Hosted gateways (bring your own key) - verified
Portkey
Portkey is listed under hosted gateways (bring your own key). Its first listed fee, in its own words: Free Forever, Developer plan (10k recorded logs per month). It states OpenAI-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks and load balancing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from portkey.ai, raw.githubusercontent.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every gateway
Status
- Status, as we read it
GA (paid production plan offered)inferred
Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.
“Great for teams ready to deploy LLM apps in production.”
portkey.ai
How Portkey charges
Every fee line Portkey states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Product | Fee, in the vendor's words | Applies to | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Portkey | Free Forever | Developer plan (10k recorded logs per month) | “Free Forever” |
| $49/month | Production plan (100k recorded logs per month) | “$49/month” | |
| +$9 | overage per additional 100k requests (Production) | “+$9 overages per additional 100k requests” | |
| Custom Pricing | Enterprise plan | “Custom Pricing” |
Access and keys
- Free tier
Developer plan: 10k recorded logs per month; not for production
“Perfect for prototyping and testing or evaluating enterprise POCs. Not suitable for production workloads.”
portkey.ai - Bring your own key
yes (key management for your provider keys; load balance across API keys)inferred
Our reading: Read as bring your own key from load balancing across your own API keys. The pages checked do not use the term BYOK.
“Load balance between various API Keys to counter rate-limits”
portkey.ai - BYOK fee
- Not stated
No per-token or BYOK fee stated; plans are priced on recorded logs.
API formats
- OpenAI-compatible
yes (OpenAI SDK usage with Portkey gateway URL)
“base_url=PORTKEY_GATEWAY_URL,”
portkey.ai - Anthropic-compatible
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
- OpenAI base URL
https://api.portkey.ai/v1
“curl https://api.portkey.ai/v1/chat/completions”
portkey.ai - Anthropic base URL
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
Routing
- Fallbacks
yes
“Fallback between providers and models for resilience”
portkey.ai - Load balancing
yes
“Load balance between various API Keys to counter rate-limits”
portkey.ai - Automatic model routing
- Not stated
Conditional (rule-based) routing is documented ("Route to different targets based on custom conditional checks"); automatic model selection not stated.
Caching
- Exact-match cache
Simple cache: exact match on input (all plans)
“Exact match on input”
portkey.ai - Semantic cache
Semantic cache (Production plan and above)
“Matches semantically similar requests”
portkey.ai
Controls and observability
- Spend controls
budget limits on cost or tokens
“Set usage limits based on costs incurred or tokens used”
portkey.ai - Rate limits
yes
“Set hourly, daily, or per minute rate limits on requests or tokens sent”
portkey.ai - Guardrails
deterministic guardrails (free); LLM and partner guardrails (Production)
“LLM & Partner Guardrails”
portkey.ai - Observability
logs, traces, feedback, metadata, filters
“Logs, Traces, Feedback, Custom Metadata, Filters”
portkey.ai - Telemetry and log export
data export to data lakes (Enterprise)
“Data Export to Data Lakes”
portkey.ai
Data, deployment and license
- Data logging and retention
log retention by plan (Developer: 3 days logs, 30 days metrics)
“3 days for Logs, 30 days for metrics”
portkey.ai - Regions
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
- Self-hosting
private cloud / VPC hosting on Enterprise; open-source gateway also available (see Portkey Gateway OSS)
“Private Cloud Deployment, Data Export to Data Lakes, VPC Hosting”
portkey.ai - License
- Not stated
Hosted platform; the open-source gateway is listed separately.
Vendor-stated counts
Model and provider counts as Portkey states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.
1600+ language, vision, audio and image models (open-source gateway README) (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)
“routing to 1600+ language, vision, audio, and image models”
raw.githubusercontent.com 45+ providers (open-source gateway README) (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)
“Explore Gateway integrations with 45+ providers”
raw.githubusercontent.com
Research notes
Portkey's hosted plans are priced on recorded logs; its open-source gateway is listed as a separate entry.
FAQ
How much does Portkey cost?
In Portkey's own terms: Free Forever (Developer plan (10k recorded logs per month)); $49/month (Production plan (100k recorded logs per month)); +$9 (overage per additional 100k requests (Production)); Custom Pricing (Enterprise plan). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.
Does Portkey support bring your own key?
Yes (key management for your provider keys; load balance across API keys) (our reading of the quote), per the vendor: "Load balance between various API Keys to counter rate-limits". BYOK fee: not stated. No per-token or BYOK fee stated; plans are priced on recorded logs.
Is Portkey OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?
OpenAI: yes (OpenAI SDK usage with Portkey gateway URL), base URL https://api.portkey.ai/v1. Anthropic: not stated. Not stated in the checked pages.
Sources
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a gateway changes its fees
One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.