.com
How TensorZero charges
Every fee line TensorZero states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Product | Fee, in the vendor's words | Applies to | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| TensorZeroArchived | open source (Apache 2.0) | self-hosted software | “Apache License” |
Access and keys
- Free tier
- Not stated
Open-source software; free tier not applicable.
- Bring your own key
yes (clients use the gateway without sharing provider keys)inferred
Our reading: Read as bring your own key from clients reaching models without sharing provider API keys.
“to allow clients to access models without sharing provider API keys”
raw.githubusercontent.com - BYOK fee
- Not stated
Not applicable.
API formats
- OpenAI-compatible
yes (works with the OpenAI SDK)
“It plays nicely with the OpenAI SDK, OpenTelemetry, and every major LLM provider.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Anthropic-compatible
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked README.
- OpenAI base URL
- Not stated
Self-hosted; not stated in the checked README.
- Anthropic base URL
- Not stated
Not stated.
Routing
- Fallbacks
yes
“with routing, retries, fallbacks, load balancing, granular timeouts, etc.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Load balancing
yes
“with routing, retries, fallbacks, load balancing, granular timeouts, etc.”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Automatic model routing
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked README.
Caching
- Exact-match cache
- Not stated
README links a caching guide; cache type not stated in the captured text.
- Semantic cache
- Not stated
Not stated.
Controls and observability
- Spend controls
usage and cost trackinginferred
Our reading: The README states usage and cost tracking. No budget cap is stated.
“Track usage and cost”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Rate limits
custom rate limits with granular scopes
“enforce custom rate limits”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Guardrails
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked README.
- Observability
stores inferences and feedback in your database
“store inferences and feedback in your database, available programmatically or in the UI”
raw.githubusercontent.com - Telemetry and log export
OpenTelemetry
“It plays nicely with the OpenAI SDK, OpenTelemetry, and every major LLM provider.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Data, deployment and license
- Data logging and retention
- Not stated
Self-hosted; not stated.
- Regions
- Not stated
Self-hosted; not applicable.
- Self-hosting
yes (open-source LLMOps platform)
“TensorZero is an open-source LLMOps platform that unifies:”
raw.githubusercontent.com - License
Apache 2.0
“Version 2.0, January 2004”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Vendor-stated counts
Model and provider counts as TensorZero states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.
README lists supported providers without a count.
Research notes
Included for completeness and labelled Archived: the vendor states it is no longer maintained, and the GitHub repository is archived and read-only.
FAQ
How much does TensorZero cost?
In TensorZero's own terms: open source (Apache 2.0) (self-hosted software). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.
Does TensorZero support bring your own key?
Yes (clients use the gateway without sharing provider keys) (our reading of the quote), per the vendor: "to allow clients to access models without sharing provider API keys". BYOK fee: not stated. Not applicable.
Is TensorZero OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?
OpenAI: yes (works with the OpenAI SDK). Anthropic: not stated. Not stated in the checked README.
Sources
- Source: github.com/tensorzero/tensorzero
- Source: raw.githubusercontent.com/tensorzero/tensorzero/main/LICENSE
- Source: raw.githubusercontent.com/tensorzero/tensorzero/main/README.md
- Source: github.com/tensorzero/tensorzero/tree/main/docs
- Source: tensorzero.com
- Source: github.com/tensorzero/tensorzero/blob/main/LICENSE
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a gateway changes its fees
One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.