Skip to main content
Watch: Stop Building Apps. Build Tools for AI Agents

Model-provider realtime APIs - verified

Gemini Live API

Gemini Live API is listed under model-provider realtime APIs. Its first listed price, in its own words: Audio input: $3.00 per 1M tokens or $0.005/min (paid tier) (per 1M audio tokens or per minute). Telephony stated on its pages: bring your own carrier. Read from the vendor's own pages on October 20, 2026.

Last verified: 2026-10-20

Read from ai.google.dev. Docs - Pricing - Gemini API speech models - Compare every voice agent platform

Status

Status, as stated

Current; pricing lists Gemini 3.8 Live and Gemini 3.1 Flash Live Preview

“Gemini 3.8 Live, Gemini 3.8 Live Extended Thinking, and Gemini 3.1 Flash Live Preview”
ai.google.dev
Last verified

Changes recorded: none. None stated on cited pages.

How Gemini Live API charges

Every price line Gemini Live API states, in its own words and units, with what it says the price includes and the quote. Nothing is converted.

2 price lines for Gemini Live API, in the vendor's own words and units
Price, in the vendor's wordsUnitIncludes, as statedQuote and source
Audio input: $3.00 per 1M tokens or $0.005/min (paid tier)inferredInferred: Tier from table layout: the price sits in the paid-tier column beside the free tier's Free of charge; the row does not name the tier.per 1M audio tokens or per minuteNot stated
“Input price · Free of charge · $0.75 (text) $3.00 or $0.005/min (audio) $1.00 or $0.002/min (image/video)”
ai.google.dev
Audio output: $12.00 per 1M tokens or $0.018/min (paid tier), including thinking tokensinferredInferred: Tier from table layout: the price sits in the paid-tier column beside the free tier's Free of charge; the row does not name the tier.per 1M audio tokens or per minuteIncludes thinking tokens (stated)
“Output price (including thinking tokens) · Free of charge · $4.50 (text) $12.00 or $0.018/min (audio)”
ai.google.dev
Free tier or credits

Input price: Free of charge (free tier)inferred

Inferred: Tier from table layout: Free of charge sits in the free-tier column; the row does not name the tier.
“Input price · Free of charge”
ai.google.dev

Telephony

Phone numbers
Not stated

No phone numbers offered on cited pages.

SIP
Not stated

Not stated on the Live API overview.

Bring your own carrier

Via partner integrations, for example Voximplant for inbound and outbound calls

“Connect inbound and outbound calls to Live API with Voximplant.”
ai.google.dev

Models, tools and calls

Bring your own models
Not stated

Not stated on the Live API overview.

Function calling and tools

Function calling

“Integrates tools like function calling”
ai.google.dev
Transfer and handoff
Not stated

Not stated on the Live API overview.

Recording and transcripts

Text transcripts of user input and model output

“Provides text transcripts of both user input and model output.”
ai.google.dev
Languages

70 supported languages

“Converse in 70 supported languages.”
ai.google.dev

Self-hosting, license, compliance and scale

Self-hosting
Not stated

Hosted API only.

License
Not stated

Proprietary API.

Compliance
Not stated

Not stated on cited pages.

Concurrency
Not stated

Not stated on cited pages.

SDKs
Not stated

Not listed on the overview.

Vendor-stated latency

Latency as Gemini Live API states it about itself. Vendor-stated, not measured.

Vendor-stated

Low-latency (no figure stated)

“The Live API enables low-latency, real-time voice and vision interactions with Gemini.”
ai.google.dev

Dataset note

Protocol: stateful WebSocket (WSS). Barge-in stated: "Users can interrupt the model at any time for responsive interactions." Model-level facts for gemini-3.8-live are in the speech directory (provider key google).

FAQ

How much does Gemini Live API cost?

In Gemini Live API's own terms: Audio input: $3.00 per 1M tokens or $0.005/min (paid tier) (per 1M audio tokens or per minute); Audio output: $12.00 per 1M tokens or $0.018/min (paid tier), including thinking tokens (per 1M audio tokens or per minute). As read on October 20, 2026; prices are not converted.

Does Gemini Live API connect to phone calls?

Per its own pages: Your own carrier: Via partner integrations, for example Voximplant for inbound and outbound calls.

Can I self-host Gemini Live API?

Not stated. Hosted API only. License: not stated. Proprietary API.

Sources

Last verified from each vendor's own pricing pages, docs and license files; every quote was string-matched against the page that day. This is not a benchmark. Prices are shown in the vendor's own unit and change without notice, so check the linked source before you commit.

Newsletter

Know when a voice platform changes

One email per week. New model releases, agent tooling changes and what they mean for what you build.