Hosted gateways (bring your own key) - verified
Cloudflare AI Gateway
Cloudflare AI Gateway is listed under hosted gateways (bring your own key). Its first listed fee, in its own words: free, core features (dashboard analytics, caching, rate limiting). It states OpenAI-compatible requests. Routing stated: fallbacks and load balancing. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 18, 2026.
Read from developers.cloudflare.com. Docs - Pricing - Compare every gateway
Status
- Status, as we read it
GA (available on all plans)inferred
Our reading: The page implies this status without labelling it.
“Available on all plans”
developers.cloudflare.com
How Cloudflare AI Gateway charges
Every fee line Cloudflare AI Gateway states, in its own words and units, with the quote. Nothing is converted.
| Product | Fee, in the vendor's words | Applies to | Quote and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cloudflare AI Gateway | free | core features (dashboard analytics, caching, rate limiting) | “AI Gateway's core features available today are offered for free” |
| 5% | fee on credits purchased through Unified Billing | “A 5% fee is applied to all credits purchased through Unified Billing.” | |
| Workers Logs pricing | log storage (accounts whose first gateway is on or after September 24, 2026) | “Accounts that created their first gateway on or after September 24, 2026 store logs in Workers Logs and follow Workers Logs pricing and retention.” | |
| Workers AI token-based inference | Guardrails evaluation | “Usage is billed as Workers AI token-based inference” | |
| Logpush pricing | log exports | “Exports of AI Gateway logs are billed according to Logpush pricing, based on the volume of logs exported and transformed.” |
Access and keys
- Free tier
available on all plans including Workers Free (legacy logs: 100,000 logs total)
“AI Gateway is available to use on all plans.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Bring your own key
yes (keys stored in Secrets Store)
“Bring your own keys (BYOK) is a feature in Cloudflare AI Gateway that allows you to securely store your AI provider API keys directly in the Cloudflare dashboard.”
developers.cloudflare.com - BYOK fee
- Not stated
No BYOK-specific fee stated on the pricing page.
API formats
- OpenAI-compatible
yes (unified /chat/completions endpoint)
“Cloudflare's AI Gateway offers an OpenAI-compatible /chat/completions endpoint”
developers.cloudflare.com - Anthropic-compatible
- Not stated
Not stated as an Anthropic-compatible unified endpoint in the checked pages.
- OpenAI base URL
https://gateway.ai.cloudflare.com/v1/{account_id}/{gateway_id}/compat
“https://gateway.ai.cloudflare.com/v1/{account_id}/default/compat/chat/completions”
developers.cloudflare.com - Anthropic base URL
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
Routing
- Fallbacks
yes (request retry and model fallback; Dynamic Routing)
“Improve resilience by defining request retry and model fallbacks in case of an error.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Load balancing
percentage-based split across models (Dynamic Routing)inferred
Our reading: Read as load balancing: Dynamic Routing splits requests by percentage across outputs.
“Percentage: Routes requests probabilistically across multiple outputs, useful for A/B testing and gradual rollouts.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Automatic model routing
- Not stated
Rule-based Dynamic Routing is documented; automatic model selection is not stated in the checked pages.
Caching
- Exact-match cache
yes (identical requests served from cache; off by default)
“serving them directly from Cloudflare's cache for identical requests.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Semantic cache
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
Controls and observability
- Spend controls
budget limits in Dynamic Routing
“Budget Limit: Enforces cost quotas (per your key, per period) and switches to fallback when exceeded.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Rate limits
yes
“Control how your application scales by limiting the number of requests your application receives.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Guardrails
Guardrails (Llama Guard on Workers AI) and DLP scanning
“Guardrails evaluates prompts and responses using @cf/meta/llama-guard-3-8b on Workers AI.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Guardrails, more
DLP scanning free on all plans
“DLP scanning in AI Gateway is free on all plans.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Observability
analytics (requests, tokens, cost) and logging
“View metrics such as the number of requests, tokens, and the cost it takes to run your application.”
developers.cloudflare.com - Telemetry and log export
Logpush
“Logpush is available to all AI Gateway customers.”
developers.cloudflare.com
Data, deployment and license
- Data logging and retention
- Not stated
No zero-data-retention statement in the checked pages; log storage limits and retention follow the logs product used.
- Regions
- Not stated
Not stated in the checked pages.
- Self-hosting
- Not stated
Hosted on Cloudflare; no self-hosted option found in the checked pages.
- License
- Not stated
Hosted proprietary service; no open-source license stated.
Vendor-stated counts
Model and provider counts as Cloudflare AI Gateway states them, dated. When two pages disagree, both are shown.
No vendor-stated model or provider count found on the checked pages.
Research notes
Unified Billing (Cloudflare-managed provider credits) carries the 5% credit fee; BYOK uses your own provider accounts.
FAQ
How much does Cloudflare AI Gateway cost?
In Cloudflare AI Gateway's own terms: free (core features (dashboard analytics, caching, rate limiting)); 5% (fee on credits purchased through Unified Billing); Workers Logs pricing (log storage (accounts whose first gateway is on or after September 24, 2026)); Workers AI token-based inference (Guardrails evaluation); Logpush pricing (log exports). As of October 18, 2026; fees are not converted.
Does Cloudflare AI Gateway support bring your own key?
Yes (keys stored in Secrets Store), per the vendor: "Bring your own keys (BYOK) is a feature in Cloudflare AI Gateway that allows you to securely store your AI provider API keys directly in the Cloudflare dashboard.". BYOK fee: not stated. No BYOK-specific fee stated on the pricing page.
Is Cloudflare AI Gateway OpenAI-compatible or Anthropic-compatible?
OpenAI: yes (unified /chat/completions endpoint), base URL https://gateway.ai.cloudflare.com/v1/{account_id}/{gateway_id}/compat. Anthropic: not stated. Not stated as an Anthropic-compatible unified endpoint in the checked pages.
Sources
- Source: developers.cloudflare.com/ai-gateway
- Source: developers.cloudflare.com/ai-gateway/reference/pricing
- Source: developers.cloudflare.com/ai-gateway/configuration/bring-your-own-keys
- Source: developers.cloudflare.com/ai-gateway/usage/chat-completion
- Source: developers.cloudflare.com/ai-gateway/features/dynamic-routing
- Source: developers.cloudflare.com/ai-gateway/features/caching
Last verified from each vendor's own docs, pricing pages, READMEs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. Fees are shown in the vendor's own words and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.
Newsletter
Know when a gateway changes its fees
One email per week. New model releases, routing and pricing changes and what they mean for what you build.