Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Hosted routers and marketplaces - verified

Vercel AI Gateway

Vercel AI Gateway is listed under hosted routers and marketplaces. Its first listed fee, in its own words: no markup, no platform fee, tokens (provider list price). It states OpenAI-compatible and Anthropic-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.

Read from vercel.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every gateway

Status

Status, as we read it

GA (available on all plans)inferred

Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.

“Every Vercel team account gets access to both a free tier and a paid tier for AI Gateway Credits.”
vercel.com

How Vercel AI Gateway charges

Every fee line Vercel AI Gateway states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.

How each of 1 LLM gateways charges: 9 fee lines in each vendor's own words, not converted or ranked
ProductFee, in the vendor's wordsApplies toQuote and source
Vercel AI Gatewayno markup, no platform feetokens (provider list price)
“AI Gateway charges no markup and no platform fee on tokens.”
vercel.com
$5/month includedfree-tier monthly credit
“$5/month included”
vercel.com
$0.10 per 1,000 successful requeststeam-wide provider allowlist add-on (Pro and Enterprise)
“$0.10 per 1,000 successful requests”
vercel.com
$0.10 per 1,000 requeststeam-wide zero data retention add-on (Pro and Enterprise)
“$0.10 per 1,000 requests”
vercel.com
$0.075 / 1,000 writesCustom Reporting writes
“$0.075 / 1,000 tag/user ID/quota entity ID writes”
vercel.com
$5 / 1,000 queriesCustom Reporting queries
“$5 / 1,000 queries to the reporting endpoint”
vercel.com
$0.05 per 1,000 tracesTrace Drains (Pro and Enterprise)
“$0.05 per 1,000 traces”
vercel.com
$0.50 per 1 GBtrace egress
“$0.50 per 1 GB”
vercel.com
payment processing fees may applycredit purchases (Enterprise invoicing has none)
“You're responsible for any payment processing fees that may apply.”
vercel.com

Access and keys

Free tier

$5/month credit on Free Tier eligible models, lower per-model rate limits

“Every Vercel team account gets access to both a free tier and a paid tier for AI Gateway Credits.”
vercel.com
Bring your own key

yes (paid tier only)

“BYOK is available on the paid tier.”
vercel.com
BYOK fee

no markup or fee

“With BYOK, there is no markup or fee from AI Gateway.”
vercel.com

API formats

OpenAI-compatible

yes (OpenAI Chat Completions and Responses APIs)

“The Chat Completions API is available at the following base URL:”
vercel.com
Anthropic-compatible

yes (Anthropic Messages API)

“The Anthropic Messages API is available at the following base URL:”
vercel.com
OpenAI base URL

https://ai-gateway.vercel.sh/v1

“baseURL: 'https://ai-gateway.vercel.sh/v1'”
vercel.com
Anthropic base URL

https://ai-gateway.vercel.sh

“baseURL: 'https://ai-gateway.vercel.sh'”
vercel.com

Routing

Fallbacks

yes (ordered provider and model fallbacks)

“Route a model across healthy providers and configure ordered provider and model fallbacks.”
vercel.com
Load balancing
Not stated

Not stated as load balancing in the checked pages (provider failover and ordering are documented).

Automatic model routing
Not stated

Not stated in the checked pages.

Caching

Exact-match cache
Not stated

Cache type not described on the checked pages.

Semantic cache
Not stated

Not stated in the checked pages.

Caching, as listed

"Automatic caching" listed under performance and cost features

“Automatic caching”
vercel.com

Controls and observability

Spend controls

budgets per team, project, API key or team member (system-credential spend; soft cap)

“Set budgets for a team, project, API key, or team member.”
vercel.com
Rate limits

per-model rate limits; lower on free tier

“Free tier requests are also rate limited per model, with lower limits than the paid tier.”
vercel.com
Guardrails
Not stated

The overview mentions "safety controls" under security and compliance; no guardrail feature detail in the checked pages.

Observability

request logs (model, provider attempts, latency, tokens, status, cost)

“Inspect each request's model, provider attempts, latency, token usage, status, and cost in request logs.”
vercel.com
Telemetry and log export

OpenTelemetry Trace Drains (Pro and Enterprise)

“Trace Drains forward an OpenTelemetry trace of every AI Gateway request to your own observability tool.”
vercel.com

Data, deployment and license

Data logging and retention

zero data retention by default at the gateway; provider-level ZDR enforcement optional

“AI Gateway uses zero data retention by default. It permanently deletes your prompts and responses after requests complete.”
vercel.com
Regions

regional inference controls mentioned

“Configure access, data handling, regional inference, and safety controls.”
vercel.com
Self-hosting
Not stated

Hosted service; callers can run anywhere but no self-hosted gateway is offered in the checked pages.

License
Not stated

Hosted proprietary service; no open-source license stated.

Vendor-stated counts

Model and provider counts as Vercel AI Gateway states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.

  • 400+ models (vendor-stated, Oct 18 2026)

    “400+ models at provider speed with near-zero overhead.”
    vercel.com

Research notes

If a BYOK request fails, AI Gateway retries with system credentials and bills that fallback to credits. Budgets cover system-credential spend only.

FAQ

How much does Vercel AI Gateway cost?

In Vercel AI Gateway's own terms: no markup, no platform fee (tokens (provider list price)); $5/month included (free-tier monthly credit); $0.10 per 1,000 successful requests (team-wide provider allowlist add-on (Pro and Enterprise)); $0.10 per 1,000 requests (team-wide zero data retention add-on (Pro and Enterprise)); $0.075 / 1,000 writes (Custom Reporting writes); $5 / 1,000 queries (Custom Reporting queries); $0.05 per 1,000 traces (Trace Drains (Pro and Enterprise)); $0.50 per 1 GB (trace egress); payment processing fees may apply (credit purchases (Enterprise invoicing has none)). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.

Does Vercel AI Gateway support bring your own key?

Yes (paid tier only), per the vendor: "BYOK is available on the paid tier.". BYOK fee: no markup or fee

Is Vercel AI Gateway OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?

OpenAI: yes (OpenAI Chat Completions and Responses APIs), base URL https://ai-gateway.vercel.sh/v1. Anthropic: yes (Anthropic Messages API), base URL https://ai-gateway.vercel.sh.

Sources

Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a gateway changes its fees

One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.