Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Self-hosted and open source - verified

Bifrost (Maxim)

Bifrost is listed under self-hosted and open source. Its first listed fee, in its own words: open source (Apache 2.0), self-hosted software; enterprise features listed separately. It states OpenAI-compatible and Anthropic-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks and load balancing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from docs.getbifrost.ai, raw.githubusercontent.com, github.com. Docs - Compare every gateway

Status

Status, as we read it

available; open source and enterprise editionsinferred

Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.

“Deploy in seconds with zero configuration”
docs.getbifrost.ai

How Bifrost charges

Every fee line Bifrost states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

How each of 1 LLM gateways charges: 1 fee lines in each vendor's own words, not converted or ranked
ProductFee, in the vendor's wordsApplies toQuote and source
Bifrost (Maxim)open source (Apache 2.0)self-hosted software; enterprise features listed separately
“Apache License”
raw.githubusercontent.com

Access and keys

Free tier
Not stated

Open-source software; free tier not applicable.

Bring your own key

yes (your provider API keys, weighted across keys)inferred

Our reading: Read as bring your own key from distributing requests across your own provider API keys.

“Intelligent API key distribution with weighted load balancing, model-specific filtering, and automatic failover.”
docs.getbifrost.ai
BYOK fee
Not stated

Not applicable.

API formats

OpenAI-compatible

yes

“through a single OpenAI-compatible API”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Anthropic-compatible

yes (drop-in for Anthropic SDKs)

“Drop-in replacement for the Anthropic Python and TypeScript SDKs.”
docs.getbifrost.ai
OpenAI base URL

http://localhost:8080/openai (self-hosted default)

“base_url = "http://localhost:8080/openai"”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Anthropic base URL

http://localhost:8080/anthropic (self-hosted default)

“base_url = "http://localhost:8080/anthropic"”
raw.githubusercontent.com

Routing

Fallbacks

yes

“When your primary provider fails, Bifrost switches to backups automatically.”
docs.getbifrost.ai
Load balancing

yes (weighted)

“Intelligent API key distribution with weighted load balancing, model-specific filtering, and automatic failover.”
docs.getbifrost.ai
Automatic model routing
Not stated

Enterprise "Adaptive Routing" picks the healthiest provider and key; automatic model selection not stated.

Caching

Exact-match cache
Not stated

Not stated on the checked pages.

Semantic cache

yes

“Intelligent response caching based on semantic similarity.”
docs.getbifrost.ai

Controls and observability

Spend controls

hierarchical budgets

“Hierarchical cost control with budgets and rate limits at virtual key, team, and customer levels.”
docs.getbifrost.ai
Rate limits

yes (virtual key, team, customer)

“Hierarchical cost control with budgets and rate limits at virtual key, team, and customer levels.”
docs.getbifrost.ai
Guardrails
Not stated

Not stated on the checked pages.

Observability

built-in observability, Prometheus metrics

“Monitor every AI request in real-time.”
docs.getbifrost.ai
Telemetry and log export

OpenTelemetry (OTLP); log exports on Enterprise

“OTLP integration for distributed tracing with Grafana, New Relic, Honeycomb, and more.”
docs.getbifrost.ai

Data, deployment and license

Data logging and retention
Not stated

Self-hosted; not stated.

Regions
Not stated

Self-hosted; in-VPC deployments listed under Enterprise.

Self-hosting

yes (npx or Docker)

“npx -y @maximhq/bifrost”
raw.githubusercontent.com
License

Apache 2.0

“Version 2.0, January 2004”
raw.githubusercontent.com

Vendor-stated counts

Model and provider counts as Bifrost states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.

  • 20+ providers (docs) (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “unifies access to 20+ providers”
    docs.getbifrost.ai
  • 23+ providers (README) (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “unifies access to 23+ providers”
    raw.githubusercontent.com

Research notes

Docs (20+) and README (23+) state different provider counts; both recorded.

FAQ

How much does Bifrost cost?

In Bifrost's own terms: open source (Apache 2.0) (self-hosted software; enterprise features listed separately). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.

Does Bifrost support bring your own key?

Yes (your provider API keys, weighted across keys) (our reading of the quote), per the vendor: "Intelligent API key distribution with weighted load balancing, model-specific filtering, and automatic failover.". BYOK fee: not stated. Not applicable.

Is Bifrost OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?

OpenAI: yes, base URL http://localhost:8080/openai. Anthropic: yes (drop-in for Anthropic SDKs), base URL http://localhost:8080/anthropic.

Sources

Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a gateway changes its fees

One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.