Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Hosted routers and marketplaces - verified

OpenRouter

OpenRouter is listed under hosted routers and marketplaces. Its first listed fee, in its own words: 5.5%, platform fee on credit purchases (Standard plan). It states OpenAI-compatible and Anthropic-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks, load balancing and automatic model routing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from openrouter.ai. Docs - Pricing - Compare every gateway

Status

Status, as we read it

GA (self-serve, publicly available)inferred

Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.

“Standard and Business have no minimums and no lock-in.”
openrouter.ai

How OpenRouter charges

Every fee line OpenRouter states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

How each of 1 LLM gateways charges: 6 fee lines in each vendor's own words, not converted or ranked
ProductFee, in the vendor's wordsApplies toQuote and source
OpenRouter5.5%platform fee on credit purchases (Standard plan)
“OpenRouter's fee is charged when you buy credits, 5.5% on Standard and 8% on Business, never on individual requests.”
openrouter.ai
8%platform fee on credit purchases (Business plan)
“The 8% Business platform fee applies to credit purchases.”
openrouter.ai
$0.80 minimumminimum fee per credit purchase
“OpenRouter charges a 5.5% ($0.80 minimum) fee when you purchase credits.”
openrouter.ai
5%fee on crypto payments
“Crypto payments are charged a fee of 5%.”
openrouter.ai
no markupinference (provider list price passed through)
“Inference is billed at the provider's list price on every plan.”
openrouter.ai
Fee discounts availableEnterprise platform fee
“Fee discounts available”
openrouter.ai

Access and keys

Free tier

Free plan: 25+ free models; free models capped at 20 requests/minute and 50/day

“Free models are capped at 20 requests per minute and 50 per day”
openrouter.ai
Bring your own key

yes

“OpenRouter supports both OpenRouter credits and the option to bring your own provider keys (BYOK).”
openrouter.ai
BYOK fee

no OpenRouter fee on the first $25,000/month of list-price inference (Standard and Business); 5% of list price above that allowance

“Above the allowance, OpenRouter charges 5% of what the same request would cost at list price on OpenRouter, deducted from your credits.”
openrouter.ai

API formats

OpenAI-compatible

yes

“OpenRouter is a drop-in replacement for OpenAI.”
openrouter.ai
Anthropic-compatible

yes (Anthropic Messages API input)

“OpenRouter exposes an input that is compatible with the Anthropic Messages API.”
openrouter.ai
OpenAI base URL

https://openrouter.ai/api/v1

“base_url="https://openrouter.ai/api/v1"”
openrouter.ai
Anthropic base URL

https://openrouter.ai/api

“Use the full OpenRouter API URL, including the scheme: https://openrouter.ai/api”
openrouter.ai

Routing

Fallbacks

yes (provider fallbacks on by default; model fallbacks supported)

“Whether to allow backup providers when the primary is unavailable.”
openrouter.ai
Load balancing

yes (price-based load balancing across providers by default)

“By default, requests are load balanced across the top providers to maximize uptime.”
openrouter.ai
Automatic model routing

yes (Auto Router, openrouter/auto)

“The Auto Router automatically selects the best model for your prompt.”
openrouter.ai

Caching

Exact-match cache
Not stated

No gateway response cache found in the checked pages. The pricing page lists "Prompt Caching" (Standard and above), which refers to provider prompt caching.

Semantic cache
Not stated

Not stated in the checked pages.

Caching, as listed

Prompt Caching listed as a plan feature (Standard, Business, Enterprise)

“Prompt Caching”
openrouter.ai

Controls and observability

Spend controls

yes (spending limits, per-key credit caps)

“Within a workspace, each API key can carry its own credit cap.”
openrouter.ai
Rate limits

no plan-based limits on paid models; provider limits pass through

“OpenRouter sets no plan-based rate limit on paid models.”
openrouter.ai
Guardrails
Not stated

Not stated in the checked pages.

Observability

activity logs and export on all plans

“Activity logs & export”
openrouter.ai
Telemetry and log export
Not stated

Export is listed with activity logs; no trace/telemetry export statement found in the checked pages.

Data, deployment and license

Data logging and retention

prompts/completions not logged by default; ZDR routing on every plan

“We do zero logging of your prompts/completions, even if an error occurs, unless you opt-in to logging them.”
openrouter.ai
Data retention, more

Zero Data Retention routing available on every plan

“Zero Data Retention routing is available on every plan.”
openrouter.ai
Regions

EU and US in-region routing (Business and Enterprise)

“Send requests to eu.openrouter.ai to keep inference with providers in the EU, or to us.openrouter.ai to keep it in the US.”
openrouter.ai
Self-hosting
Not stated

Hosted service only; no self-hosted option found in the checked pages.

License
Not stated

Hosted proprietary service; no open-source license stated.

Vendor-stated counts

Model and provider counts as OpenRouter states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.

  • 500+ models (Standard plan column) (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “500+ models”
    openrouter.ai
  • 80+ providers (Standard plan column) (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “80+ providers”
    openrouter.ai

Research notes

Fees are charged on credit purchases, not per request. BYOK allowance and fee are plan-dependent; Enterprise is custom.

FAQ

How much does OpenRouter cost?

In OpenRouter's own terms: 5.5% (platform fee on credit purchases (Standard plan)); 8% (platform fee on credit purchases (Business plan)); $0.80 minimum (minimum fee per credit purchase); 5% (fee on crypto payments); no markup (inference (provider list price passed through)); Fee discounts available (Enterprise platform fee). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.

Does OpenRouter support bring your own key?

Yes, per the vendor: "OpenRouter supports both OpenRouter credits and the option to bring your own provider keys (BYOK).". BYOK fee: no OpenRouter fee on the first $25,000/month of list-price inference (Standard and Business); 5% of list price above that allowance

Is OpenRouter OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?

OpenAI: yes, base URL https://openrouter.ai/api/v1. Anthropic: yes (Anthropic Messages API input), base URL https://openrouter.ai/api.

Sources

Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a gateway changes its fees

One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.