Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Self-hosted and open source - verified

Portkey AI Gateway (open source)

Portkey AI Gateway is listed under self-hosted and open source. Its first listed fee, in its own words: open source (MIT), self-hosted software. It states OpenAI-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks and load balancing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from github.com, raw.githubusercontent.com. Docs - Compare every gateway

Status

Status, as we read it

production use claimedinferred

Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.

“Battle tested, with over 10B tokens processed everyday”
raw.githubusercontent.com

How Portkey AI Gateway charges

Every fee line Portkey AI Gateway states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

How each of 1 LLM gateways charges: 1 fee lines in each vendor's own words, not converted or ranked
ProductFee, in the vendor's wordsApplies toQuote and source
Portkey AI Gateway (open source)open source (MIT)self-hosted software
“MIT License”
raw.githubusercontent.com

Access and keys

Free tier
Not stated

Open-source software; free tier not applicable.

Bring your own key

yes (self-hosted; distributes requests across your API keys)inferred

Our reading: Read as bring your own key from distributing requests across your own API keys. The README does not use the term BYOK.

“Distribute LLM requests across multiple API keys or AI providers with weights to ensure high availability and optimal performance.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
BYOK fee
Not stated

Not applicable to self-hosted software.

API formats

OpenAI-compatible

yes

“OpenAI compatible client”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Anthropic-compatible
Not stated

Not stated in the checked README.

OpenAI base URL
Not stated

Self-hosted; base URL depends on deployment (README quick start runs it locally via npx).

Anthropic base URL
Not stated

Not stated in the checked README.

Routing

Fallbacks

yes

“Fallback to another provider or model on failed requests using the LLM gateway.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Load balancing

yes (weighted)

“Distribute LLM requests across multiple API keys or AI providers with weights to ensure high availability and optimal performance.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Automatic model routing
Not stated

Not stated in the checked README.

Caching

Exact-match cache

simple caching

“Supports simple and semantic* caching.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Semantic cache

semantic caching marked with an asterisk in the README (asterisk meaning not explained in the quoted line)

“Supports simple and semantic* caching.”
raw.githubusercontent.com

Controls and observability

Spend controls
Not stated

Not stated in the checked README.

Rate limits
Not stated

Not stated in the checked README.

Guardrails

40+ pre-built guardrails

“Choose from the 40+ pre-built guardrails to ensure compliance with security and accuracy standards.”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Observability
Not stated

Not stated for the open-source gateway in the checked README.

Telemetry and log export
Not stated

Not stated in the checked README.

Data, deployment and license

Data logging and retention
Not stated

Self-hosted; not stated.

Regions
Not stated

Self-hosted; not applicable.

Self-hosting

yes (npx, Docker, Node.js, Cloudflare Workers and others)

“npx @portkey-ai/gateway”
raw.githubusercontent.com
License

MIT

“MIT License”
raw.githubusercontent.com

Vendor-stated counts

Model and provider counts as Portkey AI Gateway states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.

  • 1600+ language, vision, audio and image models (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “routing to 1600+ language, vision, audio, and image models”
    raw.githubusercontent.com
  • 45+ providers (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “Explore Gateway integrations with 45+ providers”
    raw.githubusercontent.com
  • 200+ supported models (list link text in the same README) (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “View the complete list of 200+ supported models here”
    raw.githubusercontent.com

Research notes

The same README states both 1600+ models and a 200+ supported-models list; both are recorded as vendor claims.

FAQ

How much does Portkey AI Gateway cost?

In Portkey AI Gateway's own terms: open source (MIT) (self-hosted software). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.

Does Portkey AI Gateway support bring your own key?

Yes (self-hosted; distributes requests across your API keys) (our reading of the quote), per the vendor: "Distribute LLM requests across multiple API keys or AI providers with weights to ensure high availability and optimal performance.". BYOK fee: not stated. Not applicable to self-hosted software.

Is Portkey AI Gateway OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?

OpenAI: yes. Anthropic: not stated. Not stated in the checked README.

Sources

Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a gateway changes its fees

One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.